We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good hotel!”
Review of Hotel Montecarlo

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Montecarlo
Ranked #83 of 384 Hotels in Venice
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 12, 2013

The hotel is very good! Rooms are clean and comfortable! It has a little bit old design, but we liked it more because of that. It reminded us old king&queen times.)) The service is also worth the price! Location is in very touristic place, close to Piazza San Marco. There are plenty of restaurants, shops and bars nearby.)) Probably, I will stay there again! I highly recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Margarita825
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stefano M, Direttore at Hotel Montecarlo, responded to this reviewResponded February 13, 2013

Dear Sir,

Thank you for your review about your recent stay at our property.

Your business is very important to us and we value your feedback. By telling us what you liked about your stay and how we can improve, you are helping us deliver a superior experience for you and other guests in the future. We hope you will come back and see us again soon.

If I can be of assistance in the future, please don't hesitate to contact me at .


Sincerely,
Stefano Magrini
BEST WESTERN Hotel Montecarlo
Venice - Italy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,367)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Montecarlo
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

473 - 479 of 1,367 reviews

Reviewed February 7, 2013

I have just returned from Venice with 2 friends - stayed at the Montecarlo for 5 nights - free trip to Murano to check out glass blowing - fine - but boat driver dropped us off the wrong side of canal in the middle of nowhere!! which was horrible as day was extremely wet and windy - we got soaked. The other issue is this city tax which we were asked to pay without any prior warning before we left yesterday - 15euros each?? Has anybody else out there been asked to pay this? No receipt was given - just that it was collected on behalf of 'bureaucracy' - this was the comment from the guy on reception. In the same area as this hotel is the Osteria AI Specchier/Calle Larga San Marco 654 - what a real rip-off - 1 large Beer and 2 small ones in Boot type glasses - 35euros!!! Do not go there- you will get ripped off - we were not best pleased

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Noreen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stefano M, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Montecarlo, responded to this reviewResponded February 8, 2013

Dear Sirs,
We are very sorry to read about your complaint because we always try to do the best for our guests during their stay in Venice...unfortunately in this case we can do nothing because the trip to Murano ( free of charge round trip ) start from a small canal right behind the Hotel and always come back to Fondamente Nuove ( 10 minutes far from San Marco/Rialto bridge ) where did you get off....maybe the problem was the bad weather as you mentioned but this is not our fault.....concerning the city tax this is also not our fault becaus is a tax that we are oblidged to collect from the clients ( 3,00 Euro per person per day during the high season and 2,10 Euro per day per person during the low season )....samething concerning the bar very expansive close to San Marco, we do apologise but it s out of our control.....hoping you will grant us and to our wonderful city the possibility to have you back soon, accept Sir, our best regards.

Best Western Hotel MOntecarlo
Venice

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 19, 2013

Located on a narrow and intimate pedestrian road 100m from San Marco Sq., this hotel boasts comfort along with elegance in its rooms and the breakfasts are quite good. The rooms are of classic victorian style. We were more than satisfied with our choice in a hotel for Venice as this hotel is just minutes by foot to the public transport boat. We would return for sure !

Room Tip: They offer free trips to Murano.
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank michaelpoto4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 30, 2012

- Friendly and helpful staff
- Free trip to Murano is nice to check out the glass blowing
- Free breakfast is standard and has enough variety
- Room was small but clean - Bathroom was updated
- Great location near San Marco square, shops, water bus stop

Note: Church bells a bit loud at night when trying to sleep

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Diem L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 30, 2012

We stayed for 3 nights. We had a lovely spacious room, very clean, afforadable minibar, friendly & helpful staff, excellent location, reception booked an opera for us. The breakfast room could have been a little more spacious, but no complaints really.!

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KerryNotts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 30, 2012

This was my second stay at Hotel Montecarlo in Venice. I was attracted primarily by the hotel's location, and they also had reasonable accommodations for 3 people.

Our room was rather large and had very traditional Venetian decor. The bathroom was freshly renovated and was both spacious and tastefully elegant.

I was grateful that the concierge offered to drop off the key to the previous hotel room where we had stayed and accidentally forgotten to turn it in. He said he lived in the neighborhood and would swing by that property. This was greatly appreciated.

On the last night there was a huge group of Albanian youngsters occupying the floor above us, and they were unbelievably noisy. The reception guy that evening was not exactly responsive to requests for help and it took me three trips going downstairs to get him to actively address the issue (and with all my travels I have never encountered that level of noise in a hotel). The next morning the front desk manager apologized, though.

Their breakfast has a great variety of offerings. The room where the breakfast is served is very elegant too. We would usually go down early in the mornings, and it was not crowded at all. One morning we went down pretty late in the morning, and it was very crowded.

Overall, Hotel Montecarlo is a very dependable choice.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JasmineMarti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 17, 2012

I booked into the Hotel Montecarlo for my week's stay in Venice, largely on the strength of the comments on Tripadvisor. I wasn't disappointed, and frankly, for what it is, I couldn't fault this property in any way. The service was uniformly excellent, the staff friendly and helpful, the room, although small, (this is Europe after all), was clean, cosy and comfortable. Some folks might not like the sound of the campanile chiming the hours, but I thought it was kind of romantic, and with the window closed, it wasn't very pronounced, and certainly didn't disturb my sleep. The breakfasts in the morning were great, with a fine array of hot and cold 'vittles' to tempt the taste buds. Also, free tea and coffee making facilities can be supplied on request in your room. The location of the hotel is fantastic, a stone's throw away from St Mark's Square. This is a great budget hotel, and I would recommend it to anyone!

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Raoul656
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Venice hotels
San Marco
Hotel Concordia
Hotel Concordia
#78 of 384 in Venice
1,014 reviews
San Marco
Hotel Colombina
Hotel Colombina
#50 of 384 in Venice
1,864 reviews
San Marco
Hotel Firenze
Hotel Firenze
#64 of 384 in Venice
739 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Marco
Hotel Orion
Hotel Orion
#105 of 384 in Venice
808 reviews
San Marco
Hotel Dona Palace
Hotel Dona Palace
#70 of 384 in Venice
819 reviews
San Marco
Hotel a La Commedia
Hotel a La Commedia
#30 of 384 in Venice
2,051 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Montecarlo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Montecarlo

Address: Calle degli Specchieri 463, 30124 Venice, Italy (Formerly BEST WESTERN Montecarlo)
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > San Marco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#18 Business Hotel in Venice
#74 Family Hotel in Venice
#91 Romantic Hotel in Venice
Price Range: $114 - $419 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Montecarlo 3*
Number of rooms: 48
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Cancelon, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Montecarlo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Montecarlo Hotel Venice
Best Western Hotel Montecarlo
Best Western Venice
Venice Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing