We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Glad We Came”
Review of Hotel Montecarlo

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hotel Montecarlo
Ranked #86 of 385 Hotels in Venice
Certificate of Excellence
Winnipeg
Level Contributor
110 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Glad We Came”
Reviewed July 20, 2014

We spent 3 nights at the BWM prior to our departure for our cruise. It was the perfect location. The first night we had a very tiny room that was supposed to be a king sized bed. We found the bed arrangement very uncomfortable because one side of the bed was up against the wall and it sagged in the middle and was more of a double bed than a king. We asked for a switch and they took care of it right away. The room we stayed in for the remaining two nights was spacious enough for all of our luggage and with a bathroom that was nicely appointed. The people at the front desk were endlessly helpful and must surely get tired of the same questions, but it never showed. The breakfast room was a delight and the food was plentiful and tasty. I don't think you could ask for a better location. We took the Alilaguna boat from the airport (be prepared for the long walk from the airport terminal down to the docks) and got off at St. Mark's square where it was easy to navigate our way to the hotel. Once we had to leave for the cruise terminal they arranged for our water taxi, which is the best way to arrive at the terminal. The porter dragged our big bags down the couple of streets needed to get to the nearest place where the boat taxi could pick us up. If I went back to Venice I would stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank BookishBeachGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stefano M, Responsabile reception at Hotel Montecarlo, responded to this review, July 24, 2014
Dear Sir,

Thank you for your review which is very important to us to always trying to improve our performance. We are glad to know that you enjoyed the services of our hotel as well as the availability and professionalism of our staff .. Hoping to see you again soon in the city, we send our best regards.

Massimo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,319 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    543
    590
    137
    29
    20
See reviews for
334
620
34
25
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (130)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Waltham Abbey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
128 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed July 18, 2014

Just returned from a 2 night break in Venice and chose this hotel on the spur of the moment, and what a good choice it was. The location is absolutely fantastic for a city break, just around the corner from the beautiful st.marks square, and although centrally located we weren't at all troubled by any noise. The rooms are very small, however adequate for a couple of nights stay, and decorated beautifully. The staff were very friendly and helpful, and the breakfast was great. We would not hesitate to recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JojoMid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stefano M, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Hotel Montecarlo, responded to this review, July 24, 2014
Dear Sirs,

Thank you for your review which is very important to us. We are glad to know that the hotel has exceeded yours expectations. Hoping to see you soon again in the city, we send you Sir, our best regards.

Massimo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
48 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed July 15, 2014

My husband and I have just returned from a wonderful 3 night stay in this hotel. Perfect location for a city break to Venice. We travelled from the airport by water bus, the perfect way to arrive.
The staff were very friendly, helpful and had arranged a complimentary visit one morning to a glass factory in Murano
Our room was at the back of the hotel which very quiet, spacious, clean & comfortable. Good selection on breakfast buffet and will certainly return again in the future

Room Tip: rooms at the back are quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank joodz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stefano M, Responsabile reception at Hotel Montecarlo, responded to this review, July 24, 2014
Dear Sir,

We are really happy of your wonderful review. Good to know that you like very much our location and much better that you enjoyed our hotel services.

Hoping to see you soon in Venice, accept Sir our best regards.

Massimo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pearland, Texas
Level Contributor
22 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed July 13, 2014

We loved this hotel. Every member of the staff was friendly with a special shout out to Marco! The room was comfortable. The location was perfect. Easy walking to all of the landmarks. Don't miss the delicious croissants for breakfast. We will definitely stay at this hotel everytime in Venice!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lisa R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stefano M, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Hotel Montecarlo, responded to this review, July 24, 2014
Dear Sir,

Thank you very much for your wonderful review. It is very important to us to know that you appreciated our services and our hotel staff.
Hoping to see you soon again in Venice and in our House, accept Sir, our best regards.

Massimo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
89 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed July 7, 2014

If you want a great location without the stratospheric prices of some of the grander hotels, then the Montecarlo is fine. But, oh boy is it cramped. Maybe we were unlucky as our room, Room 302, would certainly be classified as a single room if it was in London. I did speak to reception about it but they said all the rooms were the same size - which now I look at other travellers photographs was simply not true. To make the bed fit the double headboard has been sawed down and the bed is pushed up against the wall. This might be fine for younger travellers but at my age I expect to walk around a bed and get into it, not have to climb over from one side. The cramped conditions slightly soured the 40th wedding anniversary trip, though the staff were fine as was breakfast. As other reviewers mentioned it is difficult to find so check Google and other reviewers directions as getting lost when you have luggage isn't fun.

Room Tip: Ask for one where you can get into bed from either side!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CMickell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stefano M, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Hotel Montecarlo, responded to this review, July 10, 2014
Dear Sir,

Thank you for your review which is always very important to improve our shortcomings. We are pleased to know that he appreciated the services of our staff and the quality of our breakfast. Hoping to get it back soon our guest, we send our best regards.

Massimo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent
Level Contributor
19 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed June 30, 2014

Venetian decor and furnishing. Very helpful and friendly staff. Substantial breakfast. Lounge are for daytime drinks and nibbles. Most important just around the corner from St Marks square. That means when you've had enough of walking and sight seeing you can nip back for rest before setting off for more.

Room Tip: We stayed in different parts of the hotel, all good. Top room at the front you can see over the Squa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ChristopherMD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stefano M, Direttore at Hotel Montecarlo, responded to this review, July 2, 2014
We are very happy to know that you have enjoyed your stay once again. We hope to see you for the fourth time very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Illinois
Level Contributor
46 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed June 28, 2014

We stayed here one night while in Venice last week The hotel was very clean, we had a Superior room which was quite large although pretty dark. We looked out at a brick wall, however it did not matter because we spent no time except to sleep in the room.
Staff was very nice. You are offered a free boat ride to a Murano glass factory upon arrival however we had no interest in that as I had already been there in the past.
The only thing I would have done differently was to take a different water bus to the hotel from the train station (we had taken the train in from Florence). We took the no. 2 bus and went all the way to the San Marco stop to get off. We had 12 stops along the way with people pouring on at every stop and it took an hour of being packed in like sardines to get to the hotel. When we left to go back to Florence we caught the no. 2 water bus at the Rialto stop and it took us directly to the train station with no stops in between. All in all it was a lovely day and evening in Venice and we would stay at the same hotel if we went back again.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ginny L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stefano M, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Hotel Montecarlo, responded to this review, June 29, 2014
Dear Sir,

Thank you very much for your nice review which is very important to us. We are glad to know that you enjoyed Venice and your stay at the Best Western Hotel Montecarlo.

Hoping to see you soon in Venice, accept our best regards.

Massimo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Venice hotels
San Marco
Hotel Concordia
Hotel Concordia
#73 of 385 in Venice
977 reviews
San Marco
Hotel Colombina
Hotel Colombina
#51 of 385 in Venice
1,798 reviews
San Marco
Hotel Orion
Hotel Orion
#110 of 385 in Venice
777 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Marco
Hotel Firenze
Hotel Firenze
#63 of 385 in Venice
710 reviews
Castello
Hotel Casa Verardo - Residenza D'Epoca
San Marco
Duodo Palace Hotel
Duodo Palace Hotel
#70 of 385 in Venice
1,483 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Montecarlo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Montecarlo

Property: Hotel Montecarlo
Address: Calle degli Specchieri 463, 30124 Venice, Italy (Formerly BEST WESTERN Montecarlo)
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > San Marco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#18 Business Hotel in Venice
#75 Family Hotel in Venice
#92 Romantic Hotel in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Montecarlo 3*
Number of rooms: 48
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Hotel Montecarlo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Montecarlo Hotel Venice
Best Western Hotel Montecarlo
Best Western Venice
Venice Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing