We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel American Dinesen
Nearby Hotels
$256
NH Hotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
Savings alert! 16% below average rates

The price you found is 16% lower than this hotel's average rate of $305/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$318
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$335
$259
Hilton
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
$259
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$199
$125
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Savings alert! 29% below average rates

The price you found is 29% lower than this hotel's average rate of $176/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$249
$205
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$253
$208
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Savoia & Jolanda(Venice)
$255
$204
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Arlecchino Hotel(Venice)(Great Value!)
$290
$124
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
Savings alert! 13% below average rates

The price you found is 13% lower than this hotel's average rate of $142/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$936
$776
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (1,696)
Filter reviews
1,696 results
Traveler rating
1,151
463
58
14
10
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,151
463
58
14
10
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsaccademia bridgesan vio canalcanal viewwater taxithe peggy guggenheim museumshort walkdorsoduro areasmall canalquiet sidequiet areawonderful hotelthe hotel staffvaporetto stopwithin easy walking distanceperfect locationpastriesvenetian style
Filter
Updating list...
689 - 694 of 1,696 reviews
Reviewed April 7, 2013

We stayed in the Dependance, which adjoins the main hotel. This is a great area to stay if you have a mobility issue, as there are only a couple of small steps at the entrance. The price in off season was wonderful, and the rooms were incredibly spacious. There is even an outside patio (though we didn't take advantage as the weather was not great while we were there). The bathrooms were really stylish, the beds very comfortable, and it felt downright luxurious for a bunch of budget travelers. The location is wonderful, (it's on a lovely and quiet section of canal), and very close to everything. We enjoyed the complimentary Murano glass tour- it is a sales attempt, but you don't have to buy anything and it didn't feel overly pushy. The only wish I have is that breakfast would be included in the stay at the Dependance. But not really a true complaint as it allowed us to discover a delicious bakery down the street.

Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
Thank JScarboro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 31, 2013

Five stars. We just loved this charming hotel. Marco and the entire staff were simply outstanding and so helpful from our checkin to departure. The room was immaculate, comfy bed to huge bathroom. The breakfasts were superb -- hard to decide among the many wonderful choices. A five minute walk to the Accademia vaporetto stop and the quiet little neighborhood made us feel at home. Shops and restaurants are just short walks We can't wait to go back! Bravo!

Room Tip: Since it lacks an elevator, you might want a room on the first floor.
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rich6p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 25, 2013

This is a very nice, small, quiet hotel, helpful staff and lots of breakfast choices. Price is very reasonable for Italy. Good location right near the Academia water taxi stop, and a 10 minute walk to San Marco and other important sites. We stayed there 20 years ago with our daughter who was then 20 months old. We were just there again (March, 2013) with our daughter--now age 21. Only caution: probably not a place for someoen with a serious disability as there is no elevator.

Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
Thank Larry K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 18, 2013

With a number of hotel options and reviewing a number of Trip Advisor reviews we settled on Hotel American-Dinesen for our stay in four-night stay in Venice. We had no regrets. This hotel is fabulous and offers great value.

First of all, the hotel is exceptionally well located on a very quiet canal off the Academia vaperatto stop. We opted for the ‘canal view’ room and our room overlooked this charming and quiet canal. Given you spend most of your day sight-seeing – you may or may not find a benefit of paying the extra monies for the view but it was nice way to start the day to roll back the curtains and stand on the balcony and check things out.

The rooms are small. NYC small. But well layed out. The room was immaculate and well furnished and frankly looked better than the photos on the website. The bed was very firm and had firm pillow. My girlfriend did not like the bed (two singles put together) but it was fine. The room had a very well equipped bathroom with a tiny shower with barely room to turn around but it was fine and had plenty of hot water. A U.S. power outlet was available in the bathroom for charging our phones and other items and was appreciated. The A/C unit worked great. The room had black-out shades that came down with a button, which was nice.

Where this hotel shines, is the staff. They work very hard to make your experience a great one from the moment you check in, for breakfast service, making reservations for restaurants, giving directions, and more. I just very impressed by their team – it’s a dedicated group.

The breakfast service offers the basics – cereals, bread with meats and cheeses, pasties, juices, fruits, and more. More than adequate.

As an aside, we booked our room right on their website and it gave us the option to add a fresh basket of strawberries and bowl of fruit to be ready in our room upon arrival for an extra fee. This was nice getting off a long flight from the U.S. to have this waiting in our room.

Overall, this is one of the best combinations of value/price/location/amenities I have experienced in my European travels. Really a great hotel – I highly recommend it. You are close to all the major attractions – Guggenheim (minutes away), a short vaparetto ride to St. Marks, etc.

Room Tip: Keep in mind Canal View rooms cost more but keep in mind if you are sightseeing all day - having the view may not make a difference.
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank mjohns7861
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 14, 2013 via mobile

Five stars all over! What more can I say? Clean comfortable rooms, excellent location, and special thanks to the hotel's staff and management for making this stay very pleasant! Make sure you do the complimentary tour of Murano glass factory ( You don't need to buy anything at the end).

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mourad A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews