We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Honeymoon”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Baglioni Hotel Luna
Ranked #61 of 387 Hotels in Venice
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 14, 2013

We chose this hotel for our honeymoon as we wanted something a little special. We were not left disappointed by this hotel. From the personal greeting when we arrived to the champagne and chocolate strawberries in our room we really couldn't fault anything. We received a room upgrade and it had one of the best views I've ever had from a hotel window (overlooked the grand canal).
The room was cleaned twice a day and the breakfast food had a huge variety available.
The hotels central location combined with excellent service and amenities made this a truly memorable and special stay,
Would certainly recommend this hotel if looking for a little luxury or for a special celebration.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lucy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HMLuna, Direttore at Baglioni Hotel Luna, responded to this reviewResponded April 16, 2013

Dear Lucy W,
Thank you for recommending the Luna Hotel Baglioni and for the lovely words on our premises, location and service staff. We right suggest to everyone to indulge in an outstanding experience sometimes and hope to welcome you again in Venice for another celebration. Gianmatteo Zampieri - Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,700)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

794 - 800 of 1,701 reviews

Reviewed April 14, 2013

Let me start by saying this is a great hotel. It has a wonderful location, literally meters from St Mark's square, with a jetty directly outside to facilitate a direct to the door taxi service. The welcome from the staff was very good.

All of the public areas were very well presented and the breakfast room is simply amazing with the painted ceiling. The room itself was very good and room cleaning excellent.

the reasons for very good and not excellent...
Some parts of the hotel were looking tired. I understand the place is steeped in history etc, but it just wasn't up there with other 5 star hotels I have stayed in.
No welcome as we arrived at the jetty and had to carry our own bags into reception. Not really an issue, but nonethelessless at this level it should be a given.
Basic value for money. Venice is expensive, granted, but good value, this place is not.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 931JonB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HMLuna, Direttore at Baglioni Hotel Luna, responded to this reviewResponded April 16, 2013

Dear 931JonB,
Let us thank you for your precious feedback and for sharing your experience at the Luna Hotel Baglioni since we do care on constructive guest comment that will certainly help us to intervene and improve the overall quality of our services and our guests' experience. Gianmatteo Zampieri - Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 11, 2013

I've read the reviews here and agree with the positive feedback that guests have stayed. This is my favorite luxury hotel near Piazza San Marco.

I recently did site reviews of seven Virtuoso hotels in Venice. I loved the styling of the Luna Baglioni. While a lot of Venetian hotels feel "tired," the interiors here were in an elegant, updated Venetian style. Rooms are smaller than similar categories in the U.S. (typical of European hotels), so book a Jr. Suite if you want to have the space of a normal "Deluxe" room.

One reviewer noted they had gone elsewhere to eat breakfast, as the hotel's breakfast is expensive. Here's a tip you may not read elsewhere. If you book the Luna Baglioni through a Virtuoso travel consultant, you'll receive the following complimentary amenities that enhance the value you'll receive.

Full American Breakfast daily for two guests, either in the restaurant or via room service.

85 EUR food and beverage credit.

Room upgrade upon arrival, subject to availability.


This is all for the same price you'd pay booking online. Email me if you need a referral to a Virtuoso travel consultant.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled solo
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank David O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HMLuna, Direttore at Baglioni Hotel Luna, responded to this reviewResponded April 16, 2013

Dear David O,
Let us thank you for taking the time to post you review in this forum and happy to hear you enjoyed your stay at the Luna Hotel Baglioni. Many time we have explained in this forum that there are many rates available so client should pay attention when making a booking. Let us also express to all readers that we are honored to receive reservations through any channel client wish to book and all the staff and myself are at everybody full disposal to give information on the best rate/package available for the wished period. Thank you again for your review and happy to hear the Luna Hotel Baglioni is your favorite luxury hotel right off Piazza San Marco. Hope to see you on your next trip to Venice. Gianmatteo Zampieri - Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 11, 2013

Stayed here several times over the years and has never failed to please everything you need is here and you are so close to St Marks Sq its great for a romantic weekend or a family to explore all Venice has to offer

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Milomeg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HMLuna, Direttore at Baglioni Hotel Luna, responded to this reviewResponded April 13, 2013

Dear Milomeg,
Let us thank you for your quick review. We are happy to read you are part of those aficionados that are back to our lovely city and to the Luna Hotel Baglioni as habitueé. In few words you have simply described all you may need for a simple break, romantic escape or family trip right In the heart of Venice. Look forward to welcome you in person on your next trip. Gianmatteo Zampieri - Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2013

We stayed last weekend for 3 nights to celebrate a significant wedding anniversay and had a wonderful time. The service at the hotel was impeccable from the time we arrived to the time we left. We were delighted to get upgraded to a deluxe room upon arrival and to then receive a complimentary bottle of Prosecco delivered to our room - this made us feel really special. Our room was spacious, spotlessly clean, and beautifully furnished and decorated (room 402). Huge bed and bathroom with, thankfully, a very powerful shower over the bath as well as all the other usual facilities. It overlooked the roof tops which was fine for us and because there is no vehicular access in the city, it is remarkably quiet - expecailly at night. The bells at the basilica are chimed during the day but seem to stop over night so your sleep is not disturbed. St Mark's square is literally no more than 2 minutes away, and the hotel is no more than 5 minutes from the water bus should you choose that route from the Marco Polo airport, although you can also take a water taxi for about 100 euros one way which would be quicker and can drop you off right outside the hotel. The water bus takes about 1 hour 15 mins, and if you choose the Arancia route you will be taken. down the Grand Canal, which is a good introduction to Venice. (Return ticket bought from Alilaguna online was 25 euros each) The buffet breakfast, which had a good choice from cereals, to fruit, cold meats and cheeses to hot food, was served in the most opulent dining room I think I have ever been in! It reminded me of the Sistine chapel in Rome, with very ornate frescos and paintings all over the walls and ceilings with huge chandeliers made with glass from the island of Murano, absolutely beautiful. Whilst we did take a gondola ride (well, you have to don't you!), we found it very easy to walk everywhere in Venice, although if you find walking difficult, you may have problems with so many bridges to go up and down (over 400 apparently!), although most are small. You can always take a water bus if you do not want to walk. It is lovely just to wonder up and down the maize of alley ways and lose yourself.
This was a perfect way to spend our special anniversary and we would most definitely return to the Luna Baglioni.

Room Tip: The rooms on the 4th floor are nice and quiet overlooking the roof tops and it is worth mentioning i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Jill N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HMLuna, Direttore at Baglioni Hotel Luna, responded to this reviewResponded April 13, 2013

Dear JillnAdy,
Let us thank you for choosing the Luna Hotel Baglioni for your wedding anniversary and for the time you took to describe the surroundings and our property. Thank you also for mentioning our Marco Polo ball room with a lovely similitude. Tiepolo’s pupils did the ceiling frescoes and daily our guest can admire it while having breakfast. Hope to see you on your next trip to Venice to discover some more interesting tips of this city story. Gianmatteo Zampieri - Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2013

Nothing to fault during our three night stay celebrating our silver wedding anniversary. The view from our balcony was stunning and you can walk to St. Mark's in about 2 minutes! The staff were professional and very helpful especially when sorting out a taxi during the Vaporetto strike! Wonderful Venetian weather helped as well!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HughP765
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HMLuna, Direttore at Baglioni Hotel Luna, responded to this reviewResponded April 10, 2013

Dear HughP765
Let us thank you for taking the time to post you review in this forum and happy to hear you enjoyed your stay at the Luna hotel Baglioni. Of course the Luna Baglioni and its central location gives right the chance to visitors to see all important things even on a short break stay. Hope to see you on your next trip to Venice and share with you some lovley anedocts on the city story. Gianmatteo Zampieri - Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 4, 2013

Myself and my partner spent two nights in this beautiful palatial hotel. Our room was truly elegant and a special place for us as we got engaged here on arrival! There is plenty of space with an old but elegant bathroom. You would get lost in the bed it is so big and very comfortable. Service is excellent in very clean surroundings and you really feel you are in a special place given it is the oldest hotel in Venice. The room where breakfast is served resembled one of the many museums we visited with beautiful renaissance art and decor. To arrive back to our room one afternoon and find a complimentary bottle of champagne, due to it being my birthday,was a lovely touch, given we hadn't indicated this - they obviously saw it from my passport on arrival. The drinks in the bar were very expensive, but we were celebrating a few things so we didnt mind. The famous Harrys Bar is just beside this hotel and is a lovely spot to visit. Overall a very special hotel, expensive but perfect for that special trip.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kaks122
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HMLuna, Direttore at Baglioni Hotel Luna, responded to this reviewResponded April 6, 2013

Dear kaks122,
Special events need special venue to celebrate! Did you know that the ancient Locanda Della Luna has been property of the knight Templars for more than 2 centuries? This and more anecdote to learn and experience on our lovely Luna Hotel Baglioni. Hope to have the pleasure to share our heritage again on your next visit. Gianmatteo Zampieri - Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Venice hotels
San Marco
The Gritti Palace, A Luxury Collection Hotel
San Marco
Bauer Palazzo
Bauer Palazzo
#75 of 387 in Venice
2,636 reviews
Castello
Hotel Danieli, A Luxury Collection Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Marco
The Westin Europa & Regina, Venice
Castello
Hotel Londra Palace
Hotel Londra Palace
#14 of 387 in Venice
1,625 reviews
Cannaregio
Ca' Sagredo Hotel
Ca' Sagredo Hotel
#43 of 387 in Venice
1,238 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Baglioni Hotel Luna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Baglioni Hotel Luna

Address: San Marco, 1243, 30124 Venice, Italy
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > San Marco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Business Hotel in Venice
#15 Family Hotel in Venice
#38 Romantic Hotel in Venice
#40 Luxury Hotel in Venice
Price Range: $317 - $1,390 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Baglioni Hotel Luna 5*
Number of rooms: 91
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Housed in a mignificent, 12th century Venetian palazzo, reputed to have played host to the Templar Knights, this is the oldest hotel in Venice a stone's throw from St. Mark's Square and boasts a tradition of hospitality going back centuries. The hotel commands unrivalled views of the Lagoon and offers guests an intimate, welcoming atmosphere combined with impeccable service, classic cuisine and a private mooring berth to enter the hotel by gondola or motor boat. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, getaroom.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Baglioni Hotel Luna reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Luna Hotel Venice
Luna Hotel Baglioni

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing