We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Baglioni Hotel Luna
Ranked #49 of 385 Hotels in Venice
Certificate of Excellence
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
63 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“great location”
Reviewed October 2, 2013

beautiful hotel very close to St Marks square. We arrived by private water taxi at their own entrance and immediately felt special. We were able to walk/ float easily to everywhere we wished to visit and had good restaurants at hand. Staying at possibly the oldest hotel in Venice does transport you back to a different time. Didn't get there on this occasion but I believe Harry's Bar is just round the corner.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Woofwoof13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HMLuna, Direttore at Baglioni Hotel Luna, responded to this review, October 5, 2013
Dear Woofwoof13,
Wish to thank you for choosing us for your stay while in Venice. The great heritage that we do share with our guest is of course part of the glorious story of this city in which the Luna Hotel Baglioni has been primarely involved. Needless to say that nowadays the Luna hotel Baglioni strive to be your “noble home” in Venice that still look like it was in the 15th century. Gianmatteo Zampieri - Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,564 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,114
    295
    95
    34
    26
See reviews for
331
886
27
39
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (226)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Kuwait City, Kuwait
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 2, 2013

I spent two nights in the hotel during September, it was really wonderful hotel with superior location, very close to St. Marks square. Very luxury hotel with excellent staff, I took deluxe room, it was spacious and beautiful. The negative points in the hotel were: no coffee or tea maker in the rooms; the iron was not allowed in the room; the Wi-Fi was not free, the TV with limited Arabic channels. Overall, it was very good experience. Certainly I will come back to this hotel if I will visit Venice in the feature, I hope the hotel will improve the service because if they do, surely it will be the best hotel in Venice.

Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Lamya2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HMLuna, Direttore at Baglioni Hotel Luna, responded to this review, October 5, 2013
Dear Lamiya2013,
Let us thank you for your kind review and for your appreciation on location, rooms and staff. We will take in serious consideration your highlights being these in line with the services given overall in the city. Let us express our concern about the TV channels in number of 5 available up to now for our most welcome Arabian guest that usually by visiting the city even forget about TV. Gianmatteo Zampieri - Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed September 29, 2013

We would like to express our appreciation for the superior service we received during our stay at the hotel. It was a beautiful hotel in a quiet area on the Grand Canal. Our junior suite was very large and beautifully decorated. The room faced the Grand Canal which made it very scenic. The Breakfast was quite extensive with many choices. The hotel manager, Rodrigo Camacho, was one of the best managers we ever had at a hotel. Not only did he have a good leadership style but he also had extensive knowledge of the sights within and outside of Florence. He was definitely a people person who went the extra mile to please the guests. He added a positive dimension to our stay. Also, the concierge, Antonio, was very approachable and knowledgeable. His restaurant suggestions included many places where the locals go to eat. We recommend this hotel because of its beauty, style, and ideal location.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank A S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HMLuna, Direttore at Baglioni Hotel Luna, responded to this review, October 5, 2013
Dear A S,
Let us thank you for your kind words to our hotel, location and staff . Rodrigo is indeed a great manager with an extensive knowledge and professionalism. We all hope to have the pleasure to welcome you again in Venice to the Luna Baglioni. Gianmatteo Zampieri - Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Howden, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed September 27, 2013 via mobile

Excellent. Very kind and understanding staff especially with my limited Italian ( none !!). Made to feel very welcome and staff greeted me with my name which was a nice touch( and well remembered)
Very central and would love to return with the boys( on holiday though !!)
Expensive but everywhere is Venice is. Best tuna and tomato sandwich ever.

Helpful?
Thank Sharan1968
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
HMLuna, Direttore at Baglioni Hotel Luna, responded to this review, October 5, 2013
Dear Sharan 1968,
We do thank you very much for your kind review and happy to read of your appreciation on our staff and location. Would you plan to be back with your boys don’t hesitate to contact us for more information on our family plan. Gianmatteo Zampieri - Hotel Manager .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Portsmouth NH
Level Contributor
129 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed September 27, 2013

Wonderfully atmospheric, this old hotel boasts beautiful rooms, silk damask walls, Murano chandeliers, marble bathrooms with high end products, a spectacular location right on the Grand Canal and steps from St. Mark's Square. Some of the staff could be a bit intimidating and snooty, but overall an excellent experience, the breakfast was really amazing. The prices at the restaurant are a bit eye-popping, but that's what you expect in this kind of famous five star property.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LimeyLady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HMLuna, Direttore at Baglioni Hotel Luna, responded to this review, September 28, 2013
Dear LimeyLady,
We are happy to read of your appreciation on your experience at the Luna Hotel Baglioni this month. Let us reassure you that our restaurant prices are right in line with those of our competitors and we all strive to let you experience the best regional culinary tradition. Gianmatteo Zampieri - Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level Contributor
74 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
Reviewed September 22, 2013

Last time in Venice I tossed up between the Danieli and the Luna Baglioni. I ended up at the Danieli but this time decided to try the Luna Baglione for something different.
Its a lovely old hotel. There is a gorgeous room as you walk in on the right hand side.The staff are very pleasant and our junior suite was upgraded to a full suite. The room was very dark and dreary and had a musty smell. The king bed was not too bad but as mentioned in a previous post was two single beds pushed together so we got that uncomfortable ridge. The bathroom was very small and we only got given two bath towels to share.
On the first night we were kept awake by a steady loud drip coming from the ceiling in the dressing room. We reported it to the desk and they sent someone in promptly to fix the leak but for the rest of our stay the room smelt of damp,soggy carpet and the large area of wet carpet stayed wet. On our last night, the roof sprung another leak in the sitting area.
The breakfast was a bit ordinary - they were very busy and seemed understaffed so we found alternative places to eat after that.
So all in all, Luna Baglione was just OK. The staff were lovely and it is well positioned but I don't think we would stay there again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jane02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HMLuna, Direttore at Baglioni Hotel Luna, responded to this review, September 28, 2013
Dear Jane02,
Wish thank you very much for choosing us this time and apologize with you for not having fulfilled your expectation furthermore just add the fact that you have also been offered to move to another room but decline the offer… Gianmatteo Zampieri - Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed September 20, 2013 via mobile

I enjoyed staying in the oldest hotel in Venice with fabulous balconies and a prime location. Our junior suite was massive but also a little shabby. The ceiling, walls and carpet are all stained. The bathroom fixtures and wardrobe are missing pieces. Our "king" bed was actually two twins pushed together.
I emailed the concierge three times to set up dinner reservations. Upon arrival guests should be provided with written confirmation, address and walking directions to each restaurant.
A room should include free breakfast and in-room wifi.
Luna is not a five star hotel.

Helpful?
2 Thank bdiddy303
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
HMLuna, Direttore at Baglioni Hotel Luna, responded to this review, September 28, 2013
Dear Tripadvisor member,
We appreciate you did enjoyed your stay but we are concerned of your feedback. Would you kindly contact us and let us have more information on your stay. Gianmatteo Zampieri - Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Venice hotels
Castello
Hotel Danieli, A Luxury Collection Hotel
San Marco
Bauer Palazzo
Bauer Palazzo
#69 of 385 in Venice
893 reviews
San Marco
The Gritti Palace, A Luxury Collection Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Marco
The Westin Europa & Regina, Venice
San Marco
Bauer Hotel
Bauer Hotel
#74 of 385 in Venice
1,532 reviews
Castello
Metropole Hotel
Metropole Hotel
#52 of 385 in Venice
1,224 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Baglioni Hotel Luna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Baglioni Hotel Luna

Property: Baglioni Hotel Luna
Address: San Marco, 1243, 30124 Venice, Italy
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > San Marco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Business Hotel in Venice
#22 Family Hotel in Venice
#33 Luxury Hotel in Venice
#38 Romantic Hotel in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Baglioni Hotel Luna 5*
Number of rooms: 91
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Housed in a mignificent, 12th century Venetian palazzo, reputed to have played host to the Templar Knights, this is the oldest hotel in Venice a stone's throw from St. Mark's Square and boasts a tradition of hospitality going back centuries. The hotel commands unrivalled views of the Lagoon and offers guests an intimate, welcoming atmosphere combined with impeccable service, classic cuisine and a private mooring berth to enter the hotel by gondola or motor boat. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Hotwire, TravelUp, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Baglioni Hotel Luna reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Luna Hotel Venice
Luna Hotel Baglioni

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing