We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel American Dinesen”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel American Dinesen
Ranked #34 of 385 Hotels in Venice
Certificate of Excellence
Portland, Maine
1 review
“Hotel American Dinesen”
Reviewed July 24, 2012

Very clean in charming location next to Academia and behind the Gugenheim. We took the water bus to Zattere stop one 'block away' but could also have taken a water taxi to the door. Staff friendly and accomodating. Included breakfast was wonderful. Biggest surprise was the neighborhood. At night after the museums have closed and the tourists have left, the locals come out and walk their dogs down the alleys. Local shops are fine arts and antiques rather than curios.

Room Tip: Corner room was fantastic. Not noisey.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank IRN2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,555 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,037
    443
    53
    14
    8
See reviews for
340
797
50
26
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (277)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
sweden
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2012

great hotel. nice staff. would have liked better directionals from the water taxi port directing better to the hotel, as for first time venice visitors all the cobbled streets can look the same. GREAT breakfast. GREAT espresso. apartment was awesome. room was awesome. beautiful decor in rooms with classic venecian style.

Room Tip: our apartment faced the main walkway and it was fine. our room had a little balcony and had an alley...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank yamini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fort lauderdale
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed July 19, 2012

Beautiful decor, excellent location away from the Rialto/San Marco nonsense, great waterbus options with Acdemia/Zattere, nice air conditioning, friendly staff, wonderful breakfast. I was even impressed by the formal attire of the hotel staff. Only issue is that it is a bit costly but I guess that is Venice. I highly recommend this hotel and would stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gator69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 17, 2012

My 2-night stay at this (3-star) hotel was very pleasant. The central location is convenient to the cruise terminal (Zattere water bus stop), the Academia stop on the Grand Canal and San Marco. The room was comfortable, clean and well equipped - and larger than I expected after coming from Rome. The included breakfast is excellent and the desk clerk was friendly and very helpful with tourist information. It is located on a side canal and water taxis (an expensive option) can pick you up at the front door.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bfs3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, NY
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed July 16, 2012

We can confirm the good press from the books and tripadvisor after a great stay. The hotel delivered a good room and excellent staff but the location made it worth trying.

The hotel is in the middle of the Grand Canal with a short walk to a bridge across and access to multiple Vaporetto lines. We moved by foot, traghetto, and Vaporetto to St. Marks and everywhere else we wanted to get without problems. The hotel has easy access to multiple Vaporetto lines from a stop about 2 blocks away that went to the big sites and another within 100 yards for faster trips to the outer islands. It was in a quiet spot but had excellent squares within 3-5 minutes.

The room was well kept if a bit worn. The bed was only fine with a standard older mattress and linens. The AC worked well as did everything in the bathroom, TV, closet, safe, and minibar. They include internet access with no charge which is always appreciated. We paid the little extra and enjoyed the little balcony with a view of the Grand Canal. The bathroom was recently renovated.

The staff was very good. The desk staff offered excellent English and were engaging about visiting sights and restaurants. The gentleman who was at the desk during most of the day shift was particularly helpful with directions and suggestions. The team who worked breakfast were quick and always smiling and our room was clean.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank w12345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
41 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed July 16, 2012

We stayed here for three nights in early June and would not fault anything about our time there. We arrived early after our overnight sleeper train from Paris and were pretty weary. However our room was ready and although a bit small was clean and had everything we needed. The location of the hotel is ideal just a couple of minutes round from the Accademia bridge and close to a couple of good restaurants - Al Vecio Marangon and San Trovaso.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Willjack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level 6 Contributor
207 reviews
84 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed July 15, 2012

Just finished a nice visit in Venice. Hotel American was great find. It was in the Desodora area, across the grand canal from St. Mark's and the shopping. The hotel area was quiet, which was very nice, but yet any easy walk to Rialto and St Marks. The room was decorated in Venetian fabrics, a bit on the small size, but very comfortable (a/c worked great). Breakfast was good and would definitely stay here again. An added bonus was being able to see the fireworks from our bedroom balcony as we were there for the City's annual festival.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Craig S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Venice hotels
Dorsoduro / Accademia
Ca' Pisani Hotel
Ca' Pisani Hotel
#16 of 385 in Venice
1,784 reviews
Cannaregio
Ai Mori d'Oriente Hotel
Ai Mori d'Oriente Hotel
#32 of 385 in Venice
2,305 reviews
Dorsoduro / Accademia
Ca' Maria Adele
Ca' Maria Adele
#7 of 385 in Venice
638 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Marco
Hotel Saturnia & International
Santa Croce
Hotel Moresco
Hotel Moresco
#2 of 385 in Venice
1,889 reviews
Dorsoduro / Accademia
Charming House DD724
Charming House DD724
#4 of 385 in Venice
767 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel American Dinesen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel American Dinesen

Property: Hotel American Dinesen
Address: Via San Vio 628 | Dorsoduro District, 30123 Venice, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > Dorsoduro / Accademia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#16 Family Hotel in Venice
#23 Luxury Hotel in Venice
#35 Romantic Hotel in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel American Dinesen 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Superior three star Hotel in Dorsoduro, the "Art District" of Venice. The hotel is located between the Acadamy of Fine Arts (Accademia di Belle Arti) and the "Peggy Guggenhiem Collection".The House lies in front of San Vio Canal, with his private dock for taxi and gondolas. Highly requested are the superior canal view rooms with balcony, where customers can enjoy a nice view of San Vio Canal and (some of them)a partial view of the Grand Canal. Free wifi internet access in the room and also public areas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel American Dinesen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
American Dinesen Hotel
American Dinesen Venice
American Hotel Venice Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing