We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Excellent Service & Location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Montecarlo

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
BEST WESTERN Montecarlo
Ranked #91 of 387 Hotels in Venice
Certificate of Excellence
California
Level Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Excellent Service & Location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

If you are interested in being close to San Marcos this is a good hotel. The staff is always available, friendly, courteous and helpful. The breakfast buffet was varied and provided fresh fruits, meats, cheese, eggs, toast, cereals and pastries. While the furnishing is not new, the rooms were neat, clean and fresh. We arrived on a dark andy rainning evening and our rooms were ready, no problems. Easy walk to almost anywhere, was great fun going through all streets and across the canals. We walked to the Rialto bridge, down to the Guggenheim and of course San Marcos. The front desk man arranged a water taxi to the airport, walked us to the loading area and waited until the taxi arrived. Very helpful staff. Next trip I will look into another location only because the San Marcos area is overwhelmed with tourists, even during the off season.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MrandMrsMagoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stefano M, Direttore at BEST WESTERN Montecarlo, responded to this review, April 7, 2013
Dear Sirs,

to know that your stay in our hotel was much appreciated infinitely gratifies us and pushes us to improve where possible. thank you very much and see you soon in Venice........

Best Regards
Steven
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,155 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    468
    517
    123
    28
    19
See reviews for
289
544
30
22
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (116)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

Very good zone, for those who want to stay in the center / near the San Marco. employees all very kind, friendly and helpful.
The bathroom was quite old as the whole hotel and easy to see it. The mattress is old and gave us bad time at bedtime. The breakfast was good - didn't like the coffee - it's instant coffee out of a machine.

In general we have been very disappointed about Venice and the food. In general - all stuffed and full of tourists. All made to pick the money of the tourists.
Please do yourself a favor and NEVER visit ANY restaurant offering TOURIST MENU. Yes, it's cheaper, but you don't want to know how that food was like....
Eating and drinking is VERY expensive in the center. You have to go on the other side of the Rialto or Cata D'Oro to find more economic prices and acceptable quality.
Good option was the Hard Rock Cafe indeed.
The City itself is falling into pieces. Seems like they forgot that apart of taking all the money of the tourists, they should do some maintenance on the buildings. Also Many streets and places are rather dirty and full of cigarettes.
We where truly disappointed about the famous Venice. I'd never change this for Strasbourg, Scotland, Brügge,.....

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Martin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stefano M, Proprietario at BEST WESTERN Montecarlo, responded to this review, April 4, 2013
Dear Mr Martin,
Thanking for your review, we are really sorry to read that you didn't enjoy Venice and its monuments...as you can see from our webpage, the hotel is located few steps far from San Marco Square in a XVII centuries Palace and the standard of our quality is annually verified by stringent quality controls of Best Western members....
Hoping to see you soon in Venice, accpe Mr Martin, our best regards.
Stefano
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leominster
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

So close to the major tourist attractions yet tucked down a narrow street. It was welcoming and accomodating such that I and my 21 year old daughter and 13 year old son all felt it had clean excellent facilities - including free WiFi - such that we could come and go during the day as we experienced different things. I.e. a great base which also provided peaceful nights sleep. Professional and helpful staff with a broad selection of breakfast choices. We hope to re-visit before too long and I wouldn't consider going/risking anywhere else in Venice.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Hugh F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stefano M, Direttore at BEST WESTERN Montecarlo, responded to this review, March 30, 2013
Dear Mr. Hugh,

Thanks a lot for your recent stay at our property and for your positive comments concerning our house.
We hope to see you soon again.

Best regards

Stefano Magrini
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

I stayed with my husband at the MonteCarlo. We had a standard double room. It did contain everything as described, but I think my definition of a double room is one where both people can sit down at the same time. This had one chair. If you sat on the bed to put your shoes on you risked banging your head on the dressing table. One person had to lie on the bed to allow the other one to move around the room to get dressed.
The room was too hot, and noisy if the window was opened. As it was March the air conditioning was not yet operational.
The shower room was very good, lots of water pressure (this is Venice...) and modern and well fitted out.
Downstairs the breakfast room is also cramped. Too many tables pushed in. The food was good and with a decent variety.
As this is a very centrally placed hotel I can understand that there were many people staying. But I really wouldn't recommend staying here in a basic room. We wouldn't recommend this to any friends.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank budicca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stefano M, Direttore at BEST WESTERN Montecarlo, responded to this review, March 23, 2013
Dear Sir,

We wish to thank you for your review which is very important for us. As you can see in our webpage, the hotel is a XVII Centuries Palace a few steps from San Marco with many kinds of rooms, one different from the other..we are very sorry you didn't like your accomodation because if informed we could show you immediately some other soluctions and find a room you liked better....Hoping to meet you soon in Venice, accept our best regards.

Stefano
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
20 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2013

Location excellent. Breakfast fresh and excellent, variety. Rooms were very very small. But we like compact rooms, so ok. Rooms were clean. There are a lot of takeaways for pasta , pizza so meals not a problem.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank nehamanohar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greater London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

This hotel was close to all major attractions down a tiny cobbled street just minutes from San Marco Piazza. Breakfast was varied and very fresh and all staff were very friendly and helpful.
Our room was very clean, as was the entire hotel, and the bed firm and comfortable.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank linda c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Rhode Island, United States
Level Contributor
24 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013

Located just down the street (alley) from San Marcos Piazza it was convenient yet quiet. The concierge was extremely helpful and friendly. The provincial styled rooms were ornate yet very comfortable and clean. The breakfast was a good variety but the best part was the wonderful cappuccino machine that had a myriad of coffee/ hot chocolate choices.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Debbi M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Venice hotels
Dorsoduro / Accademia
Best Western Hotel Olimpia
San Marco
Hotel Concordia
Hotel Concordia
#76 of 387 in Venice
4.5 of 5 stars 880 reviews
Castello
Hotel Colombina
Hotel Colombina
#54 of 387 in Venice
4.5 of 5 stars 1,579 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Marco
Ca' dei Dogi
Ca' dei Dogi
#25 of 387 in Venice
5.0 of 5 stars 679 reviews
San Marco
Hotel Firenze
Hotel Firenze
#78 of 387 in Venice
4.5 of 5 stars 596 reviews
Castello
Best Western Premier Hotel Sant'Elena
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN Montecarlo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Montecarlo

Property: BEST WESTERN Montecarlo
Address: Calle degli Specchieri 463 | San Marco, 30124 Venice, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > San Marco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#18 Business Hotel in Venice
#75 Family Hotel in Venice
#92 Romantic Hotel in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN Montecarlo 3*
Number of rooms: 48
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Odigeo, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your BEST WESTERN Montecarlo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Montecarlo Hotel Venice
Best Western Hotel Montecarlo
Best Western Venice
Venice Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing