We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great experience”
Review of Hotel Montecarlo

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Montecarlo
Ranked #85 of 385 Hotels in Venice
Certificate of Excellence
Indianapolis
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great experience”
Reviewed March 27, 2012

Never met a friendlier bunch at the front desk; helpful throughout the stay and had a great sense of humor; hotel is just 1-2 minutes from St. Mark Square; you can see and hear the bell towers from your room; Room was one one of the more spacious I have seen in my times in Italy; breakfast was good; not great but very solid; take water bus to Rialto bridge and it is a 5 minute walk to the hotel; saves you taking the water bus all the way around to St. Mark Square; did offer a free boat trip to Murano glass factory; was fun but was quasi high pressured sales pitch to buy something from Murano; we did not and the folks there at the factory were not happy

Will not look elsewhere when we return; will book here for sure.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank RHSRebel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,347 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    561
    597
    140
    29
    20
See reviews for
347
630
34
26
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (130)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
York, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
172 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 182 helpful votes
Reviewed March 13, 2012

Close to main sights being some 2 minutes from Piazza San Marco. Hotel was in typical tourist Venetian style - plenty of ornate furniture and glass chandeliers - and the staff were very friendly. For instance, we wanted another pillow and it arrived 3 minutes later. The room was very clean - as was the bathroom. Possibly a little cramped (as are most places in Venice) but who stays in their room (other than to sleep) when in Venice ! Breakfast buffet style and good choice of items. We paid GBP 88 a night (via the EasyJet site) which I consider fair value for money. I've paid a lot more for less in the past in Venice. I would be happy to recommend this hotel to friends.

Room Tip: We were at the top on the 4th floor at the front - a bit of noise from the street when window open b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Hauxton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gillingham, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2012

Took just ten minutes to walk there from the waterbus stop in San Marco. Quiet even though it was La Carnevale. Room cleaned every day with fresh bed linen and towels plus beds were turned down at night. The staff remembered you every time you returned - not once did I have to ask for my key- they knew me. All the staff courteous and nothing was too much trouble. Room could have been a wee bit bigger but you're in Venice and everywhere is small. However we had an amazing balcony with enormous windows and shutters. Easy to get to sights. So convenient and I started the day with a good breakfast. I would definitely return

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank 451Chrissy60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warsaw, Poland
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed February 23, 2012

I spent 4 days in the Montecarlo Best Western hotel in Venice. The hotel has just an excellent location – it is situated very close to the San Marco square and Basilica. It is also within a short walking distance (ca. 5 minutes) from the Rialto Bridge. Rooms are quite small but very pleasant & cozy with stylish and nice furniture – I liked our room very much. We had our room on the 2nd floor but I would recommend for everyone to take a room on the 4 th (or at least 3 rd floor) to have a nice view. The building opposite to the hotel is 2 floors high, so I think that in case of having a nice view the 4 th and 3 rd floors are just the best option. The best view ever is from the room no 410 (that room has one big bed and not two single beds).
Breakfast is served as open-BF and we found it really good.
We were also offered a complimentary tour to Murano glass factory and it was a very nice tour – I am very happy we took it.
The staff in the hotel was also very nice and helpful.
However the real low point (weak point) was internet wi-fi connection. It worked so badly that sometimes I was simply not able to connect with any web side or call via Skype etc. I believe that the hotel should really improve it, as I found the same complain from other people staying in that hotel.

Room Tip: I think that in case of having a nice view the 4 th and 3 rd floors are just the best option. The be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Darshwana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, California
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed February 20, 2012

Stayed 3 nights in May 2011. Very nice hotel, spacious rooms on canal. Staff very helpful and courteous. Hotel is a few minutes from Piazza San Marco and close to many excellent rrestaurants. My wife and I enjoyed our stay at Hotel Montecarlo and will return in the fututre.

Room Tip: get room in back overlooking canal
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank William M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed February 13, 2012

3 minutes walk to San Marco piazza, very polite and helpfull staff,good value,close to restaurants and shops,would definitely recommend, i would return there.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank grosminet42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Slovakia
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed February 8, 2012

Very nice hotel, romantic furniture in rooms, 1 minute walk from the main square where we went for carneval, good breakfast, but when we woke late they did not add all the missing food. We were satisfied as we were so close to san marco and the romantic atmosphere inside room was also great, just bathroom was a little old and therefore did not look perfectly clean.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bratislaava
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Venice hotels
San Marco
Hotel Concordia
Hotel Concordia
#75 of 385 in Venice
993 reviews
San Marco
Hotel Colombina
Hotel Colombina
#48 of 385 in Venice
1,845 reviews
San Marco
Hotel Orion
Hotel Orion
#107 of 385 in Venice
795 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Marco
Hotel Firenze
Hotel Firenze
#67 of 385 in Venice
726 reviews
San Marco
Duodo Palace Hotel
Duodo Palace Hotel
#69 of 385 in Venice
1,506 reviews
San Marco
Hotel Saturnia & International
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Montecarlo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Montecarlo

Property: Hotel Montecarlo
Address: Calle degli Specchieri 463, 30124 Venice, Italy (Formerly BEST WESTERN Montecarlo)
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > San Marco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#18 Business Hotel in Venice
#75 Family Hotel in Venice
#92 Romantic Hotel in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Montecarlo 3*
Number of rooms: 48
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Expedia, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Ctrip TA, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Montecarlo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Montecarlo Hotel Venice
Best Western Hotel Montecarlo
Best Western Venice
Venice Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing