We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“DOES THE JOB” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Gabrielli

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Gabrielli
Ranked #119 of 385 Hotels in Venice
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
staffordshire
Level Contributor
68 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“DOES THE JOB”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 3, 2011

we stayed here from 28 April -1st May 2011.The hotel is very very old and quite dark.It is very clean throughout ,but very much in need of a facelift.The rooms at the front are spacious and have fantastic views of the lagoon.Breakfast was just ok not much choice and the croissants were stale on one of the mornings and there is no orange juice just pineapple and grapefruit , we also found it strange that there is an outside area at the front but you were not allowed to eat breakfast there.The staff were very helpful and not stern as written in previous reviews.I stayed in another hotel very near to this one last year and i felt it was much better and more modern but if you like history and very old buildings then this is the one for you .

Room Tip: book a lagoon view
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank StaffordshireJulie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

846 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    270
    341
    125
    61
    49
See reviews for
127
458
51
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (133)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
England
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 12, 2011

We stayed 2 nights in April. We got there by car, parking in Fusina, getting a ferry to Zaccheria then a ferry bus from there to San Marco, which is right next to the hotel. It is in a great spot, near Saint Marks Square with all the hussle and bustle, but also close to the quiet side of town with the Castillo. On reflection it is best to be away from the water because of the noise of motor boats. We were in a quiet room to the side of the building with a double bed and single. Cost £520 total for 2 nights including breakfast for the 3 of us. The hotel was quirky, but we liked this. It had wifi - 2 hrs for 5 Euros but you had to be in the TV room to get it. The bathroom had a bidet right opposite the toilet, which was a bit disconcerting, but the room was very clean. It was very hot and the air con was rubbish, but we had shutters so closed them and kept the windows open. Breakfast had lots of choice including scrambled eggs and bacon, although not necessary all to the British taste ie. cake, cheese etc. All in all a lovely hotel with a nice feel to it. My only criticism would be that it didn't advertise its dinner menu in the rooms and it wasn't very attractive so we ate elsewhere. Possibly could do with making it a feature to keep guests there to eat and drink. Oh, almost forgot... the hotel has the most amazing roof terrace overlooking the whole bay. You can order down to the bar for drinks and stay up there until 11pm watching the sun set and the lights and boats on the grand canal.. Be warned before you go...it is very expensive in Venice. We had two rounds of drinks and 2 bowls of chips costing 49 Euros!!!!! Other tourists were questioning bills in restaurants as they were very steep. For a treat, try a drink called 'Spritz', a Venetian aperetif drink which is absolutely gorgeous. Another tip. Buy a water bus ticket once costing 6.5 Euros and then use it for free on all trips as no-one checks it.

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room, as Venice is very noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ColliEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stratford-upon-Avon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 11, 2011

We arrived late and went straight to lounge where we ordered a bottle of Red which arrived with a bowl of nibbles. This was much appreciated as there was nothing else to eat until breakfast. My only moan about the hotel was there were no tea/coffee facility in the bedroom. Breakfast was OK and was served between 07.30 and 10.30 which allowed a lie in if needed. The staff were all friendly and welcoming. We used the restaurant one night for dinner which was excellent. There was no wi-fi but there was a PC in a room off reception if desperate to make a connection. Our room had a safe for storing valuables at no extra charge. Having got the room at a bargain price we expected no view but were pleasantly surprised to be overlooking the side and front waterways from our "Romeo and Juliet" balcony.

Room Tip: Booked this through Alpha Rooms. £190.00 for 3n.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brianboxer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 13, 2011

We were there with my wife during the Venice festival. Rooms are OK but they would definitely need some updating, they are probably dated 70's, which leaves you in a strange atmosphere and the bed would definitely enjoy a new mattress ! Breakfast was nothing special.
It's probably a great location for the price.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank johnwallis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milan, Italy
Level Contributor
27 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 17, 2010

clean and nice position on canal grande but far away to be a real 4 star hotel, u can rate it maximum 3+ star.
pros: silent position, clean,
contras: beds are confortable but not wide enough, really supersmall, rooms are in generl supersmall, furniture is 50+ years old (rooms look like my grand-grandma room!!!), A/C not working, TVs super-old, wi-fi only in recection and u have to pay 5 eu for couple of hours... it is simply an OLD hotel (old not ancient) that needs URGET renovation and upgrade to the new millenium
u pay less than general hotel in venice but STILL VERY EXPENSIVE FOR WHAT U GET (... it is a general problem of venice.. very expensive for low service.. but the town itself is wonderfull!!!!)
oct 2010

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank canneto79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 29, 2010

One bridge from Arsenale vaporetto stop - easy to find. Three bridges from Piazza San Marco. Large room, comfortable bed, good bathroom, good breakfast, lovely courtyard, lovely roof garden (Campari orange at sunset), staff friendly and helpful..

Good value and I would (will) stay there again.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jmac1945
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 1, 2010

During the August bank holiday, we had a standard room. With the old furniture we had woke up with bites over arms and face. Not very nice. Room was small, Bed and pillow very firm making sleep very uncomfortable. staff were helpful but didn't find them too welcoming. They only spoke to you when approached. Overall a decent hotel for a one or two nights stay.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank s33ma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Venice hotels
Castello
Hotel Locanda Vivaldi
Hotel Locanda Vivaldi
#53 of 385 in Venice
4.5 of 5 bubbles 852 reviews
Castello
A Tribute To Music
A Tribute To Music
#79 of 385 in Venice
4.5 of 5 bubbles 638 reviews
Castello
Hotel Savoia & Jolanda
Hotel Savoia & Jolanda
#91 of 385 in Venice
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,626 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Castello
Nuovo Teson
Nuovo Teson
#120 of 385 in Venice
4.0 of 5 bubbles 405 reviews
Castello
Hotel Bucintoro
Hotel Bucintoro
#21 of 385 in Venice
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,254 reviews
Castello
Hotel Bisanzio
Hotel Bisanzio
#58 of 385 in Venice
4.5 of 5 bubbles 641 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Gabrielli? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Gabrielli

Property: Hotel Gabrielli
Address: Riva Degli Schiavoni 4110 | Centre - Castello, 30122 Venice, Italy
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > Castello
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#8 Green Hotel in Venice
#65 Luxury Hotel in Venice
#136 Romantic Hotel in Venice
#146 Family Hotel in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Gabrielli 4*
Number of rooms: 85
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 4-star Hotel Gabrielli, a Venetian Palazzo from the 14th century is family owned in the 5th generation. Only a few minutes walk from Saint Mark’s square, the Doge’s Palace, the Basilica of St. Mark and the Arsenale offers a fantastic location on the waterfront and excellent views on the laguna. Inhouse restaurant with venetian cuisine and Bar. Don't miss the roof terrace and the regarden to relax from a busy day. Private boat pier. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, ACCOR and Jetsetter so you can book your Hotel Gabrielli reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gabrielli Sandwirth Hotel
Gabrielli Sandwirth Venice
Hotel Gabrielli Sandwirth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing