We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
4 people are viewing this hotel
Booking.com
$168
Breakfast included
Priceline
$136
Vio.com
$129
Breakfast included
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,892)
Filter reviews
1,892 results
Traveler rating
903
749
173
39
28
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
903
749
173
39
28
Show reviews that mention
All reviews st marks square great location san marco square clock tower free trip to murano stay there again murano glass factory water bus visiting venice breakfast was excellent the air conditioning pastries few minutes walk central location alley calle rialto
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
249 - 254 of 1,892 reviews
Reviewed October 11, 2017

The location is ideal - cross St Mark's Square from the vaporetto, go under the clocktower, 1st right, 2nd left and the hotel is on the right.

The staff are helpful and friendly. Our friends had a problem with their shower pressure - it was dealt with that day.

The breakfast selection was good - and an additional bonus was the free afternoon tea! Delicious cakes, biscuits and macaroons; although we took advantage of this on only one day.

The rooms were a little jaded, but nothing too drastic. And we had biscuits and a bottle of prosecco on our arrival!

Room tip: Our friends had a standard room; we were in the next category up. If you can afford it, go up a stage - slightly larger, better bathroom.
Date of stay: October 2017
  • Trip type: Traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank amandaaX8605BK
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Stefano M, Direttore at Hotel Montecarlo, responded to this reviewResponded October 17, 2017

Dear Guest
thank you for leaving your review of your stay at the Hotel Montecarlo.
We are happy to hear that the issue that you experienced was quickly solved by our staff, and you enjoyed our breakfast and afternoon tea.
Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 5, 2017 via mobile


After reading great reviews for this hotel, we had high expectations, however, we were disappointed- it was very ordinary. The location is right in the middle of the tourist area, in a narrow street where thousands upon thousands of tourists stream past each day. But that’s Venice!

The room we had was dark, but was a good size. We booked a double bed, but got two singles pushed together, which kept separating (apparently every room is set up this way). Both single beds were very comfortable though. The bathroom was small, shower over the bath with very little room and certainly not suitable for a larger person. On two mornings (of our four) we were unable to obtain hot water for our showers, water was still only tepid after running the shower for 10 mins.

Housekeeping staff were regular visitors throughout the day, calling in to stock the mini bar, replace tissues, etc instead of doing this once when cleaning the room. We often had to answer the door. On two occasions staff entered our room without knocking on the door first. We would be sitting on the bed, and a face would appear at the door. Not ok.
Breakfasts were good, with plenty of choice and pleasant staff, though tables were very close together.

Overall, not a relaxing or comfortable stay.

Date of stay: October 2017
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank TwoHams
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Stefano M, Direttore at Hotel Montecarlo, responded to this reviewResponded October 10, 2017

Dear Guest
thank you for taking time to leave your opinion about your stay at the Hotel Montecarlo.
We apologize for the inconveniences you have experienced. Your report will be shared with the management, and your notes will not be left unhead.
Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2017

This excellent hotel is only 150 meters away from San Marco,
The breakfast was very good and the rooms were ok!
We recommend this hotel when you're visiting Venice!,,
The staff is very friendly and always ready to help!,

Room tip: All rooms are ok
Date of stay: September 2017
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank dirkmarield
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Stefano M, Direttore at Hotel Montecarlo, responded to this reviewResponded October 5, 2017

Dear Guest
Thank you for your review of the Hotel Montecarlo.
We're pleased to read that you recommend our Hotel and hope to have the opportunity to welcome you again in the future.
Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2017

I have lost count how many times I have been here now but it is still an excellent hotel, Friendly helpful staff, great food, clean and comfortable. It is ideally situated for St Marks Square .Attended with my daughter and 3 year old Grandson, nothing was too much trouble, well worth the cost of the holiday. Shame that Venice seems to have changed, lots of very rude people and others who look unhappy in their jobs and ensure the Customers feel the vibes.

Date of stay: October 2017
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Jan E
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Stefano M, Direttore at Hotel Montecarlo, responded to this reviewResponded October 5, 2017

Dear Guest
thank you for taking time to leave your opinion about your recent stay.
We hope to have the pleasure to have you here again in the near future.
Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2017

This hotel is just a short alley (Italian Alley that is well traveled and lit) from Piazza San Marco. This hotel is VERY Venetian. My room had throw open wooden shutters with a view of the rooftops of Venice and of the Bells at San Marco. It is reasonably prices. It has a good breakfast and an afternoon tea with snacks and drinks. the room was so adorable and had a very modern bathroom. I will always stay here as it is close to where I wish to be and it is so Venetian, friendly staff and simply wonderful.

Room tip: Get a room as high as possible with throw open shutters to enjoy the view!
Date of stay: March 2017
  • Trip type: Traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Beverly M
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Stefano M, Direttore at Hotel Montecarlo, responded to this reviewResponded October 5, 2017

Dear Guest
Thank you for your very kind words about the Hotel Montecarlo
We are pleased you had such a nice stay and you found the hotel so Venetian.
Thanks again and we hope to have the opportunity to welcome you again in the future.
Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews