We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Excellent location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Montecarlo

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
BEST WESTERN Montecarlo
Ranked #89 of 386 Hotels in Venice
Certificate of Excellence
Melb
Level Contributor
68 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Excellent location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

Excellent location close to all major attractions (can be confusing to find at first).
Step outside and you are less than 100 paces to entry to St Mark's Square
For those interested in shopping you are right in the middle of Venice's confusing alleyways of shops (literally hundreds of them).

Very spacious rooms with very good facilities.

Very helpful staff - always willing to help.

Breakfast very good and appetising.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dgs99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,130 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    457
    504
    122
    28
    19
See reviews for
283
533
29
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (114)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Ponte Vedra Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
731 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1,005 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

This was our second stay at this hotel and we chose it mainly for its location which is in the heart of Venice tourist area but on a side street so we did not get the noise or congestion of St Mark’s Square. Front desk staff (especially Mimassimo and Dario) was extremely friendly and knowledgeable about the area. Hotel room was nice but in need of improved furnishings. There was an old love-seat (convertible to twin bed) that had a very ugly cover over it that did not go with the room at all. Breakfast was excellent with a wide variety of meats, cheeses, breads and pastries. The hotel did arrange a water taxi to Morano which required a tour of the glass factory. The tour was okay and there really was not a hard sales pitch attached to it but you know they were expecting you to buy something. Hotel also arranged, at our request, a water taxi to the train station and carried our luggage the block to the canal where the boat was waiting on us.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank RLWOrangePark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorset
Level Contributor
28 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012

We stayed here for one night following a cruise. We wanted somewhere near St.Marks in order to make the most of the time we had. We took a waterbus from the cruise-port to the St. Marks stop. It is approx. 7 minutes walk,no road transport available although you can hire a porter with a trolley for around 20 euros.
Our room was very attractively presented and had a good en-suite bathroom with bath. All very clean.
Breakfast was served in an attractive room and was good and plentiful - Fruit and juices, cereals, cold meats and cheeses , a heated pan with scrambled eggs, a do-it-yourself toaster and pastries and muffins if you are still hungry!
There are many good restaurants very nearby.
A good place to return to after a day of sightseeing.I would be very happy to return.

Room Tip: Difficult as the room we were given was very good, but I imagine this was general.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EosDorset
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
64 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012

Loved this hotel. Great location in the heart of San Marco. In the centre of everything. Old world rooms but quite adequate. Shutters on the windows were a novelty. Staff was always helpful and polite. Hot water in the bathroom was a bit hit and miss. Some bathroom floor tiles were cracked. Room was always clean. Turn down service happened most nights. Breakfast was great, lots of food and fresh fruit. Step out of the door straight into shops, cafes and restaurants. Minutes from st. Marks square. What more could a visitor want. Would stay again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Annieimac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Acton, Maine
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

Lets be honest...our first time in Venice, one night, 36 hours, we needed all the help and advice we could get, and the staff at the Montecarlo were fantastic, they listened to our questions, and responded with great advice. The hotel is a 30 minute or so Vaporetto #1 ride down the Grand Canal from Santa Lucia Train Station, and a short walk through or around St. Mark's Square. Once there, you are in the middle of everything; St. Mark's Square, the well-signed walking route back toward the Rialto bridge, the St. Mark's Vaporetto stop, numerous cafes, shops, and a canal around the corner for gondola and water taxi pickup. Our room was beautiful and clean. The Hotel-recommended free morning water taxi ride out to Murano to a glass-making company forced us a little out of our comfort zone, but turned out great! Overall the Montecarlo and its great staff made us feel at home. We will recommend it to all our traveling friends and can't wait to go back for a longer stay.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank William D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wigan, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

I like the hotel so much I returned for a second visit. It is ideally located, St Marks Square only a couple of minutes away, within easy reach of Rialto too. It is set in a quiet location at the heart of the shops. the room are comfortable and spotlessly clean. If you left breakfast hungry it would be your own fault. The staff were friendly and accommodating. I doubt I would think of staying elsewhere, this hotel has everything I need and I feel comfortable and happy here. I would recommend it wholeheartedly for anyone who requires a comfortable and stress free time.

Room Tip: This is my second trip and both rooms have been fantastic. Quiet and spotlessly clean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jan E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

We would like to thank the receptionists DARIO and MARCO for being so helpful and friendly, they kept on phoning Alitalia on our behalf as our baggage got lost and their answering machine answers only in Italian... we have never met such helpful and friendly staff, always smiling and courteous. The rooms were very clean, comfortable with all the ameities, if you asked for extras it was delivered within minutes.Breakfast offered a good choice and of course the location of the
hotel is perfect. We couldn't ask for more, we will definitely stay in this hotel when we are in Venice!

Room Tip: We had two rooms on the 3rd floor and they were perfect
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ella f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Venice hotels
Dorsoduro / Accademia
Best Western Hotel Olimpia
San Marco
Hotel Concordia
Hotel Concordia
#74 of 386 in Venice
4.5 of 5 stars 867 reviews
San Marco
Ca' dei Dogi
Ca' dei Dogi
#23 of 386 in Venice
5.0 of 5 stars 664 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Castello
Hotel Colombina
Hotel Colombina
#51 of 386 in Venice
4.5 of 5 stars 1,554 reviews
San Marco
Hotel Firenze
Hotel Firenze
#78 of 386 in Venice
4.5 of 5 stars 579 reviews
San Marco
Hotel Orion
Hotel Orion
#106 of 386 in Venice
4.0 of 5 stars 667 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN Montecarlo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Montecarlo

Property: BEST WESTERN Montecarlo
Address: Calle degli Specchieri 463 | San Marco, 30124 Venice, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > San Marco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#18 Business Hotel in Venice
#75 Family Hotel in Venice
#92 Romantic Hotel in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN Montecarlo 3*
Number of rooms: 48
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your BEST WESTERN Montecarlo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Montecarlo Hotel Venice
Best Western Hotel Montecarlo
Best Western Venice
Venice Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing