We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Find” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Montecarlo

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Montecarlo
Ranked #82 of 386 Hotels in Venice
Certificate of Excellence
Turin, Italy
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great Find”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 26, 2013

I stayed at Hotel Montecarlo last year for my anniversary in June.I couldn't wait to return with my daughter this year,both to visit Venice again and to return to this charming hotel.Set in one of the nicest places in Venice,right by St.Mark's Sqaure you can't go wrong.We were allocated a top floor room on both stays and even though the ceilings are rather low you will get a view of the roof tops and if lucky the dome and bell tower,as we did.High floor rooms are quiet at any time of year.
The breakfast room is very nice with an excellent choice of food and drinks for all tastes.The waitresses clear the tables quickly so you never have to wait for a table.
The reception staff are very nice and are always ready to give you any information you require.
All in all an excellent 3 star hotel,and wouldn't hesitate in recommending it to friends.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Helen Sofia G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stefano M, Direttore at Hotel Montecarlo, responded to this review, December 30, 2013
Dear sir,
let's start thanking you for the nice review.
It gives us great pleasure to know that our hotel and our staff exceeded your expectations.
Hoping to see you soon in Venice, accept our best regards.

Stefano
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,273 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    528
    562
    135
    29
    19
See reviews for
326
599
33
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (124)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Round Rock, Texas
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 1, 2013

We stayed in this hotel for 4 nights. It has great location just couple minutes away from the San Marcos square and it is very easy to find. Rooms were clean, staff is very friendly. Small rooms but had comfortable bed to sleep. Has great breakfast included with the price. Lots of stores and good restaurants close by. We took the waterbus from the airport to the hotel with couple of heavy luggage. We didn't have to cross any bridges or climb any steps, we just rolled the bags from the bus stop to the hotel without any trouble. I highly recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank LKTexas752
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stefano M, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Hotel Montecarlo, responded to this review, December 4, 2013
Dear Sir,

Many many thanks for your nice review. It makes us very happy to know that you enjoyed Venice staying in our Hotel..

Hoping to see you soon in Venice, accept my best regards.

Massimo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 15, 2013 via mobile

My daughter and I stayed in a twin share room. We really appreciated the friendly staff, lovely room decor, nice long bath to soak in and the buffet breakfast was great. I would recommend this as a good place to stay.

Stayed November 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank sue d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stefano M, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Hotel Montecarlo, responded to this review, November 17, 2013
Dear Mrs Sue,,

Thank you very much for your review. It gives us great pleasure to know that our hotel and our staff exceeded your expectations.
Hoping to see you soon in Venice, accept our best regards.

Massimo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
92 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 12, 2013

Great location for hotel.
Easy to find.
We stayed here with extended family of around 20.
No need to eat at the hotel as restaurants are close by.
Short walk to st marks sq.
Rooms are slightly dated but clean nonetheless.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RG1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stefano M, Responsabile reception at Hotel Montecarlo, responded to this review, November 17, 2013
Dear Sir,

Thank you very much for your review. It gives us great pleasure to know that our hotel and our staff exceeded your expectations.
Hoping to see you soon in Venice, accept our best regards.

Massimo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Myers, Florida
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 11, 2013 via mobile

Staying at the Monte Carlo last week: staff gracious, helpful and definitely went out of their way for us; rooms were clean, comfortable, and the sound of the bells just enhanced the atmosphere. Breakfast was sumptuous. Location was perfect. Surrounded on either side by outstanding restaurants.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Myra H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stefano M, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Hotel Montecarlo, responded to this review, November 17, 2013
Dear Sir,

Thank you very much for your review. He gives us great pleasure to know that our hotel and our staff exceeded your expectations.
Hoping to see you soon in Venice, accept our best regards.

Massimo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
20 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 11, 2013

Ideally situated and Easy to find! We caught a water taxi from the train station to the beautiful St Marks Square and were very pleased to find our hotel a mere 5 minutes away. The staff are fantastic - ever helpful and giving solid honest advice, nothing was too much trouble for them. Comfortable character rooms and a great breakfast to start your day - We could not have asked for better. Should we be fortunate enough to return to this beautiful city we would look no further that Hotel Montecarlo for our stay.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JacquiC6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stefano M, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Hotel Montecarlo, responded to this review, November 17, 2013
Dear Sir,

Thank you very much for your review. He gives us great pleasure to know that our hotel and our staff exceeded your expectations.
Hoping to see you soon in Venice, accept our best regards.

Massimo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Big Bear Lake, California
Level Contributor
657 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 219 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 10, 2013

My wife and I stayed in Venice recently after concluding a Mediterranean cruise. I had pre-reserved a room at this hotel using my Best Western rewards membership and was able to do some research in advance regarding the location of the hotel. The hotel is situated a short walk off of St. Mark's Square, which is a great location for most things you will want to see and do. The staff (especially Dario) were very friendly and helpful at all times. The rooms are somewhat dated but clean and well maintained. (The low ceilings will unnerve you at first.) The rooms are also quiet and the church chimes in the morning do not interrupt your sleep. The only negatives are that it is not easy to find the first time as it is down one of Venice's many narrow alleys. (However, we found that most merchants in the area were very friendly and willing to give directions if/when you needed it.) And dragging your luggage on/off the vaporetto (transportation boats) can also be a pain when travelling to St. Mark's Square from the ports and/or train station. The complimentary breakfast provided by the hotel was also very good as well. My wife and I were pleasantly surprised by the quality of service and amenities at this hotel and I would recommend this hotel if you are visiting Venice.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Steven C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stefano M, Responsabile reception at Hotel Montecarlo, responded to this review, November 13, 2013
Dear Mr Steven, thank you very much for your reviews. It make us happy to know that you enjoyed your stay in our Hotel. Hoping to see you soon in Venice, accept my best regards

Massimo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Venice hotels
San Marco
Hotel Concordia
Hotel Concordia
#75 of 386 in Venice
4.5 of 5 bubbles 945 reviews
Castello
Hotel Colombina
Hotel Colombina
#50 of 386 in Venice
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,730 reviews
San Marco
Hotel Orion
Hotel Orion
#107 of 386 in Venice
4.0 of 5 bubbles 745 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Marco
Hotel Firenze
Hotel Firenze
#69 of 386 in Venice
4.5 of 5 bubbles 677 reviews
San Marco
Hotel Ala - Historical Places of Italy
San Marco
Hotel dell'Opera
Hotel dell'Opera
#98 of 386 in Venice
4.5 of 5 bubbles 532 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Montecarlo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Montecarlo

Property: Hotel Montecarlo
Address: Calle degli Specchieri 463, 30124 Venice, Italy (Formerly BEST WESTERN Montecarlo)
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > San Marco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#18 Business Hotel in Venice
#75 Family Hotel in Venice
#92 Romantic Hotel in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Montecarlo 3*
Number of rooms: 48
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Despegar.com, Cheap Tickets and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Montecarlo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Montecarlo Hotel Venice
Best Western Hotel Montecarlo
Best Western Venice
Venice Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing