We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Spend your vacation dollars somewhere else” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Albergo San Marco

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Albergo San Marco
Ranked #216 of 385 Hotels in Venice
Chilliwack BC
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Spend your vacation dollars somewhere else”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 1, 2012

Booked 2 nites here originally then added a 3rd nite 2 days before we were to arrive as we thought we needed it. Turns out we didnt but wouldnt let us cancel it even tho we were still staying the original 2 nites and they charged us the three nites. Wouldnt have minded so much if the hotel was worth it but simple put, it wasnt.

Small, old rooms and very dated decore. Bathrooms redefine the word small. Breakfast poor (at best) and probably the worst coffee ive had in my life.

All of which can be overlooked it you were made to feel like a guest. However we felt from most staff like we were an imposition and the nite front desk man was simply rude.

Have stayed at 4 BW properties on this trip. All others rated good to great - this one, a complete waste of money

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SdcuthChilliwackBC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

787 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    79
    313
    213
    102
    80
See reviews for
167
419
18
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 28, 2012

While this hotel is conviently located to the Plazza San Marco, the hotel definately needs some upgrades. Our room was adequate, but right over a street, so noise was an issue all night. The service lacked from our arrival, Instructions given quickly, and not thorough, so we missed out on a 15 % discount at their restaurant. Breakfast was ok, coffee not so good.Marco in the Lounge is great ! Wi fi was a pain, because you had to continually log in with a long password. And not their fault, on daY TWO, the area flooded with at times having to wask in 2 feet of water. At least we saw some of the beautiful sights of Venice the first day. If you are all all challanged with accessability, be sure you are with someone.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Deanna J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
369 reviews
80 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 195 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 27, 2012

Not a bad hotel which is a stone's throw from St Marks Sq, however its central location does not mean a restful nights sleep as the rooms overlook the main throroughfares which can be noisy either late at night with tourists and locals or early morning with workers hand carting up and down the bridge to the canal nearby.

Breakfast can be chaotic and is very much a disappiontment with frozen reheated rolls and average selection of fruit and salami, (would recommend saving your money and have breakfast in one of the market porters cafes in the Rialto food market as I had a great value breakfast for 7euros).

Overall, great for location, rooms are average, service hit and miss, avoid breakfast.

Room Tip: 503 for a room with a roof top view
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Biriyaniboy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterford, Ireland
Level Contributor
37 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2012

We spent hours sitting out on the balcony basically on the gondola station. This busy station is home to one tenth of all the gondola in Venice. San Marco square is also on the doorstep. The hotel is 2 star standard and overpriced but location is worth an extra star. Expect 4 euro city charge each when checking out.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank gatsbyscott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Altrincham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 12, 2012

We paid for the location, got a nice, quiet, comfortable hotel seconds from Piazza San Marco. Very comfortable and quiet keeping in mind the location - busiest part of Venice. Free WiFi but a pain to login every time my iPad went into sleep. Very courteous and friendly staff at reception, but totally oposite in the San Marco Restaurant where breakfast is served. Breakfast is good value for money (considering you are in Venice) but you have to be prepared to try every thing coming out of a tin. tasted the worst coffee of my life in this place.

Overall a very good experience and would return again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cjiqbal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Acton, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 4, 2012

Like others have said, this hotel you are paying for the location and it is fantastic. Seconds from San Marco square, about 10 minutes from the Rilato Bridge. You really can't beat it. There are a bunch of touristy gift shops and places to eat right by, but you can always wander and find more quiet places away from the hot spots.

A few notes of interest:
Check-in: Because we had a red-eye flight and arrived early, we had to leave our bags 2-3 hours unattended in a hallway. It seemed like everyone who checks in early needs to do this. Literally all your bags are just out in the open for anyone to take or go through... a little concerning!!!

Breakfast: The breakfast room can get busy fast and they waitress needs to bring you over the plate for the buffett. She works hard, but it's not the best system.

Rooms: They are a little tired and old. You can hear through the walls a little. But let's face it, you are in Venice to explore, not stay in your room!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ashbamf221
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, Alabama
Level Contributor
110 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2012

This hotel is overall good. We stayed for 3 nights and slept good each night. The air conditioner worked, and everything was clean. Yes the hotel looks old and has 'old' decor, but everything in Venice is old! It has the old Venetian charm and adds character.

The hotel is a few minutes' walk from San Marco square and there are many restaurants and shopping within reasonable walking distance - get away from San Marco for good food!

The hotel amenities clearly stated they offered FREE WIFI online, however, the only option I saw in the room was 10 euro/hour. I may have overlooked the free wifi. That is my only 'complaint.' (If the Wifi was indeed free and I overlooked this, then it is my mistake)

The breakfast is 6 euro/person and was worth it, in my opinion, compared to the cost of food in the area and the lack of breakfast options around.

If you want to stay near San Marco square, then I recommend this hotel. It's about a 5 minute walk from the Water Taxi pick up and there aren't too many stairs to go up/down.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jsmooney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Venice hotels
San Marco
Hotel Royal San Marco
Hotel Royal San Marco
#198 of 385 in Venice
3.5 of 5 bubbles 909 reviews
San Marco
Ambassador Tre Rose
Ambassador Tre Rose
#268 of 385 in Venice
3.0 of 5 bubbles 218 reviews
San Marco
Cavalletto & Doge Orseolo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Marco
Hotel Noemi
Hotel Noemi
#205 of 385 in Venice
4.0 of 5 bubbles 377 reviews
San Marco
Hotel Firenze
Hotel Firenze
#77 of 385 in Venice
4.5 of 5 bubbles 621 reviews
San Marco
San Marco Palace Suites
San Marco Palace Suites
#261 of 385 in Venice
3.5 of 5 bubbles 199 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Albergo San Marco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Albergo San Marco

Property: Albergo San Marco
Address: Sestiere San Marco 877, 30124 Venice, Italy (Formerly BEST WESTERN Albergo San Marco)
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > San Marco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #216 of 385 Hotels in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Albergo San Marco 3*
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Albergo San Marco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Albergo San Marco Hotel Venice
Best Western Hotel Venice
Best Western Venice
Venice Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing