We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Breakfast and Spacious Room”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Baglioni Hotel Luna
Ranked #51 of 385 Hotels in Venice
Certificate of Excellence
Tallahassee, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Great Breakfast and Spacious Room”
Reviewed April 27, 2014

Convenient location, tasty breakfast with above average variety, spacious room and pleasant staff. We stayed here with Tauck tours who chose the hotel. We enjoyed our visit and would chose to stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alice32308
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HMLuna, Direttore at Baglioni Hotel Luna, responded to this review, May 3, 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your kind review and happy to hear your appreciation of our services. Don’t hesitate to contact us to plan your next trip to Venice. Gianmatteo Zampieri - Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,588 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,126
    302
    98
    36
    26
See reviews for
339
902
27
39
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (233)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
uk
Level 6 Contributor
132 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed April 23, 2014

I researched my hotel choice for many months and read many reviews before deciding on my hotel choice. Was I disappointed? Yes and No.
There are many, many positives about this hotel, most of the staff, spotless room, great location, private water dock, adequate breakfast.
So what were the negative issues that meant I could only give it 4 stars. The shower over the bath leaked and the floor was soaking. This could have been very dangerous as the whole floor was awash. On further investigation, the marble floor, beautiful as it was, was stained so this was not just a problem for me and as a LHW, this room should not have been allocated until this issue had been resolved. I could have complained but the point is I should not have needed to in such a quality establishment. The room was too hot, the air-conditioning was not on so I had to open my window making the room rather noisy, coming from the side street below. Again this should be available without asking. My other issue was in the bar. I enjoy a cocktail when on holiday as a way of rounding off my day. On 3 nights the barman was less than efficient. I had to approach him with my order and when it came there was no offering of savoury snacks etc. I felt as if I was a bother to him. One evening I had to inform the front desk to charge my room as he was nowhere to be found. Just as well I was the only one in the deserted bar. On my final night I had an altogether different experience, different barman, snacks with my drink, polite conversation, the way it should be. I feel that My experience seems to be different from lots of reviewers but I have stayed at other LHW and The Luna Baglioni does not quite meet the same standards. Maybe I was just unlucky with my deluxe room and barman. Next time in Venice I will try another 5 Stars hotel and then I will be able to compare.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that is not on a side street- too noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dghp9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HMLuna, Direttore at Baglioni Hotel Luna, responded to this review, April 26, 2014
Dear Guest,
Let us thank you for your review and for expressing your personal experience. This will help us to intervene with the appropriate department in order to ameliorate our service and attention to guest. Thank you for choosing us for your stay and hope to have the pleasure to welcome you again to our lovely city. Gianmatteo Zampieri - Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 19, 2014

We have been using Dial-a-flight, particularly, Lincoln, one of their advisors/staff, as our preferred holiday provider for many years as we have had nothing but excellent service from them and left the decision of which hotel to stay in with Lincoln. He could not have chosen better. The staff at Luna Baglioni were so friendly and helpful. We were celebrating our silver wedding anniversary and we were upgraded to a junior suite and were given complimentary sparkling wine. The room was luxurious. The hotel is located just off St Mark’s Square and is set in a shopping area that only has high-end retailers. During the day there is a constant stream of people in the streets below but this only added to the experience, in our opinion, but the glazing for the room prevented the noise coming up from the streets being a distraction or annoyance. You do hear the bells, albeit muffled, from the various locations around the square but again that just added to the charm. The rooms are as lavish as they look in the brochure.
Breakfast was good and plentiful and was a buffet style served in a fantastic room. There are pictures on line that can be viewed which clearly demonstrates the room’s splendour. However it would work out quite expensive if it was not part of the package. The staff in the restaurant were attentive, engaging and friendly. This was true of all the staff but particularly the front desk. I do not want to single any one out but if there is anything you need to know about Venice or the surrounding area ask Umberto. He is ‘the oracle’.
This is a 5* hotel set in a fantastic location and you get what you pay for.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GoApe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HMLuna, Direttore at Baglioni Hotel Luna, responded to this review, April 21, 2014
Dear Guest,
Let us thank you for your kind review and for highlighting all the positive points like the location, the services and the staff with your kind words. Bravo to indulge on your silver wedding anniversary for a luxury way to celebrate it. We always suggest from time to time to do so even if it is a simple short break. Hope to have the pleasure to meet you personally on your next trip to Italy. Gianmatteo Zampieri - Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devon
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed April 17, 2014

We stayed at the Luna having arrived on the Orient –Express and arrived by water taxi at the hotel’s private landing quay where we were greeted by a member of staff who looked after all our luggage and ensured that we were speedily booked in. We were given a wonderful room on the fourth floor with a small balcony that looked out over the canal and Giardini Realli with views across the Grand Canal to S. Giorgio Maggiori. We really could not have asked for a better view and location. The room was nicely quiet, had plenty of space and storage and an excellent mini bar (although unused). There was an excellent bathroom with his and hers wash basins, marvellous toiletries, plenty of towels, bath robes and slippers and ample space as well. The bed was an excellent king size double with extremely comfortable mattress and good pillows allowing a choice between soft and firm according to taste. The room was very tastefully decorated in the grand hotel style and we could not fault it. Each night the turn down service drew the curtains, laid out our night clothes and left a nice chocolate to wish us good night and each day the room was left beautifully clean and tidy.

We had dinner in the restaurant Canova (see separate review) on our first night and this was absolutely excellent. We dined elsewhere on our second night and wished we had stayed in and had a second meal here. Breakfast is taken in the magnificent setting of the Marco Polo Lounge with walls and ceiling decorated with amazing frescoes. The buffet offered an extensive choice of just about anything you could want and if it was not there you could ask. The only slight disappointment was that the eggs were not freshly cooked leading to rather rubbery scrambled egg (I am now being really fussy because it tasted fine and I had some every day!). My wife pointed out that this may be because the decoration of the room will not allow cooking to take place here. Again, the service was excellent even when the room was at its busiest and the staff were always friendly and courteous. The front desk and concierge staff were all excellent and provide us with any help and advice we needed and quickly got to know who we were.

This hotel is in the most perfect location for seeing the sites being a two minute walk from St Mark’s Square, the San Marco water bus stop and Doge’s Palace. You can walk anywhere, to any of the main districts of Venice from here very easily. If you are going to spend all day walking then take a good, comfy, well sprung pair of shoes. The streets are hard on your feet! We did have a coffee at Florian’s in St Mark’s Square on our last night while listening to the orchestra. This will be the most expensive coffee you will ever have so make it a special as the cost is not much more than a basic and accept that that you will pay a six euro cover charge to have the orchestra. What we got was a classic experience with great service and fitted entirely with our whole visit of: the Orient –Express, a fantastic stay at a classically stylish hotel and a posh coffee to finish it up, before a private transfer back to the airport.

Would we stay here again? You bet. Was it worth it? Yes. Will we be back? We hope so.

Room Tip: Ask for a balcony room overlooking the canal.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank family_manDevon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HMLuna, Direttore at Baglioni Hotel Luna, responded to this review, April 21, 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for your kind review. We are very happy to hear that everything was positive in your experience from your arrival to your wish to be soon back. Please feel free to contact us in any moment wish you plan for you or for your friends a new experience in our incredible city of Venice. Gianmatteo Zampieri - Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 17, 2014

great hotel, member of leading hotels,elegant and luxurious and excellently located on a canal and approximately 100 yards from st. mark's square/ the staff very friendly and accommodating/ overall experience could not have been better

Room Tip: ask for canal view
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rfweiss50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HMLuna, Direttore at Baglioni Hotel Luna, responded to this review, April 21, 2014
Dear Guest,
We do thank you very much for your kind review and for choosing us for your stay in Venice. Let us remind to all readers that we are located right few steps from St. Marks Square and within our rooms some are overlooking the small canal and the royal gardens and some other with the lagoon view, still some Signature suites have terrace and lagoon view. Please don’t hesitate to contact us for any further information and for planning your next trip to our lovely city. Gianmatteo Zampieri - Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doylestown, Pennsylvania
Level 6 Contributor
158 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed April 14, 2014 via mobile

We aretakin a tour through Italy, and stayed ar the Luna Baglioni on our first stop - Venice. The hotel is beautiful - elegant enrty and lobby, gorgeous rooms. The staff at the desk and in the restaurant are very friendly and helpful. Would absolutely recommend this lovely hotel to anyone visiting Venkce.

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank RichandBarbara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HMLuna, Direttore at Baglioni Hotel Luna, responded to this review, April 21, 2014
Dear Guest,
Let us thank you for your kind review and most pleased to hear you are taking a tour through our nice country. Thank you also for recommending the Hotel and the Canova restaurant to all our followers. Please don’t hesitate to contact us for any further need on Venice and hope to have pleasure to welcome you again in our fairytale city. Gianmatteo Zampieri - Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Yorksihre
Level 5 Contributor
89 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
Reviewed April 13, 2014 via mobile

My husband booked this hotel as a surprise birthday present and I have to say he chose very well. We had a private water taxi direct to the door where our luggage was taken into the hotel. The hotel itself is lovely very elegant and spotlessly clean. The only thing I would suggest is that you request a non smoking room on booking as the room we were given had a very strong smell of smoke. I went to reception and was shown to another room which also had the smell of smoke, third time lucky all was well. Even though the hotel was full the staff sorted this issue quickly and I was very happy. The room we were given was a suite and was lovely, very comfortable and spotless with everything you could need. The only downside was the heavy voile on the windows which blocked the light as it backed onto the street, that said I can see why they did this and it's only my personal preference that I like natural light. All the staff are very friendly and cheerful and nothing is too much trouble. Breakfast was a lovely buffet and the choice was plenty. The location of the hotel couldn't be better with St Marks Square literally on you doorstep. Venice is an amazing place with lots to do and see....make sure you take comfy shoes!!! I'd avoid the cafés in St Marks Square while they are lovely and have music playing we found them expensive and the majority of the staff quite miserable. I'd definitely recommend this hotel to anyone and it would be our choice again if we returned.

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank DonnaSYorks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HMLuna, Direttore at Baglioni Hotel Luna, responded to this review, April 21, 2014
Dear Guest,
We are happy to read your review and thank you for choosing us to celebrate your anniversary. The location of The Luna Hotel Baglioni is right few meters away from St. Marks square where everybody would like to be, yet on a very quiet corner since the street end to a canal. All the staff and myself wait you back to our romantic city of Venice for a new experience. Gianmatteo Zampieri - Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Venice hotels
Castello
Hotel Danieli, A Luxury Collection Hotel
San Marco
Bauer Palazzo
Bauer Palazzo
#70 of 385 in Venice
916 reviews
San Marco
The Gritti Palace, A Luxury Collection Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Marco
The Westin Europa & Regina, Venice
Castello
Metropole Hotel
Metropole Hotel
#52 of 385 in Venice
1,236 reviews
San Marco
Bauer Hotel
Bauer Hotel
#76 of 385 in Venice
1,554 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Baglioni Hotel Luna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Baglioni Hotel Luna

Property: Baglioni Hotel Luna
Address: San Marco, 1243, 30124 Venice, Italy
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > San Marco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Business Hotel in Venice
#22 Family Hotel in Venice
#35 Luxury Hotel in Venice
#38 Romantic Hotel in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Baglioni Hotel Luna 5*
Number of rooms: 91
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Housed in a mignificent, 12th century Venetian palazzo, reputed to have played host to the Templar Knights, this is the oldest hotel in Venice a stone's throw from St. Mark's Square and boasts a tradition of hospitality going back centuries. The hotel commands unrivalled views of the Lagoon and offers guests an intimate, welcoming atmosphere combined with impeccable service, classic cuisine and a private mooring berth to enter the hotel by gondola or motor boat. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Baglioni Hotel Luna reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Luna Hotel Venice
Luna Hotel Baglioni

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing