We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Londra Palace
Ranked #16 of 385 Hotels in Venice
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 24, 2013

Transport -The location of this hotel is perfect for getting around. Four of us stayed for a long weekend, we hired a private water taxi to and from the airport (cost E110 each way for the four of us, buy ticket at airport on arrival) which drops you right outside the hotel and we purchased a two day water bus ticket from the kiosk outside the hotel which takes you everwhere you'll want to go around Venice and the islands, this ticket is great value and a must.

Hotel general - Great location looking out over the water. Nice inside/pavement bar and restaurant, small and efficient front desk area leading off to the lifts and restaurant. Very helpful front desk staff.

Rooms - Not the largest and fairly basic, classy decoration. Nice bathroom with bath and great shower. Our room overlooked roofs at the back which was ok for us as we didn't spend much time in the room, if you plan to spend time in the room pick a front lagoon view. Mini bar very expensive. We bought bottled water at a local shop for 1/10th price.

Food - Breakfast (included) was a bit of a letdown if like me, you like full cooked as you need to pay per item. If you like cold meats, cheese, breads and fruit, then you'll be fine with the selection included. Great to eat breakfast outside and watch the world go bye. For dinner, the food is good, portions small, but lacked the "wow" factor - that is until the bill came! Drinks are very expensive E8 for a small bottle of beer, but I guess you are paying for the location and we enjoyed many drinks sitting outside in the evenings. Service in general was good and the bar staff in particular were excellent. There are many places to eat and drink as you make your way around Venice, we dined at Rialto where there are a number of canal side restaurants so the prices are keener, Burano and the Lido.

In general - Great location, great service, food and drink ok but expensive, rooms nice but basic and if you intend to spend time at the hotel, book a water facing room.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ChrisB0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,591)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

733 - 739 of 1,591 reviews

Reviewed June 23, 2013

We chose the Londra Palace for a recent visit, as we had had two good experiences there in past years and knew the location was right for us this time. We found the concierges, porters, and restaurant/bar staff to be helpful time and again with each question or request for service. Our room had all the amenities and comfort we were looking for (along with a great view). We had the final dinner of our trip at the hotel and, even though there was a good-sized private event going on in the adjacent room and a significant number of regular dinner customers that evening, we received attentive service.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CandF_Massachusetts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DirezioneLP, Direttore at Hotel Londra Palace, responded to this reviewResponded July 13, 2013

Dear Madam, dear Sir,

thank you for posting this nice review.
We are very pleased to know that you chose to stay again at the Londra Palace and that your stay met your expectations.
We will pass on to the Staff your kind words of appreciations.
We look forward to welcoming you again.

Yours sincerely,

Stefania Vaccari
Assistant Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 22, 2013

The hotel is located within minutes from St. Mark's Square. Water taxis and water buses are directly in front of the hotel. A cold breakfast is included with options to order and pay for hot breakfasts. You can dine outside the hotel on their patio with a lovely view of the boats and water. Our room was small but lovely with a large bathroom. The room was absolutely quiet despite the busy tourists and boats out front. The concierge was extremely helpful with maps and directions. There are many restaurants just outside the door of the hotel or just a short walk away. I would definitely recommend this hotel .The only thing that bothered me were the starchy sheets on the bed. That's a first for me and I've stayed in a lot of hotels. But I would definitely stay there again if I return to Venice.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank The3zees
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DirezioneLP, Direttore at Hotel Londra Palace, responded to this reviewResponded July 13, 2013

Dear Madam, dear Sir,

thank you for your nice review.
We are very pleased to know that your stay at the Londra Palace has been nice.
We look forward to welcomign you again very soon.

Yours sincerely,

Stefania Vaccari
Assistant Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 20, 2013

Out of 5 hotels we stayed in over three weeks in Italy, this was at the top of the list. The location was perfect, just far enough away from St. Marks not to be too crowded and noisy, but enough in the middle of things so you could sit outside in the shade and people watch over an afternoon snack. It had the best breakfast of any hotel we encountered (the best hot pastries!!) and the property was immaculate and elegant. We chose the property, in addition to the location and other amenities, for the ability to have two rooms connect for our family. The kids had a totally separate room with twin beds (classic twin room) and their own bathroom. There was enclosed corridor between our room (a Deluxe double room overlooking the lagoon) and theirs, which made it very quiet and private. The wi-fi was included and there was also very good dry-cleaning service available. At our request, the hotel arranged for a driver and a guide to pick us up at the train station, however, a water taxi without the guide would have been fine. The front desk had amazing help and we felt very pampered and fortunate to have selected the Londra Palace for our Venice visit. We highly recommend it to families with children.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank OKCTwinmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DirezioneLP, Direttore at Hotel Londra Palace, responded to this reviewResponded July 6, 2013

Dear Madam, dear Sir,

thank you for your nice review about the Londra Palace.
We are delighted to know that you enjoyed your stay with your Family and that the accomodation in connecting room was suitable to your needs.
The fact that you rated our Hotel at the top of the Hotels you visited in Italy makes us very proud of our work ! Thank you so much!

Yours sincerely,

Stefania Vaccari
Assistant Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 18, 2013

My wife and I stayed at the Londra palace in June and we were very disappointed. We were in Italy for 2 weeks and the hotels we stayed in Positano and Rome were not as much money and provided a much better experience. The hotel is beautiful, perfect location, and amazing views oof the laggon so I can see why it is as expensive as it is. But they don’t really care much about the tourists as long as they get their money.

The bed sheets felt like old towels and were very rough. The breakfast was great every morning, but the servers were rude and short with us. For the most part the front desk was nice and polite but when it was time for us to take a trip to Murano to explore the glass factories our perception of the hotel tanked. I was going to take the water bus but there was a strike so the busses weren’t running. I asked the hotel and they said they had a free shuttle….Great, we are finally seeing the value in this hotel.

Wow, were we wrong. The hotel puts us in a water taxi, drove us through the canals and it was really cool! When we got to Murano we were dropped off at a factory…. not the island where we can go explore. When we got off the taxi there was someone there to meet us, and that is when I realized the hotel and the factory have a deal to give customers back and forth. We were shown a poor demo then a pushy sales guy takes us to the showroom to buy something. Then after we bought something we were pushed out the door and taken back to the hotel in an old run down boat and told we don’t want to see anymore of Murano because it is only industrial and boring. The concierge who we thought was great and nice to us while setting up the trip to Murano, knew we were upset and basically stopped talking to us for the rest of the day. He just handed us our key and said thanks (he probably meant “thanks for buying glass and giving us more money sucker!”). I am sure the Londra palace received a commission from the factory (BS Signoretti), good for them and bad for us.

If you have money to burn and don’t care about the value of the experience at the hotel, stay here. If you want top notch service and people who care about you having a good time in Venice, stay somewhere else. If we didn't go to Murano maybe my rating would be different, but unfortunate for Londra Palace, we did.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Verdigris81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DirezioneLP, Direttore at Hotel Londra Palace, responded to this reviewResponded June 27, 2013

Dear Sir, Madam,

we are very sad to read such a negative review.
The Hotel Londra Palace doesn't work with the Signoretti Factory or any other Factories located in Murano.
As it was not possible to reach Murano because of a 24 hours-strike of public transportation, the Concierge arranged a complimentary water taxi to give you the opportunity to see how they blow the glass and to visit the workshop. If your experience at this Factory, which is one of the most important and well known all over the world, has been not pleasant, we apologize sincerely.
Your feeling about the Concierge who wasn't kind anymore after your shopping in Murano is influenced by your negative experience as they are very nice and professional persons.
We are also very sorry if you didn't appreciate our first-quality linen sheets.

If you wish to contact us for further details, we are at your disposal.

Yours sincerely,

Stefania Vaccari
Assistant Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2013

Londra Palace was recommended by a relative; and was even more than expected! The location was great; right off the number 2 vaporetti (water bus) from the train station - no need for other higher cost transportation! Says four star but is close to five in our eyes! Very clean and friendly; has great Internet as well. Staff was awesome and smiling always; easily the best hotel in our ten days in Italy.

Room Tip: All of the rooms have great air conditioning; you will need it in Venice! Front rooms only have a vi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sandra K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DirezioneLP, Direttore at Hotel Londra Palace, responded to this reviewResponded July 13, 2013

Dear Sir, dear Madam,

we have read your nice review about the Londra Palace and we thank you very much.

We are delighted to know that your stay has been very enjoyable and that you rated our Hotel as the top in your journey to Italy.

Thank you again from all of us !

Yours sincerely

Stefania Vaccari
Assistant Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 14, 2013

This was our third stay at the Londra Palace over a three year period. We have found it to be consistent in its high standards. It is located conveniently for both airport arrivals and departures by water taxi and for the main vaparetto lines. We have stayed in two different lagoon side rooms. Both were very comfortable and well appointed, with superb views across the lagoon. The restaurant is excellent and the hotel staff were all friendly, helpful and very professional, the front desk particularly so. We are already looking forward to our next stay there and would recommend it highly

Room Tip: A room with a lagoon view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank prof1_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DirezioneLP, Direttore at Hotel Londra Palace, responded to this reviewResponded July 13, 2013

Dear Madam, dear Sir,

we thank you very much for posting this review and for your support
We are deligthed to know that also your third stay at the Londra Palace has been enjoyable.
We look forward to welcoming you again very soon.

Yours sincerely,

Stefania Vaccari
Assistant Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Venice hotels
San Marco
The Gritti Palace, A Luxury Collection Hotel
Castello
Hotel Danieli, A Luxury Collection Hotel
Castello
Hotel Ai Cavalieri di Venezia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Castello
Hotel Savoia & Jolanda
Hotel Savoia & Jolanda
#81 of 385 in Venice
1,870 reviews
San Marco
Hotel Colombina
Hotel Colombina
#51 of 385 in Venice
1,902 reviews
San Marco
Bauer Palazzo
Bauer Palazzo
#77 of 385 in Venice
2,599 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Londra Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Londra Palace

Address: Riva Degli Schiavoni, 4171, 30122 Venice, Italy
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > Castello
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#10 Family Hotel in Venice
#11 Luxury Hotel in Venice
#12 Romantic Hotel in Venice
#17 Business Hotel in Venice
Price Range: $278 - $611 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Londra Palace 5*
Number of rooms: 53
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Five star Hotel located in the heart of Venice, few steps from Saint Mark's Square. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, World Independent Hotel Promotion, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Fastbooking, Booking.com, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hotel Londra Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Londra Palace Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing