We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel American Dinesen- Location and Quality”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel American Dinesen
Ranked #33 of 386 Hotels in Venice
Certificate of Excellence
Chicago
Level Contributor
59 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Hotel American Dinesen- Location and Quality”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 4, 2014

My family of 4 stayed at the Hotel American Dinesen during a short stay in Venice. All prior reviews say it all. Located on the other side of the Grand Canal, the Dorsoduro, and about 3 minute walk to the Accademia Bridge and 15 mins from St Marks Sq. Very quiet and quaint. Close enough to get anywhere (Venice is a small place anyhow) but not busy at all. Plenty of restaurants and walking the other direction on the canal, a great view of La Giudecca across another larger canal(not sure of it's name). Has its own canal dock so our water taxi was able to take us right to the front door.

We stayed in rooms 5 and 6 in what they call the dependence, which is an annex next door which is their newest accommodations.. There are only 3 rooms in the building and the other was vacant so we kind of had the place to ourselves. These rooms are more spacious and updated but no view of the canal.

Roberto's friendly welcome and greeting was just what we needed after a long day travelling (3 hr delay out of London-Gatwick). He was totally helpful, arranged an early morning water taxi for us the night before our departure. Breakfast was good. All the staff helpful. Highly recommend a stay here.

Room Tip: Don't hesistate to stay next door in the 'dependence' if main building is full. The roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dw732
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,520 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,010
    435
    53
    14
    8
See reviews for
327
782
50
25
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (266)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Mexico City, Mexico
Level Contributor
32 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 4, 2014

Booked here for two nights in venice. Stayed in the annex portion of the hotel and it was very nice, clean and had a beautiful patio to relax in. The customer service was great and it was close to many attractions but also on a quiet portion of the canal. I would go back to this hotel the next time I stay in Venice.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Traveling246845
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
1,158 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 538 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 4, 2014

This is our go to hotel in Venice. We have never been disappointed on any stay. This small boutique hotel has a great staff and well appointed rooms. The hotel is situated on a canal in the Dorsoduro neighborhood. The best thing you are away from all the crowds, but close enough to the sights. We love the Dorsoduro. It is a great neighborhood where actual Venetians live.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mike O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nice, France
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 4, 2014

Just completed 3 nights in Venice as part of an extended trip and enjoyed our stay here. The room was good sized (109) and had a balcony with view over the canal. Location was excellent for us, on a quiet canal and just around the corner from the Accademia and the Guggenheim is nearby. Short walk over the bridge to San Marco when you want to join the crowds. The staff was very helpful and friendly from the moment we arrived and recommended places to eat and when best to visit the various sites and museums. My teenage daughter especially enjoyed her visits with the house dog, Pablo, and a couple of those pictures will be in our memory album when we return home.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank eric h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
66 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 4, 2014

Everything about this hotel is good. Great location - quiet but convenient; friendly and welcoming staff; rooms spacious (rare in Venice) and well decorated; free wifi. Searching for something to balance the good things the only thing I could find was a slightly annoying step up into the en suite bathroom. Also as everyone knows Venice is horrendously expensive, but even so I thought terms of value for money this was on the expensive side.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gplk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 3, 2014

The staff and hotel room made our stay in Venice very pleasant. The room was clean and the bed was large. The staff was helpful and arranged for transportation to the airport to catch our early flight. It is located in the Dorsoduro area of the island which is quiet, has good restaurants, and is still an easy walk to all locations. We would stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KristenH123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2014

We had a few lovely days in this charming hotel at the end of May. The position was excellent, the staff were very friendly and helpful, the rooms were clean and well maintained and the breakfasts were very good. It was lovely having a balcony overlooking a canal. We would have no hesitation in returning

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Barbara S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Venice hotels
Dorsoduro / Accademia
Ca' Pisani Hotel
Ca' Pisani Hotel
#14 of 386 in Venice
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,700 reviews
Dorsoduro / Accademia
Charming House DD724
Charming House DD724
#3 of 386 in Venice
4.5 of 5 bubbles 734 reviews
Dorsoduro / Accademia
Ca' Maria Adele
Ca' Maria Adele
#6 of 386 in Venice
5.0 of 5 bubbles 616 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Dorsoduro / Accademia
Hotel Palazzo Stern
Hotel Palazzo Stern
#20 of 386 in Venice
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,625 reviews
Cannaregio
Arcadia Boutique Hotel
Arcadia Boutique Hotel
#25 of 386 in Venice
5.0 of 5 bubbles 811 reviews
Santa Croce
Hotel Moresco
Hotel Moresco
#2 of 386 in Venice
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,805 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel American Dinesen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel American Dinesen

Property: Hotel American Dinesen
Address: Via San Vio 628 | Dorsoduro District, 30123 Venice, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > Dorsoduro / Accademia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#16 Family Hotel in Venice
#24 Luxury Hotel in Venice
#35 Romantic Hotel in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel American Dinesen 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Superior three star Hotel in Dorsoduro, the "Art District" of Venice. The hotel is located between the Acadamy of Fine Arts (Accademia di Belle Arti) and the "Peggy Guggenhiem Collection".The House lies in front of San Vio Canal, with his private dock for taxi and gondolas. Highly requested are the superior canal view rooms with balcony, where customers can enjoy a nice view of San Vio Canal and (some of them)a partial view of the Grand Canal. Free wifi internet access in the room and also public areas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Travelocity, Agoda, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel American Dinesen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
American Dinesen Hotel
American Dinesen Venice
American Hotel Venice Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing