We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Comfortable and Good Location!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Albergo San Marco

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Albergo San Marco
Ranked #215 of 385 Hotels in Venice
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
30 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Comfortable and Good Location!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 26, 2012

Stayed here in April 2011 and was what we needed basically. The room was comfortable and our room had a bathroom that was relatively well kept. I have travelled throughout Italy and so my expectations were met in terms of affordability.The staff were helpful and it was a hassle-free stay.Thank you to the staff and management for an affordable option in a fantastic location!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Amanda G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

787 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    79
    313
    213
    102
    80
See reviews for
167
419
18
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Western Australia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 22, 2012

My wife and I took this room in a hurry! Wrong move! We should of researched a bit more before we booked. It is run down, and it seems to have two parts to the hotel. The part we were given is the very old part with old tired furniture, terrible shower which has no pressure. Worn out carpets, AIRCON doesn't work and will never get fixed as I asked the reception twice now and have all turned a blind eye to it. Wi Fi in room work intermittently. Basically you pay ridiculous amount to stay here and wish we stayed a lil bit further from the square and got better value for money. Staff know about all these problems and will do nothing to fix any of them. Instead they tell you to write to management to sort it out!!! Don't waste you hard earned money staying here, you will be disappointed by the quality and service received.

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank GavCanOZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Venice hotels

4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Fort Collins, Colorado
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 16, 2012

The hotel is centrally located next to the Piazza. We arrived two hours before check-in and they did everything they could to clean the room and get it ready for us. The Wi-Fi was free. The staff was very friendly and the room was clean and spacious. The breakfast was only OK. They had a closet for us to store our luggage when we checked out of the hotel so we could walk around the city before we had to catch our train.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank J M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 11, 2012

We are displeased with this hotel. The beds feel like you are sleeping on box springs, the shower head is positioned so it shoots out of the shower and gets water all over the floor, the insulation in the hotel is do thin you can hear everything/everyone above, below you. The decor is old and worn down. The service is terrible. We asked the front desk for directions to a market and they we rude and wouldn't give us an answer. They act like you are an inconvenience. I would not waste money staying here.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ashley D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris
Level Contributor
22 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2012

Not a hotel that I would recommend at all. You are paying for the location and nothing else. I would rather be in a less central location and stay somewhere with standards. There were problems with smelly bathrooms, bins unemptied - used soap in the bathroom on arrival! I travelled with friends and would find them waiting for me in the lobby, long before our arranged meeting time. The musty smell in their rooms and smelly drains made it impossible to stay in their rooms. I itch when I think about the place now....

Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Voyage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlottesville, Virginia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 30, 2012

i stayed here for 6 nights in August and had to change my room 4 times
1st room too small and nowhere to put your suitcases No table and no lights inside shower
2nd room shower was leaking into bathroom area and the man took LITTLE effort in unblocking it with a TOILET PLUNGER !BUT THE LEAK WASNOT the drain.It was the seal around the shower base.I had to show him the leak!!!!!
3rd room: toilet blocked and the man used a MOP to unblock the toilet,water was everywhere and I demanded them to disinfect the bahrom floor.They refused and only chnaged my room after I threatened to call Best Western Customer Service!
4th room was the last night before we left the hotel...thank God!
man at reception was rude.In fact all of them were rude and unhelpful.They gave me wrong advise how to get to Treviso airport!
There was no hot water for 2 days! I was told to wait 30 mins ....and still there was no hot water.
Do not stay here ,city tax is high,location is good but not worth it.Stay somewhere else where you get better service,better rooms with hot water and nicer people.( It is hard find nice people in Venice!!!!! )

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jade N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greater London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
91 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 18, 2012

The Hotel is set at the back of the square, less than 50 yards away. The room was spacious, light and clean. Venetian style furnishings with flat screen tv and air con. Breakfast was continental with a good selection of cold foods. We would stay there again if in Venice.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jojo5557
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Venice hotels
San Marco
Hotel Royal San Marco
Hotel Royal San Marco
#200 of 385 in Venice
3.5 of 5 bubbles 909 reviews
San Marco
Ambassador Tre Rose
Ambassador Tre Rose
#266 of 385 in Venice
3.0 of 5 bubbles 218 reviews
San Marco
Cavalletto & Doge Orseolo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Marco
Hotel Noemi
Hotel Noemi
#206 of 385 in Venice
4.0 of 5 bubbles 377 reviews
San Marco
Hotel Firenze
Hotel Firenze
#77 of 385 in Venice
4.5 of 5 bubbles 620 reviews
San Marco
San Marco Palace Suites
San Marco Palace Suites
#261 of 385 in Venice
3.5 of 5 bubbles 199 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Albergo San Marco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Albergo San Marco

Property: Albergo San Marco
Address: Sestiere San Marco 877, 30124 Venice, Italy (Formerly BEST WESTERN Albergo San Marco)
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > San Marco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #215 of 385 Hotels in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Albergo San Marco 3*
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Albergo San Marco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Albergo San Marco Hotel Venice
Best Western Hotel Venice
Best Western Venice
Venice Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing