We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved it!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel American Dinesen
Ranked #36 of 385 Hotels in Venice
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 13, 2008

We loved the Hotel American Denisen. We highly recommend it.

We arrived by water taxi to the hotels private dock. The concierge and porter were outside waiting by the dock to give us a wonderful welcome. Our first impressions were excellent. The porter (who was wonderful through our entire stay there) was there to assist us with our luggage. He didn't speak English, but came into the room and showed us the electric shutters/blinds. And all with a friendly smile.

We had a canal side room on the 2nd floor - we loved it. The little balcony was a perfect place to soak up a little sun and read. The room was beautiful and felt very homey. The bathroom was immaculate. Beds were a bit too hard for our taste, though. Since it was a bit warm, we slept with the balcony door ajar and could hear church bells ringing in the distance - a great way to wake up.

The desk staff/ concierge were friendly and helpful at all times, even just coming and going - always asked us how the day was and if we were enjoying Venice. Recommended a great place for dinner on our last night.

The hotel is in a beautiful area, much to see in Dorsoduro. We loved the area. We spent lots of time strolling on the Zattere. Very accessible to San Marco - an easy walk, in fact.

Breakfast in the hotel was my favorite in Italy (we stayed in a few other cities that were definitely not as good for breakfast). It was relaxed and quiet, coffee was amazing! The breakfast room wasn't at all crowded, nothing was rushed. Food was very well presented and delicious.

Very much enjoyed the decor of the hotel, as well. Nicely done in Venetian style. The facility seemed to be very well cared for.

Our stay at the American was by far the most relaxing and enjoyable during our time in Italy.

  • Stayed: May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank Magmosh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,606)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,046 - 1,052 of 1,606 reviews

Reviewed April 19, 2008

we arrived by water taxi from the airport ,great experience even if it was 90 euros each way well worth it for four of us,hassle free and the hotel has a private dock.The night porter was there immediately to help us with our bags and took them up to the room for us without us asking.The room was excellent , I had asked for a quad room on the 1st floor which we got,room 112 very spacious a king size double and 2 twins seperated by an archway like a suite. Breakfast good . Location of hotel ideal, close to cafes, restaurants, shops, art galleries, water bus stops and out of tourist area.We walked everywhere not a problem even with teenagers! All the staff were very helpful . The hotel was very clean and of high standard for a 3 star, we usually stay in 4 stars(I am fussy) . I would not hesitate to recommend this hotel and would return.

  • Stayed: April 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank comocrazy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 12, 2008

We stayed at the American for our daughters 21st birthday as a suprise and what a surprise it was! It was in the perfect location for getting around everywhere and the hotel was of a very high standard - we had 3 rooms booked and every room was decorated in its own unique venetian style and why this hotel is only a 3 star beats me its definately 4 star standard.
We travelled with Ryanair to Treviso and within 20 minutes of landing were on the bus to plaza roma and then by vaporetti to the Academia stop and the hotel was easy to find. We landed at 22.10 and were at the hotel at 23.30.
For out daughters birthday the hotel recommeded the restaurant Moutin about 10 minutes walk where all the locals eat and we had a fantastic meal - a bit pricey but then you are in Venice.
We booked direct with the hotel as it saved us about £100 and would definately go back

  • Stayed: April 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank DelightedKent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2008

We had a great experience at Hotel American. The Hotel was easy to find from the Accademia vaporetto stop and we only had to carry our luggage over one small foot bridge. We were travelling with our two teenaged children and booked a quad room. It was more than adequate with a king sized bed in one area and twins in the other. It was almost like a suite. The bathroom was not overly large but was modern and spotless. The breakfast was adequate even for our voracious 15 year old son. The staff was friendly and helpful. After navigating the route to San Marco square a few times, we didn't need the map. It was only a 10-15 minute walk but the vaporetto stop was 2 minutes from the Hotel in the event we wanted a ride. I would definitely recommend this hotel. It was reasonably priced by Venice standards and there were no glitches in our stay.

  • Stayed: March 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank pamjazz1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 29, 2008

I never got around to writing my review of this hotel. So, here goes...
This was just what I was looking for. I went with my husband to celebrate our anniversary and I was looking for a quiet, romantic reasonably priced place centrally located. Hotel American was all that and more.
Our room was decorated venetian style and a bit small. However, for the two of us it was just fine. Breakfast was included and was delightful. The staff was courteous and friendly. The hotel was also very clean.
We were able to walk everywhere due to the hotel's convenient location. And, I had been told that the streets can be loud at night but, our room didn't have any noise at all. In fact the hotel is happily situated on a quiet side street away from the busier areas. However, the down side is that the hotel was a bit difficult to find the first night when we arrived. But, we did eventually find it. And there are not many restaurants nearby so, you have to venture in the city more for a variety of restaurants. But, this is a small price to pay for the privacy and service the Hotel American has to offer. All in all an excellent place to stay for a couple.

  • Stayed: March 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank theodgers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 17, 2008

We booked this hotel based on the reviews in Expedia and they weren't wrong. This is a lovely little hotel with friendly staff and a good buffet selection for breakfast. It doesn't have a restaurant but in a city like Venice there are plenty of places to eat so it isn't a problem.
It is just far enough off the 'beaten track' to be lovely and quiet at night but close enough to the Accademia bridge and water bus stop to make travelling around easy by either foot or bus.
Everywhere in Venice is easy to reach by foot but if travelling to the other islands use the water bus as they are cheap and frequent.

Stayed: February 2008
2  Thank Pitt1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 7, 2008

The Hotel American is definitely the best choice in Venice. The location is excellent, the rooms are beautiful and clean and the staff is very helpful. If you book early enough, the price is fairly low, even too low for this kind of a nice hotel.
Of course the hotel has some minor faults too, like loud noise of other guests and construction work early in the morning and breakfast, which is good but only sandwiches and every day the same. But I truly doubt you can find a better ***hotel in Venice than this one.

  • Stayed: February 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank Mphlex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Venice hotels
Dorsoduro / Accademia
Ca' Pisani Hotel
Ca' Pisani Hotel
#15 of 385 in Venice
1,872 reviews
Cannaregio
Ai Mori d'Oriente Hotel
Ai Mori d'Oriente Hotel
#34 of 385 in Venice
2,441 reviews
Santa Croce
Hotel Moresco
Hotel Moresco
#3 of 385 in Venice
1,961 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Marco
Hotel Colombina
Hotel Colombina
#53 of 385 in Venice
1,899 reviews
Cannaregio
Arcadia Boutique Hotel
Arcadia Boutique Hotel
#26 of 385 in Venice
894 reviews
San Marco
Hotel Saturnia & International
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel American Dinesen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel American Dinesen

Address: Via San Vio 628 | Dorsoduro District, 30123 Venice, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > Dorsoduro / Accademia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#16 Family Hotel in Venice
#24 Luxury Hotel in Venice
#35 Romantic Hotel in Venice
Price Range: $122 - $381 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel American Dinesen 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Superior three star Hotel in Dorsoduro, the "Art District" of Venice. The hotel is located between the Acadamy of Fine Arts (Accademia di Belle Arti) and the "Peggy Guggenhiem Collection".The House lies in front of San Vio Canal, with his private dock for taxi and gondolas. Highly requested are the superior canal view rooms with balcony, where customers can enjoy a nice view of San Vio Canal and (some of them)a partial view of the Grand Canal. Free wifi internet access in the room and also public areas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Agoda, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel American Dinesen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
American Dinesen Hotel
American Dinesen Venice
American Hotel Venice Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing