We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Baglioni Hotel Luna
Ranked #62 of 385 Hotels in Venice
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 27, 2014

Beautiful hotel, perfect setting close to everything & exceptional service. Loved it. Breakfast was served in the beautiful dining room with incredible frescoes on the walls and ceiling. It was incredibly grand. The staff were incredibly friendly and the trip out via private boat to Murano glass was great fun too.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Loretta W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HMLuna, Direttore at Baglioni Hotel Luna, responded to this reviewResponded May 31, 2014

Dear Guest,
We do thank you very much for taking the time and share your experience in this forum. Our commitment to all guests is to share the beauty of our city, the wide historical heritage in this incredible palace with such large story to tell. Did you know this has been the Templar knight property for 2 centuries? Gianmatteo Zampieri - Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,659)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

638 - 644 of 1,660 reviews

Reviewed May 19, 2014

Currently staying in the hotel and was upgraded to a suite. Great place, and as others have described it's not for the faint at heart if you're on a budget!! My biggest disappointment was paying $700 USD a night and I get NO included breakfast! Maybe I'm just too used to getting free breakfast in US hotels for around 1/4 or 1/3 of that price, but geez for what they want ($40Euro per person for breakfast, I can do a lot more with $120 Euro for starters).

The upgrade suite is very nice, but we were awakened before 6AM because the breakfast room was near our room and all we heard was the workers moving chairs around and banging all morning.

As good as the breakfast may be, I can walk down the street for some great breakfast pastries and other items for 3 people and still not come close to $40Euro for 3.

The Gondola dock is right outside the door and very convenient to everything. San Marco Piazza is just steps away. Great shopping in and around as well. They also have a free boat over to Murano that takes you to the glass blowing businesses.

Room Tip: Steer clear of the suites on 1st floor near breakfast.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Monte S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HMLuna, Direttore at Baglioni Hotel Luna, responded to this reviewResponded May 24, 2014

Dear Guest,
Let us thank you for taking the time to tell us about your personal experience while staying with us and happy to hear you appreciated our free upgrade to a suite available.
We are just concerned about the fact that you did specifically book a room without breakfast. Being this a booking you did direct on our web site you were conscious of your choice. Gianmatteo Zampieri - Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 19, 2014

We spent three wonderful nights in this hotel last week on a return trip to Venice. Having booked the hotel room (a de luxe double) via Leading Hotels of the World we were obliged to a room upgrade (where available) and so this meant a junior suite. The hotel wasn't obliged to allocate a suite with lagoon view (naturally the most desirable option) but they did and, right from the beginning, this made a very positive impression of the hotel and the staff. In fact, from arrival to departure, they couldn't have been friendlier and more helpful.The room itself was spotless, opulent and had a very comfortable queen size bed. All of the rooms in the hotel itself were beautiful and the dining room, where we took breakfast every morning, had a ceiling with paintings in the style of Tiepolo (one of Venice's most famous native artists of the Baroque period). I cannot, personally, find any issues to fault this hotel and would recommend it to anyone of taste who wants a beautiful, comfortable stay in this beautiful city.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tallegio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HMLuna, Direttore at Baglioni Hotel Luna, responded to this reviewResponded May 24, 2014

Dear Guest,
The original frescoed ceiling of the Tepolo’s pupils in our Marco Polo ball room along with the stuccos, floor and the big oil on canvas of Ermolao Paoletti, make the morning breakfast something exclusive with no compare in town.
Thank you for highlighting this since many in this forum just simply talk about “expensive breakfast….” That in term of rate is right in line with our competitors. Which value would you give to all this original decor being a jump back to 18th century for the morning start up? We all have been honored to have you here even just for a short break and hope to have the pleasure to meet you personally on your next trip to Venice and introduce you into the great heritage we daily share with our guest. Gianmatteo Zampieri - Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 19, 2014

I was just there this last May with a friend who had booked this hotel via her AMEX platinum card. It is a pricey place and not the way I usually travel. Having said that, this place was a thrill. It had it's own "dock" for the water taxis and gondoliers. It was so central that it was just steps to the main attractions at St. Marks square. The concierge and hotel staff couldn't have been more helpful - and I am usually very critical here...The room was ridiculously nice.

Stock up on the amazing breakfast and enjoy the day.

On a note - the bar and restaurant are totally overpriced - find somewhere local and go there. Much less relaxed and stuffy. That is why I'm giving this a 4 and not a 5.

Room Tip: Our room had no view - I'm not sure if other do.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Traveller48570
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HMLuna, Direttore at Baglioni Hotel Luna, responded to this reviewResponded May 24, 2014

Dear Guest,
Wish to thank you for your review. We are happy that our premises, staff and service had a positive impression on you. We also understand you were with a friend on a particular program with lot of added value, therefore we really don’t catch the… “overpriced bar and restaurant”… these are right in line with our standards and this is the reason why many guest do choose us. Gianmatteo Zampieri - Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 17, 2014

We stayed at this sumptuous hotel just before Easter. It was a wonderful time of the year to visit Venice and we were fortunate to enjoy 3 nights at the Hotel Luna Baglioni. The photos on all the websites offering rooms at this hotel were truly representative, but nothing can prepare you for the wow factor upon arrival. The hotel offers a 5 star experience and the location, quality of service and facilities are second to none. We travelled with my 84 year old disabled mother and all of our specific requirements were met and the staff were obliging and charming throughout our stay. The breakfast was delicious, offering a wide choice of anything I could possibly wish for. As I remember the warm welcome and those unforgettable few days, I feel very guilty now that it took me a month to write this review. There is nowhere else I would rather stay in Venice. A huge thank you to you all at Luna Baglioni.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tim080
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HMLuna, Direttore at Baglioni Hotel Luna, responded to this reviewResponded May 24, 2014

Dear Guest,
We all at the Luan Hotel Baglioni thank you for choosing us and for your kind review. Needless to say that with all the staff we stay at your full disposal wish you plan to be back to Venice. Don’t miss our winter offers to enjoy the city of Venice like Venetians do without the tourist crowd. Gianmatteo Zampieri - Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 10, 2014

We stayed here on a Tauck tour, what a beautiful hotel and spectacular location. Out one door, the Grand Canal and Harry's Bar. Out the other, a private boat dock, gondoliers, and steps to St. Mark's Square. The price is not for the faint of heart (but nowhere in Venice is). Treat yourself - prime location, great staff, stunning breakfast room. Breakfast was a buffet, with everything you would want - American style eggs, bacon, and sausage, every type of bread you would want with a toaster, cheese, fruit, cereal, TONS of pastries. And of course, cappuccino. We had a room with a bedroom and living room, a 2 part bathroom (double sink with huge tub and toilet/shower combination) - all fit for a king and a queen. Spoil yourself!

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 658Chris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HMLuna, Direttore at Baglioni Hotel Luna, responded to this reviewResponded May 17, 2014

Dear Guest,
Let us thank you for your kind review. As mentioned many times we do suggest everybody to Spoil yourself from time to time. Thank you also for highlighting our breakfast daily served in our Marco Polo ball room. A jump back to the 18th century with original frescoes from the Tiepolo pupils, right what you need for a good morning start! Gianmatteo Zampieri - Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 4, 2014

This is a wonderfully positioned hotel to explore Venice right next to San Marco. Stayed in a junior suite and found this to be a spacious and very comfortable room. The bed was deliciously comfortable! Champagne on arrival with a Venetian cake was a nice touch. Room service was prompt and good. We had breakfast out each day to "taste Italy" so can't comment on the breakfast. The concierge was very helpful, the staff delightful and no problems at all. Arrived by water taxi from the train station and you must take the taxi to the airport - expensive but a great way to say goodbye to Venice.

Room Tip: Junior suite is excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DVaus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HMLuna, Direttore at Baglioni Hotel Luna, responded to this reviewResponded May 10, 2014

Dear Guest,
Thank you for all your suggestions and for taking the time to post your review about your positive experience at the Luna Hotel Baglioni. We are sorry you missed our breakfast. We do serve it daily in our Marco Polo ball room. A jump back to the 18th century as you enter, with original frescoes from the Tiepolo pupils, stucco on the wall, Murano glass chandeliers and sconces, precious big paintings of Ermolao Paoletti, on top of this a wide choice of food and drinks right to start your day. Don’t miss on your next trip our breakfast inclusive rate. Gianmatteo Zampieri - Hotel Manager .

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Venice hotels
San Marco
The Gritti Palace, A Luxury Collection Hotel
Castello
Hotel Danieli, A Luxury Collection Hotel
San Marco
The Westin Europa & Regina, Venice
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Marco
Bauer Palazzo
Bauer Palazzo
#77 of 385 in Venice
2,598 reviews
Castello
Metropole Hotel
Metropole Hotel
#49 of 385 in Venice
1,291 reviews
Castello
Hotel Londra Palace
Hotel Londra Palace
#16 of 385 in Venice
1,591 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Baglioni Hotel Luna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Baglioni Hotel Luna

Address: San Marco, 1243, 30124 Venice, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > San Marco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Business Hotel in Venice
#22 Family Hotel in Venice
#38 Romantic Hotel in Venice
#42 Luxury Hotel in Venice
Price Range: $297 - $1,145 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Baglioni Hotel Luna 5*
Number of rooms: 91
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Housed in a mignificent, 12th century Venetian palazzo, reputed to have played host to the Templar Knights, this is the oldest hotel in Venice a stone's throw from St. Mark's Square and boasts a tradition of hospitality going back centuries. The hotel commands unrivalled views of the Lagoon and offers guests an intimate, welcoming atmosphere combined with impeccable service, classic cuisine and a private mooring berth to enter the hotel by gondola or motor boat. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, Cancelon, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Baglioni Hotel Luna reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Luna Hotel Venice
Luna Hotel Baglioni

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing