We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Small, quaint, perfect location once you get to the hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel American Dinesen
Ranked #38 of 387 Hotels in Venice
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 17, 2013

Free wifi, clean sheets and towels. The rates are expensive for what you get, but the location is ideal for seeing Venice. To get to the hotel you need to take the N2 water bus if you don't want to splure 60 Euro for taxi. It's the Lido line. Right in front of the SM Train station. Stop is Accademia. If you go by day, you see most of the major sites on the grand canal.

The location is perfect because to walk to S. Marco Plaza you pass and cross most of the famous bridges.

Room Tip: If you have luggage book lower floors. No elevator.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank champagnetraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,631)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

594 - 600 of 1,631 reviews

Reviewed August 14, 2013

We stayed for 3 nights in August.on checking in at 11.30am, we wre informed our room was ready which was very welcome. our bags were carried by a member of staff (we stayed second floor) there was no lift, but the hotel is only small so not a problem, the staff member guided us through the room, the room perhaps by Americam standards was small, however i found there was plenty of space and storage,AC was very welcome, we didn't have an adaptor but the staff gave us a complimentary 1, the minibar was reasonably priced (water/beers, same price as shops in venice) ideally located for the vaporetto and in a very quiet area but within 10mins of St MarksSq. Breakfast was typical Italian,cakes/pastries, but was varied. I would definitely recommend as very good value for money in Venice.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank natchaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2013

There are two properties in this hotel connected by a small bridge. The hall ways of our building and our room had a strong chemical smell that we could not quite place but made staying inside the room difficult. We ended up staying out as much as possible and made our trip to Venice uncomfortable. This made us realize that a comfortable hotel is so important to a trip. We have not stayed at a hotel where there was this kind of odor that made staying in the room so uncomfortable.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank 412Hpl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2013

We stay at one of the apartments that they have available just a few steps from the hotel. We were attracted to the fact that we could all stay together and the washer. Hardly used the kitchen but it was well equipped. Apartment was clean and spacious, however, the beds were very hard. Location was great. Accademia neighborhood is very nice, little shops and cafes. Nearby Zattere great for an evening stroll and dinner. No complimentary breakfast is available for the apartments (since they have a kitchen and they assume you want to cook??) but there is a great cafe on the way to the vaporetto station (Accademia) which was more fun! Nice walk to St. Mark's Square.

Room Tip: Street is fairly quiet, very quaint. Apartment #3 has no view. Apt #1 and 2 are facing the canal.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mari-ece1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2013

We stayed at the hotel Aug 3-5. My husband and I, as well as our two teenaged daughters (16 and 18) all shared a superior quadruple room with balcony. Ample room and storage for all of us. Good WiFi. Excellent bathroom, Great pillows, comfy bed (King plus two twin beds) Excellent breakfast.
There is no elevator- we had psyched ourselves up for the climb to the fourth floor with 4 very heavy bags, but a wonderful front desk attendant would not allow us to carry them up- another staff member brought them to our room. The hotel has its own watertaxi stop, which was wonderful, as I could arrange transportation from our cruise ship directly to the hotel. We walked everywhere- 10 minutes from St Marks square, just steps away from the Guggenheim, and only about 20 min walk to Rialto bridge/market area. Will definitely return. Very safe, quiet area just steps away from all the action!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Maria P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2013

Had a lovely room with balcony overlooking the canal. The room is air conditioned and the week we were there it needed to be! Location is great as it is quiet and close to one of the only three bridges over the Grand Canal so very useful for getting around. Also only about 5-10 mins from the Customs House, one of the best views in Venice even though not that busy.

Only downside was a pretty functional breakfast, which was not kept stocked up. The main waitress serving though was outstanding - it was just not feasible for her to do everything!

Room Tip: Go for a balcony!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Martin C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2013 via mobile

We paid for superior double room with small balcony looking upon San vio canal, clean, Venetian style, small bathroom. We did take their free water taxi to murano and had a lovely time on the island. Staff also recommended an opera set in old private residence on the grand canal, it was hard to find but worth the effort, professional musicians/opera in a home setting. Guggenheim museum beautiful! We drove to Venice and were relieved to find good/easy/large/safe parking at pizzale roma garage; with the vaporetto stop just across the way. We could use the vaporetto for all transportation. Found the restaurants on other side of academia bridge to be more of the food/wine experience we wanted. Breakfast was ok, wifi good, ac was acceptable.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Alice S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Venice hotels
Dorsoduro / Accademia
Ca' Pisani Hotel
Ca' Pisani Hotel
#16 of 387 in Venice
1,907 reviews
Hotel Canal Grande
#9 of 387 in Venice
2,183 reviews
Santa Croce
Hotel Moresco
Hotel Moresco
#2 of 387 in Venice
1,997 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Dorsoduro / Accademia
Palazzo Veneziano
Palazzo Veneziano
#20 of 387 in Venice
283 reviews
Cannaregio
Ai Mori d'Oriente Hotel
Ai Mori d'Oriente Hotel
#32 of 387 in Venice
2,500 reviews
Castello
Hotel Savoia & Jolanda
Hotel Savoia & Jolanda
#79 of 387 in Venice
1,917 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel American Dinesen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel American Dinesen

Address: Via San Vio 628 | Dorsoduro District, 30123 Venice, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > Dorsoduro / Accademia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#26 Luxury Hotel in Venice
#35 Romantic Hotel in Venice
Price Range: $100 - $422 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel American Dinesen 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Superior three star Hotel in Dorsoduro, the "Art District" of Venice. The hotel is located between the Acadamy of Fine Arts (Accademia di Belle Arti) and the "Peggy Guggenhiem Collection".The House lies in front of San Vio Canal, with his private dock for taxi and gondolas. Highly requested are the superior canal view rooms with balcony, where customers can enjoy a nice view of San Vio Canal and (some of them)a partial view of the Grand Canal. Free wifi internet access in the room and also public areas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel American Dinesen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
American Dinesen Hotel
American Dinesen Venice
American Hotel Venice Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing