We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location!”
Review of Albergo San Marco

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Albergo San Marco
Ranked #206 of 385 Hotels in Venice
Texas
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Great location!”
Reviewed July 2, 2013

We stayed at this hotel for two nights before our cruise and the location was fantastic. Just steps from Piazza San Marcos. The rooms are small, however, we just wanted a place to sleep and for us it was perfect. We spent the whole day walking in Venice and just came to the hotel to sleep. We had all our meals outside of the hotel since we wanted to experience the local cuisine.

Room Tip: Our room was on the third floor and overlooked one of the streets. The room was quiet and did not h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alex628
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

877 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    98
    351
    235
    108
    85
See reviews for
187
470
20
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 29, 2013

Except for the fact that it was located in the best place a Tourist could hope to get, the hotel itself was a big let down. It was basic, rooms were small and cramped and the worst - the very worst were the front office staff - two senior guys actually. I have never met a ruder and nastier bunch than the two old men who sat there. From barking out instructions about the hotel upon check in, rudely telling us when to get down for breakfast and nearly jumping down our throats when we asked if there was a possibility of a late check out.... these take the cake. Because of their location they really feel they can get away treating the customer shabbily.

Room Tip: Interconnected rooms if you are a family and need a 3rd bed, but then the two rooms are tiny.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Pran S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St Albans
Level 5 Contributor
36 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2013

We stayed in May for 5 nights. Located just off St Marks Square it gets 10/10 for location. the hotel is quite basic and 'old fashioned'. But it was good for what we wanted. The breakfast is, as many other reviews have stated, rather badly organised. This is becuase there are just not enough staff on duty. The place was full when we were there but only 2 people seemed to be managing the dining room. consequently provisions were not replenished as quickly as necessary and people were constantly having to wait for croissants or eggs.. or whatever. So breakfast took quite a time! Also we were not allowed to put two tables together so that the 5 of us could sit together. we found this a bit odd, We were told it was becuase we were sitting in the 'bar' side of the dining area and that if we sat in the other side we could put tables togeher.. but that side was always full when we got down. There were not enough hangers in the wardrobe and althoth they provided more when I asked they only had 4 to spare and this was still not enough to be able to hang up 5 days worth of clothes for 2 people. Overall it was average.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gajeckyj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
19 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2013

Firstly, you can't go past this place for location and price. The location is right on the door step of st marks square and our travel agent couldn't get over the price for such as great location.

Now to the lucky part- after reading the recent reviews on here, I think we may have somehow scored ourselves a suite. We definitely only booked a basic room but thought that we must have gotten a free upgrade when we saw others accessing their rooms from the lift just off the main lobby. When we checked in, we were taken outside and around the corner and to a separate alley way. We went through a main door and up one flight of stairs. Our room was massive, by no means a luxurious suite but was more than what we needed. The furniture and decor was dated but fit the venice feel. We had 2 bedrooms plus a separate luggage room, enough room to sleep 5 but being just two of us staying there, we didn't use even half the room in the suite. We felt very special having our own little room and almost felt like we were locals in our own little apartment. I think if we had our normal room, the experience would have been vastly different. We had our breakfast in the normal dining room (maybe the rooftop was for only those on the higher level suites), the food was really basic- breads, fruit and yogurt with a couple of cold cuts, cheese slices and pastries.

Overall, I got more than I expected and the free wifi and luggage hold were added conveniences.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank brees3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orpington, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
102 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed June 23, 2013

This hotel is less than a minute's walk from St Mark's Square and it's location is perfect for a Venetian break.
Our room, on the 2nd floor, was traditionally decorated. It was clean and pleasant. The bathroom was on the compact side but perfectly adequate. The hot water took a long time to come through once you turned the tap on but was then plentiful. People on a higher floor told us that, on occasions, they couldn't get any water from the hot taps at all!
Our room looked out onto a small canal, which was quite fun.
We only ate breakfast at this hotel, fairly basic, but quite adequate.
The prices at this hotel, along with other Venetian prices, are eye-wateringly high. Six Euros for a coffee and twelve for a glass of Belini!
The free internet worked well although logging on wasn't always easy.

Room Tip: If you want hot water, stay on the 2nd floor or lower.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SteveC2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunnyvale, California, United States
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 20, 2013

First of all, from the very beginning the staff was abrupt and dismissive. The place is in need of updating. The canal view was lovely but the smell was not. At other Best Western's we have had a locked place to store luggage but here we were asked to just leave it in the side lobby. Breakfast was a disaster....not enough staff, unhappy workers, running out of everything and not replacing it....No juice, no coffee, no eggs(they ran out). Had a general feeling of dirty conditions in the public areas.....bags of laundry blocking the lobby....stepping around vacuuming.
The location was great.....the staff is not good.....not what I expect at a Best Western....Get some friendly people to work for you....also, the ad for this place shows two photos of a roof top area with several tables. One of these has a maid serving what looks like breakfast. When I asked about the roof top terrace I was told that it was attached to a private suite and not for the regular guests. Since one of the reasons that I picked this hotel was because of those two pictures I feel I was cheated....false advertising Best Western....

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gian Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Venice hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chicopee, Massachusetts
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 28, 2013

The location was just great-right off St Mark's Square but that's about all we enjoyed. Very dated but clean room. The bathroom was neat and updated. It was pointed out that we were right on the canal as the bell hop opened the window to reveal the smell of the canals and the pigeon poop on the building next door-with a big smile? Also, the brochure we have clearly shows breakfast being served on a beautiful roof top overlooking the square. The staff seemed amused that we actually thought we might eat there-we were told that the roof top restaurant is only accessible by two rooms which were already taken. I didn't see anyone on the roof and tend to think there are no dining facilities there for any rooms. At first I thought the smell is Venice, but we went to many stores and restaurants, also right on the canals, that seemed to be managing the smell better. Breakfast was on a par with other buffets we had but all staff-both restaurant and hotel seemed rather indifferent and almost put out when asked questions. St Mark's flooded on the day before we left and had me thinking that I'd be dragging my suitcase through three feet of canal water in the am. Front desk was quick to let us know that for 20 Euro his "colleague" would be happy to bring our bags to the dock. Happily for us the tide went down and we managed the 5 minute trip across the Square without spending the Euros. I'd be interested in checking out the other Best Western, close to the Hard Rock, to see if more attractive and better maintained. Their brochure is very nice but then this one looked pretty good too...Happily Venice is great so not much time to wallow in a smelly and dated room.

Room Tip: Good luck to you. They were fully booked, probably due to location, so think you may just get what t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Katrina D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Venice hotels
San Marco
Hotel Royal San Marco
Hotel Royal San Marco
#205 of 385 in Venice
1,031 reviews
San Marco
Cavalletto & Doge Orseolo
San Marco
Ambassador Tre Rose
Ambassador Tre Rose
#273 of 385 in Venice
236 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Marco
Hotel Noemi
Hotel Noemi
#198 of 385 in Venice
412 reviews
San Marco
San Marco Palace Suites
San Marco Palace Suites
#252 of 385 in Venice
211 reviews
San Marco
Hotel Orion
Hotel Orion
#106 of 385 in Venice
783 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Albergo San Marco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Albergo San Marco

Property: Albergo San Marco
Address: Sestiere San Marco 877, 30124 Venice, Italy (Formerly BEST WESTERN Albergo San Marco)
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > San Marco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #206 of 385 Hotels in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Albergo San Marco 3*
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, ACCOR, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Hotwire, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and HRS so you can book your Albergo San Marco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Albergo San Marco Hotel Venice
Best Western Hotel Venice
Best Western Venice
Venice Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing