We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Surprise Engagement”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Kette Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Kette Hotel
Ranked #116 of 386 Hotels in Venice
Certificate of Excellence
Saddleworth
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Surprise Engagement”
Reviewed March 11, 2013

I took my now Fiancee for 3 wonderful nights at The Kette as a surprise so I could propose to her in a city of love, I couldnt have picked a better Hotel. Excellent location, just a short walk to St Mark's Square (Where I proposed) The room was ample, decorated in a classic Venetian Style, very comfortable, the setting was superb, the weather was mild even though it was February we awoke on the first morning to hear the Gondoliers serenading their passengers as they floated by the canals close by...truely magical. The staff were all friendly and helpful, the Continental Breakfast was most definately one of the best I have ever had... we will most certainly return

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank SaddleworthGricey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,108 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    357
    483
    186
    53
    29
See reviews for
199
638
13
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (141)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed March 8, 2013

Almost all the reviews here are, quite rightly, favourable but even the negative comments are believable as we also experienced a dose of it - it must have been a bad day in reception.
Plus points:
• Excellent value
• City centre convenience
• Classic Venetian decor
• Cleanliness
• Free waterbus trip to nearby island of Murano to see the glass-making craftsmanship

Minus points
• Reception staff can seem aloof
• Expensive bar (when/if it is open)
• Small breakfast room can get crowded
• Adjusting air conditioning
• No tea or coffee facilities
Be prepared (in February) for snow, rain, wind, sub-zero temperatures - and sunshine.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Troshers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed March 5, 2013

My wife and myself returned from Venice on 4th March.
The hotel is in a great location although make sure you mark on a map before you leave as could be hard to find .
The rooms are nice although a little small ,make sure you ask for a double bed . Not much choice on the tv
The breakfast is continental and good , the staff being very efficient .
The barman is a gem and very eager to help with any queries and chat.
My only reservation with the hotel would be with the reliability of the wifi and the manner of a member of the reception staff.
Highly recommended

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chesterbh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampshire
Level Contributor
61 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed March 5, 2013

We arrived for our first trip to Venice and were thrilled with the location of the hotel. It is literally a few minutes walk from St Mark's Square.
Our room was large with a view out over the canal, which I would recommend.
A downside is that some (not all) of the staff were hovering for tips and then stated, tips are not included for the smallest thing.
Our room was cold at night (but it was January). We loved our time here and will return to Venice and would stay at the Hotel Kette again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank satcsouth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville, Kentucky
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed February 24, 2013 via mobile

From the moment we arrived, the staff were snooty, rude, pushy and extremely unhelpful. When we got off of our water taxi, the person taking the bags grabbed and walked off with my small handbag I had sat down next to me while talking to the desk attendant, which contained our passports and credit cards, even after clearly communicating that I needed that bag with me. After chasing the rude bell boy down to retrieve our passports, we were rushed off to our room and told they would give us information and our passports at a later time. After all of this trouble, the bell boy's tip was apparently not enough, and he lingered in our room, coming very close to begging. Certainly unexpected from a hotel at this price point.
We later asked for some advice/direction from the front desk staff, but they were apparently too busy browsing Facebook to concern themselves with that.
We return that night after exploring the town, to find that the hotel doors are locked and there is no one at the desk. We rang the bell for over 30 minutes, but no one answered. We were completely locked out of our hotel at midnight. After finding some local people who could call the hotel (several times) from their cell phone, an attendant finally ran to the door. He came out rubbing his eyes, and had obviously been asleep instead of at the front desk.
I have never seen anything like it. Being locked out of a hotel in the cold in January. Absolutely unbelievable. We would not recommend this hotel to anyone, even if it were 30 euro per night. We have stayed many places in Italy, and have never had such poor service. It is a shame for a hotel in such a good location.
The "queen" bed was 2 twin beds pushed together, and very uncomfortable. After complaining to management about the above event, we were treated very rudely for the rest of our stay. It seemed that the staff were very accommodating to European travelers, but were rude to Americans from our experience.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Mark M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
83 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed February 23, 2013

Without being great luxury the hotel is very comfortable, clean and well kept.

Before booking we read several reviews and we were not disappointed. Room were of decent size, beds were very good and the bathroom modern and well equipped. Front desk was very helpful and of good advice for touring the city, but not so much for restaurant recommendation.

During winter time we had no problem being on the second floor but we suspect (that during summer time it might be a little noisy.

The breakfast buffet is good but the dining room is very small and crowded ( better be early or late)

Last but not least the location ,the location, the location.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ririo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, Australia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed February 12, 2013 via mobile

My husband and I stayed at the Hotel Kette whilst honeymooning in Venice. We arrived at around 10am after an overnight train ride from Vienna hoping to leave our bags with them and go walking. The staff were lovely and managed to secure us a wonderful room after a 10 minute wait so that we were able to shower and freshen up. Our bags were delivered to our room for us which has not been the case with many of our 5 star hotels on this trip. Our room overlooked a canal and despite it being winter, we still kept the shutters open to let the sound of the passing Gondolas in. When the shutters are closed you are not disturbed by the sound so you can still get a good night of rest. The room was decorated very traditionally. Some prior reviews commented that they were dated and in poor condition. This was certainly not our view. Our bed was comfortable, however, I would agree with the previous comments on the pillows being very thin. The bathroom was clean and well appointed with heated towel racks. The shower head was very low which could be a problem for other tall people, but there was a hand held shower head too. There is free wifi but you need to get a code from the front desk. Please be aware that it is only useable from one device, so you may need to ask for two. Breakfast was a little disappointing with no hot food offered and a limited selection of canned fruit however the cappucino was good. All in all, an enjoyable experience and the location is hard to beat. 5 minute walk to San Marco.

Helpful?
3 Thank NicFr0mOz
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Venice hotels
San Marco
Hotel dell'Opera
Hotel dell'Opera
#114 of 386 in Venice
541 reviews
San Marco
Duodo Palace Hotel
Duodo Palace Hotel
#65 of 386 in Venice
1,440 reviews
San Marco
Hotel Saturnia & International
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Marco
Albergo Ca' Alvise
Albergo Ca' Alvise
#156 of 386 in Venice
569 reviews
San Marco
Palazzo Paruta
Palazzo Paruta
#72 of 386 in Venice
846 reviews
San Marco
Hotel Royal San Marco
Hotel Royal San Marco
#198 of 386 in Venice
974 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kette Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kette Hotel

Property: Kette Hotel
Address: Sestiere San Marco 2053 | Piscina San Moise, 30124 Venice, Italy
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > San Marco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#32 Business Hotel in Venice
#65 Luxury Hotel in Venice
#145 Family Hotel in Venice
#147 Romantic Hotel in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Kette Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 65
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Expedia, Agoda, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Kette Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kette Hotel Venice

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing