We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Royal Experience”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Baglioni Hotel Luna
Ranked #62 of 385 Hotels in Venice
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 8, 2012

We spent 3 nights in this hotel in Venice with our 8-year old daughter. Our room was simply amazing, very spacious, with antique furniture that evokes the golden age of Venice. The service was very attentive and cleaned the room promptly once we left. We had room services one night and the food arrived even faster than the announced 20 minutes.
The breakfast room is a beautiful historic ballroom, the buffet the best I have had in Italy. I particularly enjoyed the freshly squeezed juices, which seem to be a rarity even in 5 star hotels in the country. There was always plenty of food, even when we arrived just as a bigger group was leaving the breakfast room, so I cannot relate to earlier comments on the breakfast.
The location is right next to St. Mark's square. It could not be nearer nor better. The water taxi takes you right to the hotel entrance and the public water bus is also just a few steps away.
We had a perfect Venice experience and definitely plan to be back.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mirjam S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HMLuna, Direttore at Baglioni Hotel Luna, responded to this reviewResponded November 10, 2012

Dear Mirjam S,
We are happy to read you review and thank you for choosing the Luna Hotel Baglioni for your family stay in Venice. Thank you also for highlighting our breakfast service in the Marco Polo ball room. A jump back in the 17th century with Tiepolo’s pupils frescoes ceiling. We all hope to have the pleasure to welcome you again on your next trip to Italy to share another experience. Gianmatteo Zampieri - Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,663)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

816 - 822 of 1,664 reviews

Reviewed November 2, 2012

We spent 3 nights in this magnificent hotel fit for a king! Rooms are big and elegantly furnished. The white marble bathroom is huge. Linens and towels are crisp and immaculately white. Hotel staff were extremely helpful and polite! A chambermaid with the familiar white laced apron and black uniform dress made sure our room is always spic and span!

A big plus is the buffet breakfast and its location. It is just a five minute walk to St Mark's Square. I will definitely go back to this hotel when in Venice.

Room Tip: There are three buildings in this hotel. Choose the middle or main building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sonia S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HMLuna, Direttore at Baglioni Hotel Luna, responded to this reviewResponded November 10, 2012

Dear Sonia S,
We are happy to read your review and your appreciation on our staff, linens and cleanness so as premises location. Thank you for this. All the staff and myself we do hope to have the pleasure to meet you personally on your next trip to Venice. Gianmatteo Zampieri - Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2012

My husband and I spent three nights in the hotel. The location is great, the staff attentive, the breakfast excellent and the service on the whole very good; except, one major issue. Our airplane to leave Venice was scheduled to depart at 7 am which meant we had to get up very early. The hotel recommended we leave at 4:30am so we asked for a 4:00am wake up call. We also set our cell phones for 3:45am. We did not receive a call until 4:15 at which time the person at the front desk said "this is your 4 am wake up call". If we had depended solely on the front desk we would have been in big trouble and this should not happen in a first class hotel. Also, and this is a minor issue, my husband asked for a newspaper to be reserved for him every morning. The first day the hotel forgot and by the time he asked for the paper they were all gone. He did get one the second day.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Evelyn S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HMLuna, Direttore at Baglioni Hotel Luna, responded to this reviewResponded November 3, 2012

Dear Evelyn S,
Let us first of all thank you for your time in telling us about your experience. Please know that these incidents are well below our usual standards and we have followed up with the relevant managers to correct these inefficiencies. We all hope to have the pleasure to welcome you back again in Venice. Gianmatteo Zampieri - Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 28, 2012

Beautiful hotel located on Grand Canal, one block from St. Mark's Square. All common areas are elegant, decorated with antiques and Murano Glass. Our suite was huge and beautifully decorated. The staff was helpful from the moment we checked in...to our departure. Breakfast offered variety ....especially good fresh fruit and pastries.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AMH51175
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HMLuna, Direttore at Baglioni Hotel Luna, responded to this reviewResponded November 3, 2012

------------------------------------------------
Dear AMH51175,
We are happy to hear your appreciation on our house, on our staff service and thank you for posting your review . We all look forward to welcome you back in our lovely city on your next trip. Gianmatteo Zampieri - Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 28, 2012

I think perhaps my view of this hotel maybe slightly clouded as I had just stepped off a 6* cruise ship..the Seabourn Oddyssey. We were met by water taxi and taken straight to the front door. Our room want not ready but we were expecting this. Our luggage was held for us and we went out to re explore Venice. At the appointed time we went back to the hotel and were informed our room still wasnt ready but we had been upgraded...good news. The previous occupants had apparently left the suite in a bad way so were offered a complimentary drink in the bar. We waited 2 and a half hours and had to enquire as to when the room would be ready and were then told our room was ready...why hadnt they come to us? Our suite was lovely and had clearly had a deep clean but whomever had been in there before had clearly had a riot as the carpet was still a mess. Room service and the cleaning staff were helpful and super slick although English is a problem. Breakfast was lacklustre with very little choice, the scrambled eggs were cold and bland, however the service was friendly and attentive. The hotel itself is beautiful and staying there is like being part of a living museum and as for location it has it all. One street back from St. Mark's Square you cannot beat, one quick step and you are in the thick of Venitian life. Seabourn also laid on a complimentary trip to the Murano glass factory... fabulous to see but one big sales pitch...be warned. Lovely stay with friendly, helpful people. Would reccommend.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Trishfish8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HMLuna, Direttore at Baglioni Hotel Luna, responded to this reviewResponded November 3, 2012

Dear Trishfish8,
You know we do value feedback from guests and thank you for your review that will help us to intervene on those minor issues you describe. Thank you for choosing us for your stay in our lovely city. Gianmatteo Zampieri - Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 26, 2012

You know you are in a first class Hotel when despite the noise and bustle outside you walk into your hotel and are greeted by a warm smile and your name! We had interconnecting rooms for our 3 children and stayed here for 3 wonderful nights. The location right next to st marks square was wonderful but the children would say the highlight was the breakfast in their amazing ballroom. Each morning the wonderful staff welcomed us, remembered our hot chocolate orders ( for the children ) and provided us with a folder oulining all of ingredients for the in house prepared cakes to meet our nut and egg allergy requests. A great hotel, beautiful rooms and fantastic staff.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank NPK2800
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HMLuna, Direttore at Baglioni Hotel Luna, responded to this reviewResponded November 3, 2012

Dear NPK2800
Family and kids are most welcome to the Luna Hotel Baglioni and we thank you for choosing us for your stay in Venice and for the kind words you have posted in this forum. Gianmatteo Zampieri - Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 20, 2012

Grand old hotel that is the epitomy of Old Venice. The furnishings are in the old period and the lights are all Ventian Murano glass.

Very helpful front desk....amazing breakfast room....like an elegant ballroom.

Perfect location, steps to St. Mark's square...and the hotel has it's own boat dock which allows you to take a watch taxi (Euro 100) directly from the airport to their entrance. No lugging luggage.

We had the Tiepolo suite....room was 600 sq. ft.....patio/balcony was 1,000 sq. ft. Amazing size for any city, let alone Venice. View was amazing.

Hotel is 10% tired....could use a little sprucing up.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank awinrm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HMLuna, Direttore at Baglioni Hotel Luna, responded to this reviewResponded October 27, 2012

Dear awinrm,
Let thank you for choosing one of our Grand Lagoon Suite for your stay and more over thank you for sharing your experience in this forum. We all hope to see you again in our lovely city for a new emotion. Gianmatteo Zampieri - Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Venice hotels
San Marco
The Gritti Palace, A Luxury Collection Hotel
San Marco
The Westin Europa & Regina, Venice
San Marco
Bauer Palazzo
Bauer Palazzo
#77 of 385 in Venice
2,604 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Castello
Hotel Danieli, A Luxury Collection Hotel
Castello
Metropole Hotel
Metropole Hotel
#47 of 385 in Venice
1,298 reviews
Castello
Hotel Londra Palace
Hotel Londra Palace
#16 of 385 in Venice
1,600 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Baglioni Hotel Luna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Baglioni Hotel Luna

Address: San Marco, 1243, 30124 Venice, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > San Marco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Business Hotel in Venice
#22 Family Hotel in Venice
#38 Romantic Hotel in Venice
#41 Luxury Hotel in Venice
Price Range: $305 - $951 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Baglioni Hotel Luna 5*
Number of rooms: 91
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Housed in a mignificent, 12th century Venetian palazzo, reputed to have played host to the Templar Knights, this is the oldest hotel in Venice a stone's throw from St. Mark's Square and boasts a tradition of hospitality going back centuries. The hotel commands unrivalled views of the Lagoon and offers guests an intimate, welcoming atmosphere combined with impeccable service, classic cuisine and a private mooring berth to enter the hotel by gondola or motor boat. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Baglioni Hotel Luna reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Luna Hotel Venice
Luna Hotel Baglioni

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing