We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel American Dinesen
Ranked #37 of 387 Hotels in Venice
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 7, 2013

Stayed for a week during November 2012.Fantastic location and within walking distance to all the attractions so perfect in that respect. Getting there from the airport we decided to take private taxi which is not that more expensive than the water bus and definitely worth while as they speed through the narrow water ways and get to see a lot of Venice. Service was average/good however one particular person on the front desk was quite rude and we tried to avoid him at all costs. Rooms were a good size for Venice but was in need of a fresh coat of paint. Breakfast was a bit limited however great that it was included in the price of the room. Coffee was awful.

Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Mark E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,644)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

621 - 627 of 1,644 reviews

Reviewed July 4, 2013

Stayed here for my first time in Venice. Nice hotel, pricey, but all hotels here are. The rooms are very neat, the walls are lined with fabric. The beds are comfortable and the AC works very very well. Bathrooms are modern and nicely furnished. The staff is polite and helpful with the exception of one front desk person. Took a shared water taxi to the hotel which was 60 euro for 2 people. Well worth the incremental cost to the water bus as it cuts an hour off the travel time.

Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank easyman1211
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 19, 2013

Me and my wife stayed in the there just two days.
THe Hotel is great, excelent location, near to best places.
The service was really nice, everybody was so gentle.
We did not need anything else.
Hope to come back some day.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rmalvarenga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2013

We just returned from Italy 2 days ago. We were in Rome first and enjoyed a great stay there, but when we went to Venice this hotel was not so good. Our air conditioning did not work properly and we were warm at night. The breakfast is ok but only cold foods on it. The desk receptionist was not helpful at all, as a matter of fact she was slightly rude. The location was great. The room was good. But to us, people make the difference and for the price we paid to stay here we expected friendly staff. We cannot believe that this is a 3 star hotel or the price they charge on the weekend. Very disappointed!!

Room Tip: We stayed in a triple room with a canal view. It is quaint but not worth the extra money for the vie...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MissSG2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
American-Dinesen, Manager at Hotel American Dinesen, responded to this reviewResponded June 19, 2013

Dear Mrs S.

We truly regret to learn that you did not enjoy your stay in our Hotel American Dinesen. Our guests usually appreciate the service, I will talk with the reception staff about your complaint. I have took note about your suggestion regarding the breakfast. Glad to know that you enjoyed the service provided by the porter and by the breakfast staff.
Regarding the air conditioning its' strange as it's working properly in the room you have stayed in ( i have personally checked ) and the entire Hotel, infact nobody else complaint about that this w/end. Have you reported this problem to the reception while you were here ? As i cannot see any maintenance "advice" provided by you while you were here.
Hoping to have the possibility to welcome you back in our Hotel
With kind regards, We remain at your service.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 16, 2013

Great location, much quieter than other areas of the city, large enough room with good a/c. The bathroom would have been an ok size if the bidet was not there but it was pretty cramped. Beware of the phone, thought about trying a credit card call but decided against it. Still was charged for a 20 minute call even though I hung up once I reached the operator. Cannot blame them for it but be careful. They were also very accommodating of a problem with one of my credit cards.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jeff R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 12, 2013

Well located 2 minutes' walk from the Accademia Bridge on the Dorsoduro side of the Grand Canal, which made it a bit calmer than on the San Marco side. I had a lovely view of the little canal outside the hotel and down to the Grand Canal. The room was quite small for the price and the bathroom absolutely tiny, but I guess this is Venice. It was clean and reasonably well equipped with nice painted wooden furniture. The lady dealing with breakfast was lovely. Breakfast was fairly basic, given it was 3* and also the price of the hotel, I thought they could have had a bigger selection. The only real down side though was one of the ladies on reception. I don't know why she thought it was OK to behave in such an offhand manner, but it did put a dampener on the stay. It costs nothing to smile and be friendly and helpful to all your guests and provide information with some generosity. It turns out that there were other tours available for which the hotel had leaflets that might have suited me a bit better than the one I ended up booking. I still enjoyed what I did, but I couldn't help but feeling she had forgotten the industry she is in is "hospitality."

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank holidayqueen21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 12, 2013 via mobile

We stayed 3 nights at the Hotel American Dinesen in June 2013 and found it to be a fine choice. The price was affordable, and the view from the room was fantastic! We paid for a full canal/partial Grand Canal view and weren't disappointed. We were in room 102 and had two balconies that faced a quiet canal, and a third balcony that faced the Grand Canal with a view of San Marco Square tower.

The room had two double beds pushed together which was comfortable for two adults (it seemed as big as a king size bed). The room was fairly small but we were able to use the dressers and closets so that our luggage was out of the way. The room also had a coffee maker (with Nescafé instant...ick), a mini fridge with some room to add your own items), a smallish room safe, and a bidet in the bathroom.

Decor was...pink! Walls were covered in fabric and the lights were ornate - all of which we attributed to Venice interior design. Certainly not our style, but it really didn't matter because we only used our room to sleep and wash up in. Otherwise we were constantly walking around Venice. For those purposes the hotel fit our needs. It was a quiet room in a quiet hotel on a quiet canal, with comfortable beds and helpful staff.

We had breakfast included and it suited our needs. A fairly large buffet, but no cook-to-order items. Coffee was particularly good, and wait staff was always pleasant.

We really liked the location of the hotel. It was in the Dorsoduro area, which was a little less hectic than San Marco, but was an easy 10 minute walk across the Ponte d'Academia bridge to the San Marco Square and the attendant touristy things. It's a short 5 minute walk to the Peggy Guggenheim Museum or to the Academia Vaparetto station.

One bit of advice: take the 30 minutes to learn at least a few phrases of Italian before visiting Italy. Just the basics like greetings, thanks, goodbye. Most Venezians we met spoke perfectly fine English, but it reflects well on you and your country by showing a modicum of respect to your hosts.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dyeworks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Venice hotels
Dorsoduro / Accademia
Ca' Pisani Hotel
Ca' Pisani Hotel
#15 of 387 in Venice
1,926 reviews
Dorsoduro / Accademia
Palazzo Veneziano
Palazzo Veneziano
#16 of 387 in Venice
311 reviews
Hotel Canal Grande
#9 of 387 in Venice
2,213 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Dorsoduro / Accademia
Hotel Palazzo Stern
Hotel Palazzo Stern
#21 of 387 in Venice
1,771 reviews
Santa Croce
Hotel Moresco
Hotel Moresco
#3 of 387 in Venice
2,020 reviews
Castello
Ca' dei Dogi
Ca' dei Dogi
#19 of 387 in Venice
864 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel American Dinesen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel American Dinesen

Address: Via San Vio 628 | Dorsoduro District, 30123 Venice, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > Dorsoduro / Accademia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#26 Luxury Hotel in Venice
#35 Romantic Hotel in Venice
Price Range: $132 - $457 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel American Dinesen 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Superior three star Hotel in Dorsoduro, the "Art District" of Venice. The hotel is located between the Acadamy of Fine Arts (Accademia di Belle Arti) and the "Peggy Guggenhiem Collection".The House lies in front of San Vio Canal, with his private dock for taxi and gondolas. Highly requested are the superior canal view rooms with balcony, where customers can enjoy a nice view of San Vio Canal and (some of them)a partial view of the Grand Canal. Free wifi internet access in the room and also public areas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel American Dinesen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
American Dinesen Hotel
American Dinesen Venice
American Hotel Venice Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing