We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Disappointing stay” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Londra Palace

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Londra Palace
Ranked #23 of 385 Hotels in Venice
Certificate of Excellence
Castels, France
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Disappointing stay”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2014

We booked the Londra Palace for a 2 night stay as we had got engaged over dinner there 6 years ago. The Hotel itself was excellent with a comfortable room but the food was not what we had had previously. It seems to be using its lagoon frontage and central location to bump up prices. Breakfast was average but the dinner was truly overpriced and very disappointing in terms of quality and quantity of food and tastes. Think we would stay at The Danieli again next time.

Room Tip: Lagoon view rooms will be stunning but at a premium. Our was at the back but still had a nice view o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shona W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DirezioneLP, Direttore at Hotel Londra Palace, responded to this review, August 2, 2014
Dear Sir and Madam,

thank you for choosing the Londra Palace again.
We are very sorry to read about your disappointing experience at our Restaurant
Our Chef is the same as your previous stay and we have to say that during this six years he didn't stand still waiting for clients just coming for the Hotel central location, but his and his Team growth has been constant and awarded by Michelin Guide, Gambero Rosso guide, Relais & Chateaux Gourmet Festivals when he cooked with Michelin- stars Chefs with great success.
As far as the prices are concerned, we grant reductions on Food & Beverage to Hotel guests and we have light menus (2 or 3 courses) with seasonal products and wine included at reasonable costs. The wine ("Venitian wood") is produced for us by one of the most important wineries in the Amarone region.
We regret very much we didn't meet your expectations.

Yours sincerely,

Stefania Vaccari
Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,396 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,099
    234
    43
    10
    10
See reviews for
271
876
27
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (392)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Danbury, Connecticut, United States
Level Contributor
176 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2014

This hotel has nice rooms and great views if facing the water. The concierge at the hotel was fabulous and helped with everything i needed. The breakfast was nice but i was unimpressed with the lobby area. Not a place that people hang out at least not while we were there.

Room Tip: i had a room at the end of hall which was close to the housekeeping door. not ideal as we heard them...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Shaun B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DirezioneLP, Direttore at Hotel Londra Palace, responded to this review, August 16, 2014
Dear Madam,

thank you for choosing the Londra Palace and for posting this nice review.
We are very pleased to know that you enjoyed your stay.
We look forward to welcoming you again.

Kind regards

Stefania Vaccari
Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
23 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2014

We stayed here on our first trip to Venice, and I would absolutely recommend this hotel to any first time travelers.

Location
Beautiful location right on the Grand Canal. There's a nice broad walkway in front of the hotel, so it doesn't actually abut the canal, which is a good thing. It's about a 5 minute walk to St Mark's square and about a 15 minute walk to the Rialto bridge. The nice thing about this hotel is that you're close to everything, but you're not right in the middle of all the hubbub.

Just an FYI though. The hotel is nowhere near the train station, and I would even want to try the walk with luggage. It's not the distance really, it's more of the winding nature of venetian streets and all the canals/bridges you'll have to cross. You will need to take a water taxi (which can be pricey).

Rooms
Our room had a king sized bed, which is not something easy to find in Venice (or Europe in general). Everything was well appointed and felt very venetian. Bathroom was clean, marble clad, and had great water pressure. Our room opened to the back of the hotel, so we didn't get a canal view, but we did get a charming view of the city. Very happy with the room.

Service
Very friendly staff. No issues at check in or check out. Housekeeping was on the ball. Wait staff at breakfast was attentive. Kudos all around.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dayztrip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DirezioneLP, Direttore at Hotel Londra Palace, responded to this review, August 16, 2014
Dear Madam, dear Sir,

thank you for posting this nice review and for recommending our Hotel to Tripadvisors readers.
We are very pleased to know that you enjoyed your stay and you loved your room, the location and the staff.
We look forward to welcoming you again at the Londra Palace.

Kind regards

Stefania Vaccari
Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2014

We were upgraded to a room with a view of the canal. Room was beautiful and large. Breakfast was good, set in an elegantly charming room. Excellent location. Would highly recommend staying here and I'd definitely would go back. I feel so spoiled :-)

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Allison L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DirezioneLP, Direttore at Hotel Londra Palace, responded to this review, August 9, 2014
Dear Madam,

thank you for posting this nice review.
We are delighted to know that you enjoyed your stay at the Londra Palace and that you wish to stay again.
We look forward to welcoming you again,

Yours sincerely,

Stefania Vaccari
Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Midlands
Level Contributor
40 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 17, 2014

We stayed at the Londra Palace as part of a week long trip through Italy to celebrate our silver anniversary. Venice was the last stop on our trip and to that point we had stayed in some excellent hotels and the "L P" kept the standard high. We had a lagoon view room (214) which was well stocked with some beautiful furnishings and the facilities were excellent although there was no tea or coffee making facilities they could have been provided if we had requested them.

It isn't cheap but you do get what you pay for, the breakfast layout is superb. We didn't have an evening meal there as we had too much exploring of Venice to complete so ate on the hoof but the restaurant appearance was elegant and looking at the menu it wasn't set up to disappoint.

One high point was the concierge (apologies for forgetting his name), as it was our first visit we were seeking advice about Murano, gondola's, the water taxi's and in every event he provided us with brilliant advise saving us time and money along with maps to helps us navigate the area.

Venice itself I wasn't too taken with (controversial !!!) but if we were ever to return I would make straight for the Londra Palace as with it's high standards, its location next to St Marks square is perfect and the proximity of the water taxi's / buses make it an ideal base for travellers of all ages.

Room Tip: You must request a lagoon view room as it is not only a great view but you also get to see visitors...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FKW666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DirezioneLP, Direttore at Hotel Londra Palace, responded to this review, August 9, 2014
Dear Madam, dear Sir,

thank you for choosing the Londra Palace in occasion of your trip to celebrate your silver anniversary.
We are very pleased to know that you enjoyed the room, breakfast, the Hotel location and that your stay has been enjoyable.
We hope to welcoming you again.

Yours sincerely,

Stefania Vaccari
Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
35 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2014

Hotel Londra Palace meets or exceeds every expectation. We had fantastic canal views. The staff was very attentive and helpful. Rooms were well appointed and clean. The location could simply not be more ideal. The restaurant was excellent and the provided breakfast was exceptional. We had adjoining (but not interconnecting) rooms with our teenage kids - but that worked out just fine. We will definitely stay here again upon returning to Venice.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DMHfromLA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DirezioneLP, Direttore at Hotel Londra Palace, responded to this review, August 9, 2014
Dear Sir, dear Madam,

thank you for choosing the Londra Palace and for posting this nice review.
We are delighted to know that we excedeed yoiur expectations and you loved the rooms and breakfast.
We hope to welcoming you again soon.

Yours sincerely,

Stefania Vaccari
Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
84 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2014 via mobile

We loved the location and our rooms. We had two rooms, both were immaculate and beautiful with spectacular views of the Grand Canal. I highly recommend the family suite (508) as the room had more space than we knew what to with.

The breakfast was nice to have included. Most of my family did not like the offerings however I found the coffee and setting to make up for it.

Andrea the concierge was the icing on the cake, he was amazing. He went above and beyond for us! Another company broke my daughter's heart when they canceled her mask making session and he came to the rescue and set her up with a local women who welcomed us to her private studio. He also made a great restaurant recommendation and it was the best meal we had in Italy.

Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Wendy O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DirezioneLP, Direttore at Hotel Londra Palace, responded to this review, August 9, 2014
Dear Madam,

thank you for your nice review.
We are delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay and that you loved your rooms and breakfast.
We are pleased to know that Andrea was able to help with the mask ' session and restaurant reservations.

Yours sincerely,


Stefania Vaccari
Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Venice hotels
Castello
Metropole Hotel
Metropole Hotel
#44 of 385 in Venice
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,127 reviews
San Marco
The Gritti Palace, A Luxury Collection Hotel
San Marco
Baglioni Hotel Luna
Baglioni Hotel Luna
#42 of 385 in Venice
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,408 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Castello
Hotel Danieli, A Luxury Collection Hotel
Castello
Hotel Ai Cavalieri di Venezia
San Marco
Bauer Palazzo
Bauer Palazzo
#61 of 385 in Venice
4.5 of 5 bubbles 784 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Londra Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Londra Palace

Property: Hotel Londra Palace
Address: Riva Degli Schiavoni, 4171, 30122 Venice, Italy
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > Castello
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#10 Family Hotel in Venice
#12 Romantic Hotel in Venice
#15 Luxury Hotel in Venice
#17 Business Hotel in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Londra Palace 4*
Number of rooms: 53
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
On 7th November Londra Palace has been awarded Most Outstanding Service Hotel for Europe & the Mediterannean at the prestigious Conde' Nast Johansens 2012 Awards for Excellence. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, World Independent Hotel Promotion, Priceline, Travelocity, Fastbooking, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Londra Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Londra Palace Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing