We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel American Dinesen
Nearby Hotels
$289
$227
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$395
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Moresco(Venice)
$399
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Colombina(Venice)
$186
$180
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$524
$508
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
Hotel Savoia & Jolanda(Venice)
$391
$265
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$239
$206
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Arlecchino Hotel(Venice)(Great Value!)
$187
$174
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
$198
$161
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$809
Londra Palace
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (1,675)
Filter reviews
1,675 results
Traveler rating
1,131
462
58
14
10
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,131
462
58
14
10
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsaccademia bridgesan vio canalquiet canalwater taxithe peggy guggenheim museumshort walkdorsoduro areacanal view roomwonderful hotelthe hotel staffsmall balconyvaporetto stopwithin easy walking distanceperfect locationpastriesvenetian stylestay in venice
Filter
Updating list...
571 - 576 of 1,675 reviews
Reviewed January 14, 2014 via mobile

A lovely place. The decor is traditional, beautiful and comfortable, and the staff are very friendly and helpful. There is also an excellent buffet breakfast to keep you going throughout the day! The location is perfect too. It's away from the more touristy, busier Rialto, yet conveniently located near the Grand Canal and vaporetto services. There are plenty of local shops, cafes and restaurants as well as a supermarket which is very handy. We felt very relaxed and at home there. We'll be back!

Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
2  Thank Simon H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 13, 2014

The room was neat and tidy and the view by the canal was refreshing. The owner was helpful in guiding the best ways to reach out the attraction nearby and avoid queues by paying for a special queue pass (i.e. paying just half a euro). Very close to the Accademia.

Room Tip: Book the one by the canal on the first or 2nd floor that is next to the restaurant before the hotel.
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Navo_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 8, 2014

We stayed here on the recommendation of friends who spoke highly of it and we were not disappointed. Very conveniently located close to vaporetto stops, a bridge to St. Mark's square and several good restaurants. Our balcony room had views of the canals and was very comfortable. We will definitely stay here again on our next trip to Venice.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FrancoCanucks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2014

I stayed five nights at this hotel in November 2013. It is a great location in the Dorsoduro neighborhood of Venice, which is a little quieter than other parts of town. It is within walking distance to many restaurants and shops and a nearby water bus stop. Water taxis can drop you off directly in front of the hotel, at a cost of around $82 American, but a much better deal is to take the water bus. It is a very short walk to the Peggy Guggenheim museum and Accademia di Belle Arti. Venice is a walking city and you are probably a 15 minute walk to St. Mark's Square or the Rialto bridge. The hotel is in the typical Venetian style and my room was a true single, with a small twin bed. The room and bathroom were small, but clean. The staff was very helpful and gave us recommendations for places to eat, how to get places, etc. The breakfast was a typical Italian breakfast with a large selection. The restaurant next door was pricey and just ok, but one of our best meals in Venice was at the bar around the corner, Al Vecio Forner. The service was kind of like a New Yorker, not the friendliest, but the risotto was amazing.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Megan49022
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2014

The staff at this lovely side canal hotel were very sincere, kind and friendly from Marco at the front desk to the woman at breakfast. Our balcony room was nice although it could use a little updating. It was a walkup, which was somewhat inconvenient. Nice restaurant just next door. We liked this section of Venice for its cute shops, easy access to water taxis, museums, and walking distance to all other important attractions.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 401cottagegirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews