We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location, friendly staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Londra Palace
Ranked #17 of 385 Hotels in Venice
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 11, 2013

My husband and I started our honeymoon in Venice spending two nights at the Hotel Londra Palace. It is in a great location right near many water taxis and St Marks square. The front desk/concierge staff was very friendly and helpful. Breakfast was nice as well. We were in a grand canal view room with windows only, no balcony which would have been a nice touch especially for the price! The room itself is very small with an oversized bathroom. Not our favorite hotel in Italy, but a nice way to start off the honeymoon!

Room Tip: Get a canal view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Randi G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DirezioneLP, Direttore at Hotel Londra Palace, responded to this reviewResponded June 2, 2013

Dear Sir, Madam,

thank you for choosing the Londra Palace in occasion of your honeymoon.
We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay.
When booking a deluxe room, we suggest to request a balcony well in advance as there are only 4 rooms like that.
We wish you lot of happiness.

Yours sincerely

Stefania Vaccari
Assistant Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,576)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

752 - 758 of 1,576 reviews

Reviewed May 10, 2013

This was the first time for my wife and I in Venice and therefore the Londra Palace. We were blown away by both. We were here for 4 nights and the staff at the hotel could not have been friendlier or more helpful. The Londra is right on the waterfront and it is great having the windows open listening to water lapping at the gondolas and the sights and sounds of a busy ferry terminal. The restaurant is great for breakfast, drinks pre-dinner and dinner. Watching the crowds of tourists parading by in a very vibrant part of Venice.
Andrea on the desk helped us with dinner reservations at Al Paradiso and Osteria da Franz - both very good and walking distance. Also Andrea sent us to Murano (glass maunfaturing) and Burano (lace) for a day tour which was fun and if you buy glassware they will ship it home. The Marco Polo factory was really friendly and we were shown around by Stephan and met Marco a great artist and craftsman.
Venice was great because no cars, walking everywhere, great coffee, food and people. Thanks to the Londra Palace for an outstanding stay.

Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
2  Thank Andrew B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DirezioneLP, Direttore at Hotel Londra Palace, responded to this reviewResponded June 2, 2013

Dear Sir, dear Madam,

thank you for choosing the Londra Palace and for posting this nice review.
We are very pleased to know that your stay has been enjoyable.
We will pass on to Andrea your words of appreciation.

We look forward to welcoming again in the future,

Yours sincerely

Stefania Vaccari
Assistant Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2013

Stayed one night with wife.
Was a short hitch during check-in.
The view from the balcony on the walking street and grand canale is awesome. Location is very good, short walk distance to everything you need to see in the city. Water taxi stop right in front of the hotel.
Rooms - not too spatious but very cosy and quite luxury.
Breakfast and bar in lobby - full of choice.
Would come back definitely.

Room Tip: Junior Suite with Lagoon View. Great view from balcony and full of sun.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank velocipator
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DirezioneLP, Direttore at Hotel Londra Palace, responded to this reviewResponded June 2, 2013

Dear Sir,

thank you for choosing the Londra Palace and for posting this nice review.
We are pleased to know that you enjoyed your stay and that you would like to come back.

We hope to welcoming you again very soon.

Yours sincerely

Stefania Vaccari
Assistant Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2013

Let me start by saying I did not stay at this hotel, but instead canceled my stay because of a double booking with Expedia. Although, it is not the hotel's fault that we ended up with two different hotels in Venice, their hotel policies contributed to the problem, which is the reason for my negative review. We are currently on a 14 day trip through Europe, celebrating our 20th wedding anniversary and have had wonderful hotel experiences throughout our stay in Europe. Every hotel in our itinerary sent us a lovely email welcoming us to their property and offering service like, reservations, airport transportation, etc., and this occurred about a week in advance of our arrival. Our hotel in Paris even found us Paris Museum Passes ahead of our stay and sent a follow up email to ensure we didn't need anything else. However, the Londra Palace sent NO email, made no communication attempt, and offered no pre-stay services. Normally, I might not have noticed there lack of service, because I wouldn't have had hotels in Rome and Paris, on the same itinerary, offering better service, which shed an unpleasant light on the Hotel Londra Palace.

Clearly, if the Londra Palace offered the same "Welcome to our hotel" email, we would have realized our online cancellation with Expedia had failed, and would have still been able to cancel without any financial penalty. Of course, instead we are out of pocket a significant amount of money. I met with the reservations manager at the hotel in person and mentioned that they should change their policy of ZERO communications with guests, and the reservations manager mentioned that the same thing happened several times recently (guests paying penalties for double booking, etc.) including a couple who had booked the Hotel Londra Palace twice for the same stay, and she told me that they charged them the cancellation penalty fee as well.

Obviously we messed up by not following up with Expedia to ensure our cancellation process online competed properly, but we were booking several airlines, trains, hotels, etc. in Europe and it got lost in the chaos. However, a truly well run organization in the service business, should do what better hotels did in Europe, and send us a welcome email. First, it gives us an opportunity to have the hotel make dinner reservations, gondola rides, trips to Murano, guided Venice walking tours, or whatever else would make our stay more enjoyable. Our other hotel in Venice sent the same welcome email as the other European hotels on our trip. When I mentioned that their hotel should have sent an email, the reservations manager said that it was not possible with third party bookings (i.e. Expedia, Hotels.com, etc)--not true as the other hotels on my itinerary were booked with Hotels.com and Orbitz and they had no problem contacting me by email. Additionally, Hotels.com sent an email 1 week in advance with tips for travel in Rome, which was very nice, and had Expedia done the same, we would have caught the failed cancellation.

In all fairness, the hotel did offer me a free dinner, then backed off to a free lunch, and then to a lunch without drinks, as an apology for the situation, but I left feeling more upset with the, dinner reduced to lunch, reduced to lunch without drinks, offer. I would have never taken them up on their free dinner offer anyway, as we have plans through the end of our stay, but it was a nice gesture, until they even messed that up. Plus, the hotel manager who changed the offer from a free dinner to lunch without drinks, could have spoken to me personally, but did not even bother to come out of his office to speak to me. Maybe, instead of free lunch, they should consider adopting a policy of offering better service to future guests, by sending a "welcome" email and helping avoid situations like mine, and apparently, several other recent guests at the hotel. As you can see in my reviews, I am a frequent traveler, and was just in Venice in august, but I will personally avoid booking his hotel in the future.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Service
8  Thank PJS308
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DirezioneLP, Direttore at Hotel Londra Palace, responded to this reviewResponded May 9, 2013

Dear Sir,

I believe there is a misunderstanding.

You made your booking through Expedia and you prepaid all your stay (3 nights) directly to them.
We don't receive client's email from Expedia when the reservation is prepaid.
We receive a reservation with Client's name and all info regarding the booking: room category booked, number of persons, etc. But no email addresses.
Other online travel agencies give us client's email addresses. We receive it also from Expedia when you don't prepay the stay.

Again, your reservation was completely prepaid to Expedia and we didn't have any email address of you, nor any credit card details.

We usually make the services that you mention when we have email addresses. But this was not possible with you and not per our fault.

You came at the front desk at 11.00 p.m of the same day of check-in and you discover you had a reservation at the Londra Palace.

As per policy you agreed when you booked the room, our cancellation policy is free of charge if reservation is cancelled 2 days prior to arrival; within 2 days or in case of no show, a 1 night stay is charged.

I understand that you made confusion with your bookings, that you prepaid. It could happens when you manage a long trip. But try to understand our point of view.
We where fully booked and we are on high season, we lost a 3 night's stay.

At the present moment, we informed Expedia of your last cancellation (11.00 p.m. of the day of arrival) and that we will charge Expedia, one night only. As you prepaid to them, they will refund what is the agreement to their cancellation policy.

Regarding you visit to the Londra Palace my assistant explained to you why you didn’t receive any emails from us, as we could not send emails if we didn't have your email information.

As a good-will gesture, my assistant offered to you a lunch at our Do Leoni Restaurant even if the Londra Palace lost money with your wrong booking and we didn’t make any errors or miscommunication.

I renew my invitation for a lunch during your next visit to Venice and it will be my pleasure to share this lunch with you.

Kind regards,

Alain Bullo
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 5, 2013

My daughter and I stayed only one night at the Londra Palace. It is a beautiful hotel of about 50 guest rooms. It has a very welcoming lobby area, an outdoor patio, where breakfast and lunch are served, and an excellent restaurant, where we dined during our stay. We also enjoyed the complimentary breakfast, which was excellent. Our room was extremely well-appointed and we had windows that opened up over the Venice Lagoon. We also had a balcony that did not overlook the Lagoon, but nonetheless, was very nice with views over tiled rooftops. The day we were there it was Italian Independence Day and there were large crowds of people. That being said, we could return to our room and look down on all of the activity and escape the throngs of people. The Londra Palace is located very near St. Mark's Square and other attractions and there are water taxis conveniently close. The hotel staff was also very attentive and helpful. Although not overlooking the Grand Canal where many of Venice's exclusive hotels are located, I highly recommend the Londra Palace. It is a wonderful hotel, operated by an equally wonderful staff.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 418, which was a corner room that had a breathtakingly beautiful view of the Lagoo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Beverly M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DirezioneLP, Direttore at Hotel Londra Palace, responded to this reviewResponded May 25, 2013

Dear Madam,

thank you for your nice review about the Londra Palace.
We are delighted to know that your stay has been enjoyable and you appreciated the staff and the service.

We hope to have the opportunity to welcoming you again.

Kind regards

Stefania Vaccari
Assistant Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 29, 2013

We stayed in Venice for 4 days to celebrate a special occasion and I asked for a room with a balcony and Lagoon view. I got both and the room was fabulous with great views, spacious and spotlessly clean and very well appointed. The food at breakfast was plentiful and varied and the staff were very helpful and friendly throughout. A very enjoyable place to enjoy Venice.

Room Tip: We had room with a balcony and Lagoon View
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DirezioneLP, Direttore at Hotel Londra Palace, responded to this reviewResponded May 25, 2013

Dear Sir, dear Madam,

thank you for choosing the Londra Palace and to post this nice review.
We are so pleased to know that your stay has been enjoyable.

We hope to have the opportunity to welcoming you again.

Yours sincerely

Stefania Vaccari
Assistant Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 28, 2013

We returned from a 5 night stay at the Londra Palace on 4/23. All of our experiences at the hotel were great. Our room on the 3rd floor had a small balcony overlooking the Grand Canal as we had booked. This was a great addition, we really enjoyed stepping outside and soaking in the amazing view and the sights. We were traveling with our college age daughter who met us in Venice and the room was more then adequate for 3 adults, especially with the large walk in closet that our daughter used as her dressing room. The room itself had been recently redone and was lovely. The halls on our floor and the elevator were about to get new wall coverings/carpet. The staff was very helpful and always remembered our room number when we returned. The bar is a nice place to have a pre or post dinner drink, and the bartender remembered us after our first visit. The breakfast is very good and served in a lovely room. All in all, if visiting Venice as a tourist, we could not imagine what more a 5 star hotel could do for you then the Londra Palace did for us. Location was great, less then 5 minutes to San Marco and we walked all over the city from the hotel. If we are lucky enough to return to Venice, we would stay again.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank capelover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DirezioneLP, Direttore at Hotel Londra Palace, responded to this reviewResponded May 25, 2013

Dear Sir, dear Madam,

we thank you very much for you nice review.
It has been a pleasure to welcoming you at the Londra Palace and we are delighted to know that your stay has been enjoyable and that you found our staff attentive and friendly.

We hope to have the opportunity to welcoming you again,

Kind regards

Stefania Vaccari
Assistant Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Venice hotels
San Marco
The Gritti Palace, A Luxury Collection Hotel
Castello
Hotel Danieli, A Luxury Collection Hotel
San Marco
Hotel Colombina
Hotel Colombina
#52 of 385 in Venice
1,879 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Castello
Hotel Ai Cavalieri di Venezia
Castello
Metropole Hotel
Metropole Hotel
#50 of 385 in Venice
1,281 reviews
San Marco
NH Collection Venezia Palazzo Barocci
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Londra Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Londra Palace

Address: Riva Degli Schiavoni, 4171, 30122 Venice, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > Castello
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#10 Family Hotel in Venice
#12 Luxury Hotel in Venice
#12 Romantic Hotel in Venice
#17 Business Hotel in Venice
Price Range: $275 - $720 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Londra Palace 5*
Number of rooms: 53
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Five star Hotel located in the heart of Venice, few steps from Saint Mark's Square. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Agoda, Fastbooking, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Hotwire, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Londra Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Londra Palace Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing