We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Top location, great staff, amazing hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Starhotels Splendid Venice
Ranked #68 of 385 Hotels in Venice
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
91 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Top location, great staff, amazing hotel”
Reviewed February 17, 2014

So many good things to say about this hotel. It's chic, trendy and modern (inside!). Great staff on reception, in the restaurant and at the door. Fantastic location that you just cannot fault - few minutes walk to San Marco square and Rialto bridge. Rooms are modern, fresh and very comfortable indeed. Great rooftop terrace with brilliant views.
Breakfast service was extremely efficient - this is how all hotels should do their breakie service. Good selection of tasty and good quality food and tables were cleared quickly afterwards.
Nice touch was the next day's weather details left on the bed in the evening along with chocolates. Very highly recommended indeed - will be back!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bazandbabs24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
splendidvenice2011, Direttore generale at Starhotels Splendid Venice, responded to this review, February 18, 2014
Dear Bazandbad,
thank you very much for taking the time to leve your precious comment about your stay and for choosing our hotel as place to stay in Venice. You made my day.. thank you so much.. I will make sure all our staff is aware of the excellent job done, I am sure everybody will be happy to read your nice comment !!
I hope to welcome you back soon "home" and wishing you a lovely day,
Best regards,
Salvatore Pisani
General Manger
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,597 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,488
    876
    168
    40
    25
See reviews for
467
1,547
48
104
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (348)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Shanghai
Level Contributor
40 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed February 13, 2014

Splendid Venice is a great hotel. It's is extremely super value for money. The location is excellent. The rooms are amazing. My room was facing the tiny canal below. Rooms are clean, spacious, bathroom is a good size. The service is fantastic, the breakfast is sumptuous. Located between St Mark's square and Rialto Bridge. Amazing hotel. Great Staff!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelerkit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
splendidvenice2011, Direttore generale at Starhotels Splendid Venice, responded to this review, February 18, 2014
Deat Travelerk,
tahnk you very much for taking the tiime to leave your precious comment about your recent stay..and dor staying with us.. To us It's really important for us to hear " the voice of our customers" and your comment let me feel very happy... thank you so much!!
I hope to welcome you back soon and wishing you a lovely day...
Best regards,
Salvatore Pisani
General Manger
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hudson, Quebec Canada
Level Contributor
124 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed February 13, 2014 via mobile

This was an itch that had to get scratched. And the hotel doesn't disappoint. I wanted to stay here when I first laid eyes on it 12 years ago. Located right in the centre of literally everything. The rooms are really cosy and spotlessly clean. I would evaluate this hotel as a 4 1/2 star almost a 5. We opted to pay a little more and get a canal view we were on the 4th floor high enough not to having any noise at all. I would recommend this hotel to all my friends without reservation. The only negative is that they charge you for wifi. The first hour being free. Not a plus for a hotel of this quality. Most hotels provide wifi for free. Hopefully, management will see this review and act upon it.

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank devon2325
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, UK
Level Contributor
58 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed February 8, 2014

We chose this hotel through Avios and they claimed that we were getting 50% off. Not true: we would have paid the same price if we had booked directly.
We took water bus 1 from Venezia Santa Lucia train station and got off at San Marco Vallaresso. At 7 euros each, it was a good ride. We bought a Venice map for 3 euros with our tickets. It is far better than the one you get from hotels.
The hotel is some 7/8 minutes on foot through Piazza San Marco. It is equidistant from the Rialto water bus stop too and, on our way back, we left from this station to avoid the 'acqua alta' (high tide).
The building is nice and looks as if it was recently refurbished. The staff at the reception desk was helpful and smiling.
Our room was on the top floor (5th) and was compact and clean. We had a view over the roof of the house opposite.
There was a large TV and a clean kettle with clean cups. There was also a mini bar with reasonable prices.
The bathroom was compact too. Perfect shower and a small TV which we did not use.
The breakfast room was on the ground floor and had a glass roof. I got my espresso and there was a good choice of pastries, bread, jams, honey, eggs and yogurts.
The bar is welcoming and there is a good reading room.
We got heart shaped chocolates before leaving.
A good hotel.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marzia E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 3, 2014

We have stayed in this hotel for a 3 day weekend in Venice. After wondering around for a bit before we managed to find it and once we got our heads around of where it was, it was in a perfect location short walk to the main tourist attractions. I have chosen this hotel due to some good reviews on Trip Advisor and also it was very reasonably priced. We had breakfast included which was great to start the day. There was a little bit of everything to choose from the buffet from scrambled eggs to selection of ham & cheese, croissants and fruits. The staff was very friendly and helpful. Room was a little on a small side even though we've had a deluxe double room, but absolutely perfect to crash for the night, it was very clean, big double bed, the bathroom was very big and also very clean. We didn't have a canal view but to be honest we didn't need it as we only came back to the room at night.
I would definitely recommend it and would stay again.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Raimonda N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 2, 2014

My Wife and I stayed here during our Month Long Europe vacation (January, 2014) and had planned on 4 days in Venice which we quickly decided we wanted to stay longer and ended up booking another 2 nights! The location is perfect, close to St. Marcos Square, the Rialto Bridge etc.... We had a Deluxe Double Room with Canal view and it was perfect!

The front desk staff was exceptional! Very helpful and accommodating to our questions and requests which was nice, offering suggestions for dinner, shopping, sights to see and more! We had a slight discrepancy with our bill upon check out with some charges but was quickly and efficiently handled, so all good!

Only negative we could say would have been the slower than normal service in the lounge area, however that was easily forgotten as soon as you look out the window and realize where you are!

I would recommend this Hotel to anyone looking for a pleasurable stay in Venice! We will be back for sure!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Currie33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hertfordshire
Level Contributor
93 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed January 31, 2014 via mobile

Had a long weekend here in January 2014 and I would agree with virtually all of the previous reviews in as much as the hotel is in a great location, the rooms are good, the hotel staff are exceptionally helpful and the prices are on the high side!!
The meal we had in the restaurant was probably the best meal we had in the entire time we were in Venice albeit one of the priciest and thats saying something for this city!!!!, if we return this will be the hotel for us, highly recommended.

Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank rex r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Venice hotels
San Marco
NH Collection Venezia Palazzo Barocci
San Marco
Hotel a La Commedia
Hotel a La Commedia
#30 of 385 in Venice
1,987 reviews
San Marco
Hotel Colombina
Hotel Colombina
#51 of 385 in Venice
1,797 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Castello
Aqua Palace Hotel
Aqua Palace Hotel
#42 of 385 in Venice
1,175 reviews
Castello
Hotel Ai Cavalieri di Venezia
San Marco
Hotel Saturnia & International
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Starhotels Splendid Venice? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Starhotels Splendid Venice

Property: Starhotels Splendid Venice
Address: San Marco Mercerie, 760, 30124 Venice, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > San Marco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Business Hotel in Venice
#46 Romantic Hotel in Venice
#46 Luxury Hotel in Venice
#47 Family Hotel in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Starhotels Splendid Venice 4*
Number of rooms: 165
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Splendid Venice hotel is based in the historic centre of Venice, with the city's must-see sights and hidden treasures all within your reach. Just a short stroll or gondola ride will take you to Venice's most iconic sights: San Marco square and the Rialto Bridge. Like the city itself, our 165 rooms and suites are a mixture of styles, but all capture the essence of a romantic Venice holiday. Blending contemporary comforts with details that reflect classic Venetian character, each room has a light, elegant atmosphere, with many offering wonderful views over canals and the Venice skyline with its magnificent San Marco's bell tower in the horizon. Le Maschere at the Splendid Venice is one of the few restaurants near San Marco Square that is popular with Venetians and tourists alike. This authentic Venetian restaurant serves classic dishes with a modern twist. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Agoda, Hotwire, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Starhotels Splendid Venice reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Starhotels Splendid Venice Hotel Venice
Starhotels Splendid Hotel Venice
Venice Starhotels Splendid Hotel
Starhotel Splendid Venice

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing