We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not what I expected at all! Be aware”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Starhotels Splendid Venice
Ranked #67 of 386 Hotels in Venice
Certificate of Excellence
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Not what I expected at all! Be aware”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2013

Omg!!!!!

1. Front desk especially Sylvana was so rude!!! No customer Svc at this hotel at all!
2. The Rooms are so small!
3. Breakfast was on a scale from 1 to 5 a 0,

We were going to stay for 4 nights but left after the second night even though we had paid for 4!!!

Because of them I don't even want to think about Venice anymore seriously!

It's like you owe them $$$$ to stay there!!!! Be AWARE!,, would not recommend.

Room Tip: Basically have nothing nice to say
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ana S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
splendidvenice2011, Direttore at Starhotels Splendid Venice, responded to this review, August 22, 2013
Dear Ana S,
first of all thank you very much for choosing our hotel as place to stay. Your comment is very important us but at the same time very surpring... Please accept my apologize for any inconvinient you might have received - be well assured I will investigate with both Silvana ad the head of dept. to better undertand the situation and the reason of your negative comment. All our staff is trained to deliver the best service in town, we deliver and excellent service, please see the many positive comments left by our guests even on this website itselfs, I am sure you might reconsider a visit in our beautiful city of Venice and at teh Splendid venice.
Best regards,
Salvatore Pisani
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,533 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,448
    856
    165
    40
    24
See reviews for
459
1,509
46
102
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (340)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
USA
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2013

Ok, so decent location, but tourist all over the place. When we arrived, we asked for an upgrade to a suite. The lady at the counter said E60 extra a night...I said OK. She walked around the corner, then came back and said it would be E100 more per night...huh? Just felt like they were trying to screw some money out of a tourist. We could not get a taxi to go directly to the hotel due to tides...so had to walk with numerous bags over rough streets with folks all around us. The all included breakfast includes: a very limited cereal choice, but with your choice of warm or room temp milk, watery eggs, barely cooked bacon, and I think a water down version of orange juice...and some dry muffins..yum! Super loud at night, or room overlooked the gorgeous view of the dinner area...argh, and their must not be any noise regulations.
We walked all over Venice, and saw many other hotels we could have enjoyed a lot more.
My suggestion about Venice...see the main tourist areas, but done spend most of your time there. Get lost on the many streets and see what beautiful sites you can come across, Churches, people etc. Plus, you will get a much better deal on gifts etc other than the main areas where they wont deal with you.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bosley1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
splendidvenice2011, Direttore at Starhotels Splendid Venice, responded to this review, August 22, 2013
Dear Bosley1,
thank you very much for chosing our hotel and for taking the time to leave your comment.. Any suggestions or opinions releated to our service is highly taken in consideration and if in any way this service can be improved be well assured that our will is to achieve this goal. I will investigate with the head of department to better understand the situation but to make sure you will have the right feeling with the hotel and with Venice - the upgrade to suite if availabe- it' s possible to get with an extra charge, you will be entitled to receive other benefts.Venice is a wonderful city, the high tide comes only for few hours we are sorry if you where not able to arrive directly by taxi to our Hotel, it's someting out of our controll.
We hope to have a second opportunity to welcome you at the Splendid Venice and in Venice, I am sure your stay will be "both " nice and enjoyble.
Best regards,
Salvatore Pisani
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2013

What a great hotel . Loved he location, the rooms so clean and bed so comfortable. We stayed one night before a cruise and one night after. Couldn't wait to get back for a good nights sleep. Bathrooms are all in white marble and so happy to see that they don't use shower curtains. The staff were fantastic. The check out time is 12 noon which gives you the morning

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cheryl N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2013

As we walked through St Marks Square towards the hotel I have to confess that the throng of fellow visitors didn't fill me with confidence that I was going to get a good nights' sleep but one turn into a small alley took us to the tranquil canal side location of this hotel. It is that close to some of the most iconic sites in the city. The multi-lingual reception staff could not have been friendlier or more helpful. On arrival we received an upgrade to a suite; no doubt due to our 8 year old son being with us. Our room was really well appointed with everything we expected and it was exceptionally clean. The bar area was airy and welcoming and every member of staff that we had dealings with at the hotel were friendly and courteous and as far as we were concerned the breakfast was excellent! In regard to value for money, it is Venice right! you know what to expect but the Hotel Splendid was well worth it!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Will-D1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BRISBANE
Level Contributor
56 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2013

Located on an enchanting canal our room overlooked the wonderful water ways. Our room was a standard room and we received a lovely upgrade. An easy 2 minute walk to St Marks Square. The staff were terrific in assisting with internet service and faxing several pages to business locations back in Australia. Breakfast was a treat, fresh fruit and the worlds best coffee. I was surprised with the competitive room rate considering it was August, the busiest period. You will not find better value for money in Venice.

Room Tip: Canal view, ours was a corner room, just a bit larger than normal
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PACIFICSWIM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
137 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2013 via mobile

We've stayed at 15 hotels in the last 6 weeks on a big european vacation and this was about as disappointing as any we've stayed in. Wifi for 30 mins at a go in the lobby only and they give you an individual password each time! In room wifi is an additional fee... Reception staff have all been rude and the free breakfast is a pretty poor standard... Bar and porter staff have been very good and the location is great... I'm not sure good value exists in Venice but this place has disappointed...

Helpful?
1 Thank JulesSi
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
splendidvenice2011, Direttore at Starhotels Splendid Venice, responded to this review, August 22, 2013
Dear Julee Si,
Although we may not enjoy a negative feedback, we thank you for sharing your experience at the Splendid Venice. We have taken your concerns very seriously I will investigate with the head of dept.. Your comments are invaluable in helping us create the ideal customer service experience for the future and we hope you will allow us another opportunity to show you that your experience has been an exception to a rule of dedicated and bespoke service.
Best regards,
Salvatore Pisani
General Manger
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Niagara Area
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2013

We spent 2 nights here in September 2012 on the second floor overlooking the canal with a wonderful view. The room was small but very nicely decorated and in the morning breakfast was included. We were very close to everything including San Marco Square .... wonderful location for the hotel. Evening walks were wonderful because of location but the highlight of our stay was our last evening. We were preparing to go out for dinner and the heavens opened up and poured rain .... outside our window there were 3 gondolas that took refuge under a bridge to stay dry. The Gondoliers then serenaded their guests for 45 minutes until the rain stopped. We took advantage of the situation poured a glass of wine,enjoying the sounds of as we called them "The Three Italian Tenors" Wonderful last evening in Italy !!!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NiagaraAreaTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Venice hotels
San Marco
Hotel a La Commedia
Hotel a La Commedia
#29 of 386 in Venice
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,934 reviews
San Marco
NH Collection Venezia Palazzo Barocci
San Marco
Hotel Colombina
Hotel Colombina
#51 of 386 in Venice
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,754 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Castello
Hotel Ai Cavalieri di Venezia
Castello
Aqua Palace Hotel
Aqua Palace Hotel
#41 of 386 in Venice
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,152 reviews
San Marco
Palace Bonvecchiati
Palace Bonvecchiati
#94 of 386 in Venice
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,299 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Starhotels Splendid Venice? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Starhotels Splendid Venice

Property: Starhotels Splendid Venice
Address: San Marco Mercerie, 760, 30124 Venice, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > San Marco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Business Hotel in Venice
#45 Luxury Hotel in Venice
#46 Romantic Hotel in Venice
#47 Family Hotel in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Starhotels Splendid Venice 4*
Number of rooms: 165
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Splendid Venice hotel is based in the historic centre of Venice, with the city's must-see sights and hidden treasures all within your reach. Just a short stroll or gondola ride will take you to Venice's most iconic sights: San Marco square and the Rialto Bridge. Like the city itself, our 165 rooms and suites are a mixture of styles, but all capture the essence of a romantic Venice holiday. Blending contemporary comforts with details that reflect classic Venetian character, each room has a light, elegant atmosphere, with many offering wonderful views over canals and the Venice skyline with its magnificent San Marco's bell tower in the horizon. Le Maschere at the Splendid Venice is one of the few restaurants near San Marco Square that is popular with Venetians and tourists alike. This authentic Venetian restaurant serves classic dishes with a modern twist. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Orbitz, Hotwire, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Starhotels Splendid Venice reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Starhotels Splendid Venice Hotel Venice
Starhotels Splendid Hotel Venice
Venice Starhotels Splendid Hotel
Starhotel Splendid Venice

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing