We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Montecarlo

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
BEST WESTERN Montecarlo
Ranked #90 of 387 Hotels in Venice
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
64 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Great location!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012

Loved this hotel. Great location in the heart of San Marco. In the centre of everything. Old world rooms but quite adequate. Shutters on the windows were a novelty. Staff was always helpful and polite. Hot water in the bathroom was a bit hit and miss. Some bathroom floor tiles were cracked. Room was always clean. Turn down service happened most nights. Breakfast was great, lots of food and fresh fruit. Step out of the door straight into shops, cafes and restaurants. Minutes from st. Marks square. What more could a visitor want. Would stay again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Annieimac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,116 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    450
    498
    121
    29
    18
See reviews for
278
527
29
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (111)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Acton, Maine
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

Lets be honest...our first time in Venice, one night, 36 hours, we needed all the help and advice we could get, and the staff at the Montecarlo were fantastic, they listened to our questions, and responded with great advice. The hotel is a 30 minute or so Vaporetto #1 ride down the Grand Canal from Santa Lucia Train Station, and a short walk through or around St. Mark's Square. Once there, you are in the middle of everything; St. Mark's Square, the well-signed walking route back toward the Rialto bridge, the St. Mark's Vaporetto stop, numerous cafes, shops, and a canal around the corner for gondola and water taxi pickup. Our room was beautiful and clean. The Hotel-recommended free morning water taxi ride out to Murano to a glass-making company forced us a little out of our comfort zone, but turned out great! Overall the Montecarlo and its great staff made us feel at home. We will recommend it to all our traveling friends and can't wait to go back for a longer stay.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank William D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wigan, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

I like the hotel so much I returned for a second visit. It is ideally located, St Marks Square only a couple of minutes away, within easy reach of Rialto too. It is set in a quiet location at the heart of the shops. the room are comfortable and spotlessly clean. If you left breakfast hungry it would be your own fault. The staff were friendly and accommodating. I doubt I would think of staying elsewhere, this hotel has everything I need and I feel comfortable and happy here. I would recommend it wholeheartedly for anyone who requires a comfortable and stress free time.

Room Tip: This is my second trip and both rooms have been fantastic. Quiet and spotlessly clean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jan E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

We would like to thank the receptionists DARIO and MARCO for being so helpful and friendly, they kept on phoning Alitalia on our behalf as our baggage got lost and their answering machine answers only in Italian... we have never met such helpful and friendly staff, always smiling and courteous. The rooms were very clean, comfortable with all the ameities, if you asked for extras it was delivered within minutes.Breakfast offered a good choice and of course the location of the
hotel is perfect. We couldn't ask for more, we will definitely stay in this hotel when we are in Venice!

Room Tip: We had two rooms on the 3rd floor and they were perfect
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ella f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairns, Australia
Level Contributor
52 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012

We stayed here for 3 nights recently and it was overall a good experience. We found everything was very good except for the size of the room esp given the price we paid, but from I was told it is the norm in Venice. If you can afford it, definitely get the bigger room.

The room itself was otherwise very clean with nice furniture. AC works well, essential when it gets hot in Venice. Bathroom was again small, but modern, clean and spotlessly clean.

Breakfast and wifi were included in our room rate. Buffet breakfast had a fairly good selection and fairly standard for italian hotels.

The staff were all very friendly, always helpful and cheerful. Do ask them for direction for a supermarket which less than 5 mins away so you can stock up on your supply, as Venice is expensive and the whole place esp around San Marco area is just a huge tourist trap.

Also, we used the direction provided by one of the recently reviewers to be very accurate and useful in getting us to the hotel without getting lost.

If you want to be close to San Marco square, I will definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank soulighter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilton Manors, Florida
Level Contributor
109 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2012

We stayed 3 nights the beginning of Sept.The location a couple of blocks from Saint Marks Square could not be beat. The staff was friendly and helpful. The room was clean but on the small side and my major complaint was that our room never completely cooled down, no view and the wi fi was sporatic. For the cost, these items should have been better. The breakfast was plentiful and very good.

Room Tip: Do not get a room next to the elevator as you can hear it at times.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank readyWiltonManors
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carolina, Puerto Rico
Level Contributor
148 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 146 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2012 via mobile

Best Western Hotel Montecarlo

Hotel is located very close to Piazza San Marco. At the piazza. get into the street next to the "American Snack Bar", then turn right, and continue until the third left, Calle Speccieri. Calle Speccieri's entrance is only five feet wide, then it widens. The hotel is 50 feet inside Calle Speccieri, right side. It takes around 10 minutes to roll your suitcases from the San Marco pier to the hotel.

Hotel is well decorated in French-Provence style. Room width is a queen-sized bed plus two feet on each side and length is a queen-sized bed plus four feet. Bathroom is decent-sized and fully eqquipped. Room was kept very clean and fully stocked.
The included hot bufett breakfast was outstanding. Hotel staff was very attentive and well versed in Edglish and Spanish. They went the extra mile to help us.

Hotel is located close to many restaurants, eateries, and stores in the San Marco area. WiFi service was also included.

I recommend this hotel, and would go back.

Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank enatal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Venice hotels
Dorsoduro / Accademia
Best Western Hotel Olimpia
San Marco
Hotel Concordia
Hotel Concordia
#75 of 387 in Venice
4.5 of 5 stars 854 reviews
Castello
Hotel Colombina
Hotel Colombina
#47 of 387 in Venice
4.5 of 5 stars 1,516 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Marco
Hotel Firenze
Hotel Firenze
#80 of 387 in Venice
4.0 of 5 stars 569 reviews
San Marco
Hotel Orion
Hotel Orion
#106 of 387 in Venice
4.0 of 5 stars 650 reviews
San Marco
Ca' dei Dogi
Ca' dei Dogi
#24 of 387 in Venice
5.0 of 5 stars 653 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN Montecarlo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Montecarlo

Property: BEST WESTERN Montecarlo
Address: Calle degli Specchieri 463 | San Marco, 30124 Venice, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > San Marco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#18 Business Hotel in Venice
#75 Family Hotel in Venice
#92 Romantic Hotel in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN Montecarlo 3*
Number of rooms: 48
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Hotwire, Priceline, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets and Travelocity so you can book your BEST WESTERN Montecarlo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Montecarlo Hotel Venice
Best Western Hotel Montecarlo
Best Western Venice
Venice Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing