We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastico”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel American Dinesen
Ranked #33 of 385 Hotels in Venice
Certificate of Excellence
N. Ireland
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Fantastico”
Reviewed January 26, 2014 via mobile

I have stated in the American Dinesen several times now and every visit is better than the last. The staff are really friendly and helpful. Over the years that I have been visiting they have not changed - one of the signs of a well run business.
January is a wonderful time to visit Venice....away from San Marco the streets are quiet and the locals have a chance to enjoy their own city before the cruise ships roll in. January also affords the opportunity to grab one of Dinesen's best rooms at a very reasonable price. I stayed in room 201 on this trip. Spacious, warm, spotless with balcony access to the quiet canal in front.
Breakfast was included in my room rate and was perfect to set me up for a day of canal wandering.
This is a great hotel... well run...with efficient and friendly staff .. in a quiet and particularly beautiful area of Venice - Dorsodouro. There is nowhere else I would even consider staying in Venice and I unhesitatingly recommend it.

Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank CharleyBrown76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,527 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,016
    436
    53
    14
    8
See reviews for
328
786
50
26
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (268)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 21, 2014

We booked a room with a canal view for 2 nights during December. Our room was clean and spacious and the staff were very friendly and accommodating . We especially liked the buffet breakfast which had a variety of different food to choose from - the staff who took care of the buffet were really sweet, she made me hot chocolate every morning :). The location is fantastic, most attractions are in walking distance. We would definitely recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Disnee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 14, 2014 via mobile

A lovely place. The decor is traditional, beautiful and comfortable, and the staff are very friendly and helpful. There is also an excellent buffet breakfast to keep you going throughout the day! The location is perfect too. It's away from the more touristy, busier Rialto, yet conveniently located near the Grand Canal and vaporetto services. There are plenty of local shops, cafes and restaurants as well as a supermarket which is very handy. We felt very relaxed and at home there. We'll be back!

Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Simon H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 13, 2014

The room was neat and tidy and the view by the canal was refreshing. The owner was helpful in guiding the best ways to reach out the attraction nearby and avoid queues by paying for a special queue pass (i.e. paying just half a euro). Very close to the Accademia.

Room Tip: Book the one by the canal on the first or 2nd floor that is next to the restaurant before the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Navo_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed January 8, 2014

We stayed here on the recommendation of friends who spoke highly of it and we were not disappointed. Very conveniently located close to vaporetto stops, a bridge to St. Mark's square and several good restaurants. Our balcony room had views of the canals and was very comfortable. We will definitely stay here again on our next trip to Venice.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FrancoCanucks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
34 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed January 4, 2014

I stayed five nights at this hotel in November 2013. It is a great location in the Dorsoduro neighborhood of Venice, which is a little quieter than other parts of town. It is within walking distance to many restaurants and shops and a nearby water bus stop. Water taxis can drop you off directly in front of the hotel, at a cost of around $82 American, but a much better deal is to take the water bus. It is a very short walk to the Peggy Guggenheim museum and Accademia di Belle Arti. Venice is a walking city and you are probably a 15 minute walk to St. Mark's Square or the Rialto bridge. The hotel is in the typical Venetian style and my room was a true single, with a small twin bed. The room and bathroom were small, but clean. The staff was very helpful and gave us recommendations for places to eat, how to get places, etc. The breakfast was a typical Italian breakfast with a large selection. The restaurant next door was pricey and just ok, but one of our best meals in Venice was at the bar around the corner, Al Vecio Forner. The service was kind of like a New Yorker, not the friendliest, but the risotto was amazing.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Megan49022
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotia, New York
Level Contributor
81 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed January 4, 2014

The staff at this lovely side canal hotel were very sincere, kind and friendly from Marco at the front desk to the woman at breakfast. Our balcony room was nice although it could use a little updating. It was a walkup, which was somewhat inconvenient. Nice restaurant just next door. We liked this section of Venice for its cute shops, easy access to water taxis, museums, and walking distance to all other important attractions.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 401cottagegirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Venice hotels
Dorsoduro / Accademia
Ca' Pisani Hotel
Ca' Pisani Hotel
#14 of 385 in Venice
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,728 reviews
Dorsoduro / Accademia
Charming House DD724
Charming House DD724
#3 of 385 in Venice
4.5 of 5 bubbles 740 reviews
Dorsoduro / Accademia
Ca' Maria Adele
Ca' Maria Adele
#6 of 385 in Venice
5.0 of 5 bubbles 623 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Dorsoduro / Accademia
Hotel Palazzo Stern
Hotel Palazzo Stern
#18 of 385 in Venice
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,647 reviews
Cannaregio
Arcadia Boutique Hotel
Arcadia Boutique Hotel
#25 of 385 in Venice
5.0 of 5 bubbles 827 reviews
Santa Croce
Hotel Moresco
Hotel Moresco
#2 of 385 in Venice
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,834 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel American Dinesen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel American Dinesen

Property: Hotel American Dinesen
Address: Via San Vio 628 | Dorsoduro District, 30123 Venice, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > Dorsoduro / Accademia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#16 Family Hotel in Venice
#24 Luxury Hotel in Venice
#35 Romantic Hotel in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel American Dinesen 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Superior three star Hotel in Dorsoduro, the "Art District" of Venice. The hotel is located between the Acadamy of Fine Arts (Accademia di Belle Arti) and the "Peggy Guggenhiem Collection".The House lies in front of San Vio Canal, with his private dock for taxi and gondolas. Highly requested are the superior canal view rooms with balcony, where customers can enjoy a nice view of San Vio Canal and (some of them)a partial view of the Grand Canal. Free wifi internet access in the room and also public areas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Priceline, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Hotel American Dinesen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
American Dinesen Hotel
American Dinesen Venice
American Hotel Venice Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing