We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Low Profile Hotel in the Best Part of Venice”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Baglioni Hotel Luna
Ranked #60 of 385 Hotels in Venice
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 19, 2014

This was my third stay here over a 30 year period, and the hotel has lost none of its high standards over that time. This is a small, very classy, well run luxury hotel, not cheap but really not overpriced for what you get. The location is simply perfect, less than a 1 minute walk from P. San Marco, with everything in central Venice in easy reach. The rooms are not big, but not too small either, & if you ask you may get one overlooking the small canal & the park outside. The staff are friendly & attentive, and breakfast is served in a Venetian ballroom that is an experience in itself. Really First Class!

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MisterCreosote1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HMLuna, Direttore at Baglioni Hotel Luna, responded to this reviewResponded January 24, 2014

Dear MisterCre,
You are most welcome to our group of aficionados. Mostly of our clientele in this group think to the Luna Hotel Baglioni as their “ house” in Venice and our staff do remember every single details, or wish to accommodate. Thank you again also for sharing your experience in this forum and hope to see you soon back to our lovely city. Gianmatteo Zampieri - Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,620)
There are newer reviews for Baglioni Hotel Luna
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

644 - 650 of 1,620 reviews

Reviewed January 17, 2014

We stayed here with our two teenage boys in January for two nights. We arrived by private water taxi from the airport and the boys loved the journey and the disembarking at the hotel jetty - a great way to arrive at the hotel!

The hotel is very conveniently situated next to piazza San Marco and the Guggenheim Museum (about two stops by public water taxi away from piazza San Marco) - we went for early morning walks at the piazza - a great way to start the day! You wake to the charming sound of church bells if you choose to leave your window open in the morning.

The furnishings in the hotel are in a very ornate old Italian style and the hotel has a lot of history - which gives the hotel a touch of class compared to more modern hotels.

The breakfasts are in a very luxuriously decorated room and the food and coffee was excellent.

The rooms were very comfortable (although a little warm at times but you can open the window for fresh air) and there is access to wifi - which is apparently vital for survival for teenagers.......

Staff were helpful and courteous.

We would come back to this hotel when in Venice again ....... although this may be a little time in the future as we are living in Australia....

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nicole H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HMLuna, Direttore at Baglioni Hotel Luna, responded to this reviewResponded January 24, 2014

Dear Nicole H,
Let us thank you for your kind review. We are happy to hear you did enjoy your experience at the Luna Hotel Baglioni with your family. All families with kids of any age are most welcome to our property and Venice is indeed a city for the family. We all hope to see you again even if in a little time in the future. Gianmatteo Zampieri - Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 15, 2014 via mobile

Flower and candle bath on arrival of second night.
I asked what the weather was like. Manager came back with full report of weather. Lol
Scrambled eggs are to die for
Amazing amazing amazing stay. Would go back anytime. Loved it. Staff made you feel so special. Had the best rooms in the house though. A tad expensive !!

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank katrina72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HMLuna, Direttore at Baglioni Hotel Luna, responded to this reviewResponded January 24, 2014

Dear Katrina72,
Indulging for luxury is not cheap we all know that, but occasionally anyone deserve it. Thank you for choosing us for your stay in our lovely city and moreover for sharing your experience. Gianmatteo Zampieri - Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 13, 2014

We stayed here for 3 nights in mid December. We much prefer to visit cities off season, and there were very few tourists in Venice during our stay.
We are frequent visitors to Venice, but this hotel is the most central we've stayed at, less than a minute from piazza San Marco.
We took the Alilaguna from the airport (100 mins, €27pp return.) I noticed at the airport signs offering shared water taxis to hotels. Will definitely investigate this before our next visit as it is normally at least €100 for a water taxi from the airport into the city.
The Alilaguna stop (San Marco, Vallarossa) is just a couple of minutes from the hotel. (Turn left as you get off the waterbus, right at Harry's Bar, right at the top of the calle, and then right again at Chanel.The hotel is at the bottom of the calle.)
We were upgraded to a room (212) with a little balcony and a view over the tiny canal at the side of the hotel. The Doges Palace and Campanile were visible across the little public garden below.
Check in was swift, we were shown immediately to our room by Laura, (despite it being prior to the official access time.)
The room was large with a big bed (2 singles), and typically Venetian decor. The bathroom had double sinks and wardrobes, and the toilet and bath were in a seperate room. Generous supplies of Ortigia toiletries were provided. (Very useful as we'd only taken hand luggage.)
Some of the soft furnishings in the bedroom were slightly tatty (e.g. water stains on all the silk panels, threadbare areas on the silk curtains), but this didn't detract from the luxury of the room. The television featured internet radio (including BBC Radio 4!)
Wi-fi cost €14 a day, but despite feeling this should always be included free in such a high quality hotel, we bit the bullet!
The refurbished interior of the hotel (particlarly the marble balustrades etc in reception,) does not seem quite in keeping with how the building would have looked originally, (it is apparently the oldest hotel in Venice.) However the room where breakfast is taken is both authentic and spectacular!
All staff were friendly and helpful. (We had a drink in the bar on just one evening, and were addressed by name by the waiter after placing our order.)
Pierluigi the concierge was extremely helpful via e mail in advance of our stay, in helping with a couple of restaurant bookings, and also making suggestions for dining.
The breakfasts were excellent, with a large selection of hot and cold items. The pastries were particularly good. Service was good there (despite some comments on here,) but on the Sunday morning when it was very busy, it took quite a long time for items to be replenished. (They were restocked, but at 10.15, not too long before service ended.) Also, no refills of hot drinks were offered.
Turndown service is provided at night, and a tiny box with a chocolate awaits you on your return!
We availed ourself of the offer in the bar: between 18.30 to 20.30 the second drink is half price. (There are also complementary canapes available too. A very civilised prelude to an evening out, with a pianist in the bar too!)
We visited our usual haunts and as always got a vaporetto pass, even though we also walked a lot. But as 1 vaporetto journey costs €7, it is a no brainer, even if you just use it a couple of times a day. Prices for this are 1 day €20, 2 days €30 3 days €35. (Don't forget you need to validate your ticket before every journey.)
We attended one of the Vivaldi concerts in the church by the Accademia bridge, again arranged by the hotel. Can highly recommend this, even if you don't hear The 4 Seasons!
I mistakenly left a small item I'd purchased behind in our room. Once I realised this, I made contact and the item was located, and sent to me, extremely well packed. Again thanks to Pierluigi.
We have been happy with all the hotels we've stayed at in Venice, but definitely plan to return here.
Many thanks to everybody for helping to make our stay so lovely.




Sent from my iPad

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mrs Picky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HMLuna, Direttore at Baglioni Hotel Luna, responded to this reviewResponded January 14, 2014

Thank you Mrs Picky!
For choosing us for your stay,
for suggesting everyone the low season to visit our lovely city,
for all your feedback that will help us to intervene to ameliorate even little things!
Thank you again from all the staff and myself and hope to have the pleasure to serve you again in the future.
Gianmatteo Zampieri - Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 12, 2014

Arrived at water bus stop near st. marks square and was pleased to find our hotel just a few steps away from the drop off which made it very easy to access. Entering the lobby I could see the beautiful decor and old world charm, the hotel had been here for over 50 years at least under different names. We checked in and as two friends traveling we requested twin beds. They were very large twins and the room was a very nice size and had a small balcony which had a nice little view of the water and the boats that came to the side of the hotel. Beautiful bathroom and shower and nice amenities. The hotel breakfast room was like sitting in a palace or art gallery, it was gorgeous and the breakfast buffet was delicious and the service was excellent I really enjoyed all the aspects of the Luna Balglioni and would recommend to any friend or anyone who asked. The location was amazing and just a few steps from the luxury shopping area of venice and st. marks square was very very close…We could here the hourly bells ring at st. marks and that made the stay even better. I enjoyed my stay in Venice and was pleased entirely by our stay at the Luna Baglioni.

Room Tip: I'm sure any room would be excellent we had room 304 and it was great
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank susannaa2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HMLuna, Direttore at Baglioni Hotel Luna, responded to this reviewResponded January 14, 2014

Dear susannaa2,
We are definitely very happy to hear of your positive experience and thank you very much for sharing it in this forum. Just a little note about the fact that the Luna Hotel exist with this name since 1180 so is written in Venice chronicle, of course at the time was a little inn … and many things have changed during the centuries. Hope to welcome you again and share with you our story. Gianmatteo Zampieri - Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 10, 2014

The title says it all. Beautiful hotel, amazing room and faultless service from all members of staff. Was made to feel really welcome. Both concierge and front reception were courteous, and extremely helpful. It is hard to fault this hotel in any way. If there is one little thing to nitpick at (place still gets a full 5 star from me) is that the breakfast could be improved slightly (cappucino and pastries as well as choice of hot dishes need a little work). Other than that, i had a fantastic experience and doubt i will look at any other hotel to stay at in Venice on my next visit.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Galahotels.com
1  Thank Basma-1975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HMLuna, Direttore at Baglioni Hotel Luna, responded to this reviewResponded January 14, 2014

Dear Mohamed B,
Thank you for sharing your positive experience at the Luna Hotel Baglioni and for choosing us for your stay in Venice. All the staff will be very encouraged by your remarks and we all look forward to welcome you again on your next trip. Gianmatteo Zampieri - Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2014

Is a great hotel in a great location the service is great. I Definetely recommend it. The only minus was the atention of teh maitre at the restaurant when we stayed for dinner with two kids...he was not especially helpful...but is nothing compared to the rest.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 507arielp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HMLuna, Direttore at Baglioni Hotel Luna, responded to this reviewResponded January 11, 2014

Dear 507arielp,
Let us thank you for your kind words. We are happy to hear of your overall positive experience and will share with our restaurant manager what you have described. Family and kids are most welcomed to The Luna Hotel Baglioni therefore don’t hesitate to contact us should you plan a future visit to our lovely city of Venice. Gianmatteo Zampieri - Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Venice hotels
San Marco
Bauer Palazzo
Bauer Palazzo
#69 of 385 in Venice
954 reviews
San Marco
The Gritti Palace, A Luxury Collection Hotel
Castello
Hotel Danieli, A Luxury Collection Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Marco
The Westin Europa & Regina, Venice
Castello
Metropole Hotel
Metropole Hotel
#51 of 385 in Venice
1,262 reviews
Castello
Hotel Londra Palace
Hotel Londra Palace
#17 of 385 in Venice
1,564 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Baglioni Hotel Luna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Baglioni Hotel Luna

Address: San Marco, 1243, 30124 Venice, Italy
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > San Marco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Business Hotel in Venice
#22 Family Hotel in Venice
#38 Romantic Hotel in Venice
#41 Luxury Hotel in Venice
Price Range: $324 - $2,521 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Baglioni Hotel Luna 5*
Number of rooms: 91
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Housed in a mignificent, 12th century Venetian palazzo, reputed to have played host to the Templar Knights, this is the oldest hotel in Venice a stone's throw from St. Mark's Square and boasts a tradition of hospitality going back centuries. The hotel commands unrivalled views of the Lagoon and offers guests an intimate, welcoming atmosphere combined with impeccable service, classic cuisine and a private mooring berth to enter the hotel by gondola or motor boat. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Baglioni Hotel Luna reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Luna Hotel Venice
Luna Hotel Baglioni

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing