We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A double room - as long as you don't move around”
Review of Hotel Montecarlo

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Montecarlo
Ranked #86 of 384 Hotels in Venice
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 17, 2013

I stayed with my husband at the MonteCarlo. We had a standard double room. It did contain everything as described, but I think my definition of a double room is one where both people can sit down at the same time. This had one chair. If you sat on the bed to put your shoes on you risked banging your head on the dressing table. One person had to lie on the bed to allow the other one to move around the room to get dressed.
The room was too hot, and noisy if the window was opened. As it was March the air conditioning was not yet operational.
The shower room was very good, lots of water pressure (this is Venice...) and modern and well fitted out.
Downstairs the breakfast room is also cramped. Too many tables pushed in. The food was good and with a decent variety.
As this is a very centrally placed hotel I can understand that there were many people staying. But I really wouldn't recommend staying here in a basic room. We wouldn't recommend this to any friends.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank budicca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stefano M, Direttore at Hotel Montecarlo, responded to this reviewResponded March 23, 2013

Dear Sir,

We wish to thank you for your review which is very important for us. As you can see in our webpage, the hotel is a XVII Centuries Palace a few steps from San Marco with many kinds of rooms, one different from the other..we are very sorry you didn't like your accomodation because if informed we could show you immediately some other soluctions and find a room you liked better....Hoping to meet you soon in Venice, accept our best regards.

Stefano

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,383)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

478 - 484 of 1,384 reviews

Reviewed March 9, 2013

Location excellent. Breakfast fresh and excellent, variety. Rooms were very very small. But we like compact rooms, so ok. Rooms were clean. There are a lot of takeaways for pasta , pizza so meals not a problem.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank nehamanohar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 4, 2013

This hotel was close to all major attractions down a tiny cobbled street just minutes from San Marco Piazza. Breakfast was varied and very fresh and all staff were very friendly and helpful.
Our room was very clean, as was the entire hotel, and the bed firm and comfortable.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank linda c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 2, 2013

Located just down the street (alley) from San Marcos Piazza it was convenient yet quiet. The concierge was extremely helpful and friendly. The provincial styled rooms were ornate yet very comfortable and clean. The breakfast was a good variety but the best part was the wonderful cappuccino machine that had a myriad of coffee/ hot chocolate choices.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Debbi M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 27, 2013

We very much enjoyed our 4 day break at this hotel. Friendly, clean, comfortable...and a great location. Just yards from Piazza San Marco. A short walk from the boat stop San Marco Giardinetti. Breakfast was most enjoyable offering both hot food and continental options.
There are are alot of restaurants and take aways in the area, so many alternatives.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Peter L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 19, 2013

Stayed here for 3 days over valentines day period, hotel is more than adequate, very clean - bed was made/changed and fresh towels twice a day!! breakfast was continental with self service but staff on hand if needed. The room was small but comfortable, old design but in keeping with tradition and appropriate for the location. The hotel is situated just minutes from San Marco square, easy to find and close to all shops, cafes, bars and restaurants. The service from all staff was second to none, nothing was too much bother for them, they were kind, polite, curtious, helpful and did their utmost to ensure your stay was comfortable :)

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Karina H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 12, 2013

The hotel is very good! Rooms are clean and comfortable! It has a little bit old design, but we liked it more because of that. It reminded us old king&queen times.)) The service is also worth the price! Location is in very touristic place, close to Piazza San Marco. There are plenty of restaurants, shops and bars nearby.)) Probably, I will stay there again! I highly recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Margarita825
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stefano M, Direttore at Hotel Montecarlo, responded to this reviewResponded February 13, 2013

Dear Sir,

Thank you for your review about your recent stay at our property.

Your business is very important to us and we value your feedback. By telling us what you liked about your stay and how we can improve, you are helping us deliver a superior experience for you and other guests in the future. We hope you will come back and see us again soon.

If I can be of assistance in the future, please don't hesitate to contact me at .


Sincerely,
Stefano Magrini
BEST WESTERN Hotel Montecarlo
Venice - Italy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Venice hotels
San Marco
Hotel Concordia
Hotel Concordia
#74 of 384 in Venice
1,029 reviews
San Marco
Hotel Firenze
Hotel Firenze
#63 of 384 in Venice
750 reviews
San Marco
Hotel Colombina
Hotel Colombina
#52 of 384 in Venice
1,879 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Marco
Hotel Orion
Hotel Orion
#105 of 384 in Venice
816 reviews
San Marco
Hotel Dona Palace
Hotel Dona Palace
#66 of 384 in Venice
860 reviews
San Marco
Hotel a La Commedia
Hotel a La Commedia
#31 of 384 in Venice
2,068 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Montecarlo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Montecarlo

Address: Calle degli Specchieri 463, 30124 Venice, Italy (Formerly BEST WESTERN Montecarlo)
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > San Marco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#18 Business Hotel in Venice
#74 Family Hotel in Venice
#91 Romantic Hotel in Venice
Price Range: $108 - $349 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Montecarlo 3*
Number of rooms: 48
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Montecarlo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Montecarlo Hotel Venice
Best Western Hotel Montecarlo
Best Western Venice
Venice Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing