We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“GREAT FOR VALUE” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Montecarlo

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
BEST WESTERN Montecarlo
Ranked #93 of 387 Hotels in Venice
Certificate of Excellence
San Juan, Puerto Rico
Level Contributor
85 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“GREAT FOR VALUE”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2010

great hotel for price close to the san marcos square

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank nabilafarhat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,110 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    446
    497
    121
    28
    18
See reviews for
275
525
28
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (108)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2010

We stayed here October 3-4, prior to a cruise. We arrived early in the day and they looked after our luggage while we went for lunch. Like all European hotels, the room was small according to North American standards but extremely clean and comfortable. The hotel is about one and a half blocks from St. Marks Square.

The included breakfast was incredible including scrambled eggs, sausages, pastries and rolls, and hot coffee with hot milk.

The desk arranged for a complimentary visit for us and our friends to the famous glass works.

For the morning of our full day in Venice at our request they arranged for a well qualified guide for us for a four hour walk around Venice including taking us to areas and squares not normally visited by tourists as well as passing the line to visit the Dodge's Palace.

We awoke the morning of our departure at 8:30 a.m. to the sound of a loud siren which we learned was a warning of a combined high tide and high wind from North Africa. By 10:30 a.m. not only was St. Marks Square completely flooded, but the flooding had extended one block up to the first street above the Square.

When we checked out and arranged to meet the motor boat to take us to the cruise ship, we had to meet it at a small canal about a block away. The porter accompanied us with the luggage and helped to load the luggage on the boat. Complete courtesy.

R. J. LeClerc

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank stetsonbob_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
209 reviews
145 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 573 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2010

If you like a nice view from your bedroom window, then this hotel is not for you. Situated, as it is, in a narrow street surrounded by buildings, your outlook is most likely to be a wall or at best rooftops.

If, on the other hand, you want a room that is spotlessly clean, nicely carpeted and curtained, well furnished and with very comfortable beds, plus an equally clean bathroom with full sized bath, ultra efficient shower, sensible sized washbasin, bidet and WC, then this hotel will meet your requirements and more. In any case, who in their right mind would travel to Venice to sit in a hotel bedroom?!

Others have commented on the great location and close proximity to Piazza San Marco, the excellent breakfasts and the first class reception staff. I agree entirely with these comments and particularly so in respect of the front office staff who happily and speedily answered questions and gave useful directions by email, well in advance of our arrival.

It does not come cheap - like everything else in Venice - but it is value for money and is to be recommended.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank billyboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
224 reviews
167 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 163 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2010

This hotel is very centrally located, steps from Piazza di San Marco. Their breakfast is quite nice. Rooms are not too small, and have traditional Venetian decoration style. service at the front desk was responsive at all times.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JasmineMarti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City
Level Contributor
40 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2010

Wonderful location, less than a 5 min walk to San Marco. The staff was wonderful and the front desk was very helpful. Some rooms were very small, but cozy and clean, pay to upgrade and get a different room if you like your space. Breakfast was good, continental style with hot scrambled eggs and sausage. Overall a wonderful stay.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sisphoenix76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2010

This hotel is 5 minutes from the square. Perfect to explore and then to return to rest when the cruise ship tours come in, and then go out again. Our room was a corner with a view of the roof tops. Bath was standard with tub and shower . The breakfast was large and varied. The staff were friendly and informative.
When we checked out we still did not need to leave until 4pm. They put our suitcases up at the desk for us to pick up later.
Easy access to the water bus ,then to the bus terminal to the air port.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank ARtraveler65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
52 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2010

My sister and I took my mom to Italy for her 80th BD - we visited Rome and Venice.
Mom uses a walker or cane, (we brought both) so we were worried about her getting around in Venice.
The water busses were no problem for her to maneuver, as the folks there helped her on and off.
We stayed at the Best Western Montecarlo - it was a perfect location and didn't overextend our budget.
It is very walkable from the waterbus stop; she took it slowly with her rollator walker, and we carried her luggage.
The hotel's location is a 3-5 minute walk to San Marco Square.
There are plenty of shops and restaurants just outside the hotel, so there was no need to travel far if she didn't feel like it.
During the day, when she forgot something, we could run right back to the hotel to retrieve it.
The hotel has a lift, so she didn't have to climb stairs - it is a very small lift - fits no more than 3 people, but served its purpose.
We reserved a triple. The room was adequate, clean and had a sturdy bar in the tub for her to hold when showering. The bathroom though clean was a bit outdated with orange tile in the shower. The only other negative was the occasional noise coming from the water pipes.
The staff was courteous and accommodating and a great help with planning excursions.
We took their advice on which gondola ride to try and were extremely pleased.
Mom also enjoyed the tour the hotel offered to the Murano Glass Factory.
The breakfast was generous; she found plenty of enjoyable choices.
She fell in love with Venice!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jelliclegypsy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Venice hotels
Dorsoduro / Accademia
Best Western Hotel Olimpia
San Marco
Hotel Concordia
Hotel Concordia
#73 of 387 in Venice
4.5 of 5 stars 850 reviews
Castello
Hotel Colombina
Hotel Colombina
#49 of 387 in Venice
4.5 of 5 stars 1,508 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Marco
Hotel Firenze
Hotel Firenze
#80 of 387 in Venice
4.0 of 5 stars 566 reviews
San Marco
Hotel Orion
Hotel Orion
#106 of 387 in Venice
4.0 of 5 stars 649 reviews
San Marco
Ca' dei Dogi
Ca' dei Dogi
#21 of 387 in Venice
5.0 of 5 stars 651 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN Montecarlo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Montecarlo

Property: BEST WESTERN Montecarlo
Address: Calle degli Specchieri 463 | San Marco, 30124 Venice, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > San Marco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#18 Business Hotel in Venice
#75 Family Hotel in Venice
#92 Romantic Hotel in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN Montecarlo 3*
Number of rooms: 48
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your BEST WESTERN Montecarlo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Montecarlo Hotel Venice
Best Western Hotel Montecarlo
Best Western Venice
Venice Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing