We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, nice hotel”
Review of Hotel Montecarlo

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Montecarlo
Ranked #84 of 385 Hotels in Venice
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 30, 2014

Pros: Clean room. Friendly staff. Comfortable beds. Tasty free breakfast. GREAT location. Murano chandeliers.

Cons: The air conditioner didn't really work-- though I should have expected that from a European hotel.

I'd stay there again.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kate M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stefano M, Direttore at Hotel Montecarlo, responded to this reviewResponded May 3, 2014

Dear Customer , thank you very much for staying with us.
We hope to have you here again soon.
Best regards - Stefano Magrini - Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,366)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Montecarlo
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

387 - 393 of 1,366 reviews

Reviewed April 27, 2014

We stayed in this Hotel for two nights. It was great value for money and very central to Saint Mark's Cathedral and Square. The rooms are spotless and the bathrooms cleaned to a very high standard. We even had a little mat to get in/out of bed laid on the floor for us and a light on preparing us for coming into the room each night after a long days sight-seeing. The staff and pleasant and helpful. They recommended Rosa Salve for coffee and cake nearby - best value for money ever - (the lunches are good too).
The Hotel's own restaurants on either side offer excellent quality food also. The Continental Breakfast offers much more than your usual - even bacon/scrambled egg, many breads, croissants, yoghurts, fruit-juice choices etc...I would definitely go back here. It is more like a 4/5 star hotel in its presentation and appearance.

Room Tip: The convenience and cleanliness of this place outweighs services it can't offer.
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 120Damo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stefano M, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Hotel Montecarlo, responded to this reviewResponded April 29, 2014

Dear Sir,

Tthank you very much for your superb review. We are very pleased to know that you enjoyed our services and that you had the impression of staying in a 5 star hotel.
Hoping to see you soon again in our House, accept our best regards.

Massimo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2014

I had a reservation at the Venice Italy B.W. Montecarlo. (Rated by Tripadvisor 107) When I arrived, I was told my room was not ready. The front desk person told me their sister property Hotel Antico Panada (Tripadvisor rated # 266) just across the street had a room immediately available. It was NOT a Best Western property. He assured me...several times...that the room quality and condition was the same at both properties. He was charming and believable. I was mistaken.

So beware...if you like a room with 1950's era carpeting, wallpaper falling off the walls, ONE electrical outlet, lumpy bed, located on level two with a walk-up one additional floor of steps that were about 2 feet wide, tasteless breakfast, a phone that did not work, front desk person who was never available, total lack of customer service, somewhat dirty and a slight smell...pick the Best Western Montecarlo OR the Panada. I was told they were exactly comparable.

Room Tip: According to the Front Desk person at the Best Western Montecarlo, and their sister hotel Antico Pan...
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank long3view
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stefano M, Direttore at Hotel Montecarlo, responded to this reviewResponded April 25, 2014

Dear Sir,
i wish to apologise once again about our mistake.
Yes because to try to grant your request of an early check in, impossible to arrange in our hotel, but possible to do in our twin hotel at the end was a big mistake.
But, pls, let me ask you: if the accomodation did not sotisfied you why you did not come back to us and wait untill your room was ready??
I hope you remember that I asked you if something was wrong to apply to me.

Hoping to see you soon back in Venice, pls accept Sir, my best regards.

Stefano Magrini

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 20, 2014

Very clean, furnished nicely, friendly staff and an amazing location.
The free breakfast offered good variety and probably saved us a bit of money.
So Close to St Marcs square and Rialto Bridge. Also there is a great ice cream parlour nearby (turn right then left then right again after exiting the hotel).

The two downsides are that the double room was quite small and the view wasn't great.
Although we didn't need a big room and it suited us fine. It would have been nice to have a canal view window but it didn't affect the stay.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Callum W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stefano M, Direttore at Hotel Montecarlo, responded to this reviewResponded April 22, 2014

Dear Sirs,

it is a plaisure to know you spent a lovely time with us.
Hoping to see you soon back in Venice, pls, accept my best regards.

Stefano Magrini

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 19, 2014

Choosing a hotel in Venice is all about location and how many canals you must cross and thus how bridges you will face (all the bridges all have steps). Hotel Montecarlo is in a perfect location, 50 yards from the main square in Venice (San Marco), so all the boats (think busses) stop there. Coming in from the airport on the Alilaguna boats, there are no stairs to climb.
Here is the trick to finding the hotel. Before you go, look at Google maps, street version. Put the little guy in front of the basilica and have him lead you through the clock tower to the first street on the right and follow him to the second left, and print out screen shots of these locations. The last street you turn into is so narrow you can easily touch the buildings on either side. The hotel is about 100 feet further down this narrow lane. Once you find the hotel, you will see there is a shortcut to the basilica that you would never find on your first time in.
It is a well-run hotel with an excellent staff. Our room was spacious and looked out over the "street." Linens were crisp and clean. The bathroom was a bit worn and the shower curtain could have been newer and cleaner, but those were our only criticisms. There was a minibar stocked with beer that was cheaper than buying on the street. An old wall safe opened with a key that the desk gives out on request.
Speaking of keys, it is shock to have a real key in this day of plastic "keys." You must leave the heavy brass holder and fancy tassel at the desk when you go out. (The keys are hung behind the desk, so at a glance you can see how many people are in or out of the hotel.)
The breakfast was fully stocked with hot and cold items plus serve-yourself coffee machines that worked very well. Two of the breakfast rooms are fitted out like glorious old railroad dining cars of Orient Express quality.
Noise was never a problem, as there were no crowds of drunks roaming around like in some cities.
The dates of our visit were April 3-8, 2014.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JandJ67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stefano M, Responsabile reception at Hotel Montecarlo, responded to this reviewResponded April 20, 2014

Ladies and Gentlemen,
Thank you for the great review and we are proud to know that our hotel and all the services offered by our staff exceeded your expectations.
Waiting to see you soon in Venice, we send you Sir, our best regards.

Massimo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 17, 2014

Stayed for 3 nights and were more than happy with the hotel. It was a little tricky to find but a waiter at a nearby restaurant pointed us in the right direction. Our rooms were spotlessly clean, beds made every day and every evening the window shutters had been closed and our bed sheets were turned down ready for us to go to bed! We felt very spoilt!!
Reception staff were all very friendly and very helpful.
Breakfast was also very good, lots to choose from, hot and cold and a variety of hot drinks too.
Decor is typically Venetian and it makes you feel like you have stepped back in time to a by-gone era but that is part of the spirit of Venice. The hotel is placed just off St Mark's Square and couldn't be better placed as everything is within walking distance and it was easy to pop back to our room to refresh etc.
Our room was at the back of the hotel and there was a little noise from the street below but not too loud or invasive and was quiet by 11pm.
We (2 adults and 17 and 19yr old daughters) all agreed if we were to visit Venice again we would book this hotel again. Have a look at the website for this hotel and the pictures will give you a feel for it's atmosphere. http://montecarlo.hotelinvenice.com/

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 522AMANDA_
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stefano M, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Hotel Montecarlo, responded to this reviewResponded April 20, 2014

Dear Sir,

Thank you for your review which is very important to always improve our services.We are really happy to read that you really appreciated our services and our house. Hoping to have you back soon our guests, accept Sir, our best regards.

Massimo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 6, 2014

Stayed four nights in the two bedroom apartment (on Calle Spadaria), which was about a two minutes walk away from St Mark's Square. Perfect location for exploring the main sights of Venice, including the Rialto Bridge, the Doges Palace, Bridge of Sighs and St Mark's Basilica - lovely that you can hear the bells of St Mark's from the apartment (although not so loud that they would keep you awake or wake you up). The apartment was an excellent size, amazingly clean and provided everything required for a self catering break. The nearby bars and restaurants offered great value for money for a city break; 2.50 Euros for a Procesco and a three course meal could easily be found for around £16 per person for excellent authentic Italian food. It's worth noting that the walk from the bus station takes around 30 - 45 minutes - depending on how fast you walk or how much luggage you have - but it's a pleasure walking through the streets of Venice, so it's not a hardship. We would definitely stay here again and would recommend it to anybody.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kimberly Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stefano M, Direttore at Hotel Montecarlo, responded to this reviewResponded April 7, 2014

Dear Sir,

nice to hear from you you spent a lovely time with us.

Hoping to see you soon back in Venice, best regards.

Stefano Magrini

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Venice hotels
San Marco
Hotel Concordia
Hotel Concordia
#74 of 385 in Venice
1,012 reviews
San Marco
Hotel Colombina
Hotel Colombina
#50 of 385 in Venice
1,860 reviews
San Marco
Hotel Firenze
Hotel Firenze
#64 of 385 in Venice
739 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Marco
Hotel Orion
Hotel Orion
#109 of 385 in Venice
804 reviews
San Marco
Hotel Dona Palace
Hotel Dona Palace
#71 of 385 in Venice
814 reviews
San Marco
Hotel a La Commedia
Hotel a La Commedia
#31 of 385 in Venice
2,045 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Montecarlo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Montecarlo

Address: Calle degli Specchieri 463, 30124 Venice, Italy (Formerly BEST WESTERN Montecarlo)
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > San Marco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#18 Business Hotel in Venice
#75 Family Hotel in Venice
#92 Romantic Hotel in Venice
Price Range: $115 - $415 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Montecarlo 3*
Number of rooms: 48
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Cancelon, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Montecarlo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Montecarlo Hotel Venice
Best Western Hotel Montecarlo
Best Western Venice
Venice Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing