We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Location, Location, Location” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Starhotels Splendid Venice

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Starhotels Splendid Venice
Ranked #66 of 385 Hotels in Venice
Certificate of Excellence
Madeira Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
487 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 145 helpful votes
“Location, Location, Location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 2, 2013

Great location, just 5 minutes to Rialto bridge and 2 minutes to st. Marks square. Staff was friendly and even is assisting me in getting a coat and 2 cameras that were left in my jacket at a nearby restaurant. Restaurant is nice and the canal views are great. Picked up a gondala right outside the door.

Room Tip: Be sure you are on the canal side. Ask for a room with free wifi. Bot all of them have it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ernierad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,482 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,425
    833
    161
    39
    24
See reviews for
448
1,481
44
101
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (337)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Durban, South Africa
Level Contributor
23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 1, 2013

This hotel is a gem for Venice.Very neat and clean. Super staff. Room excellent and not too small. We had a window with a canal view. It was awesome. Breakfast more than adequate.The lounge and dining rooms are also large

Room Tip: Choose a room with a canal view
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank stevelDurban
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 1, 2013

We stayed in the Splendid while in Venice for the preview week of the Biennale. Hotel prices were therefore higher than normal, and the Splendid is expensive even in normal times. But it is a fine hotel. Our room was on the fifth floor, spacious enough and comfortable, with an excellent bed and a lovely balcony overlooking the rooftops towards the Campanile, where we could sit and relax. If only the bells hadn't rung at midnight and then again at 7 am. But if you're going to be woken this is a beautiful way for it to happen.

The hotel staff are very helpful and friendly, without the excessive attentiveness that can irritate in many expensive hotels. Housekeeping was impressively thorough.The location just off one of the main thoroughfares between San Marco and Rialto means that it is very convenient for getting to much of Venice (the 20-minute walk to the Giardini for the Biennale was lovely and one could also quickly get across the Grand Canal to San Polo, the Frari and so on) but it also means that there can be crowds as one emerges from the hotel. Nonetheless, within the hotel (nice bar and good restaurant) it is very tranquil. It is by no means cheap but it is an excellent place to stay.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GeoffC46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakville, Canada
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2013

We were water taxied to the Splendid upon our arrival the porter was waiting and took our 8 pieces of luggage as we were 4 in our group.The staff were very friendly and helpful. We were there May 4 weather was great . We were 5-10 minutes from St Mark's Square and Rialto Bridge . Step out of the Hotel and you are in area of lovely shops ,patisseries . Very good breakfast good choices ,the hostess very friendly informative .Enjoyed the Hotel and surrounding area very much

Room Tip: Had 2 twin beds could open window on alley way side .
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Louise Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
splendidvenice2011, Direttore generale at Starhotels Splendid Venice, responded to this review, May 30, 2013
Dear Louse Y,
Thank you very much for taking the tiem to leave your message about your recent stay in Venice at the Splendid.. It's really a great pleasure to read your comment.. You deserve the best, staying with us is an infinite emotion..
Thank you very much and I hope to have the possibility to welcome you soon back at the Splendid Venice..
Best regards,
Salvatore Pisani
General manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basel, Switzerland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2013

I booked this place online on the basis of reviews on Tripadvisor and they were all true. The hotel is really awesome and deserves this rating. Everything is perfect here. Rooms, services, food or staff- all is the best here. I enjoyed each and every moment of my stay and would strongly recommend it.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sakvithi R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
splendidvenice2011, Direttore at Starhotels Splendid Venice, responded to this review, May 30, 2013
Dear Sakvithir,
thank you very much for taking the to leave your comment ... I am so happy to read it... it' s nothing special, we love to wow all guests..
Thank you very much and i look forward to welcoming you soon,
Best regards,
Salvatore Psiani
General manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 26, 2013

We stayed mid- May and arrived at The Rialto Bridge water taxi stop where in 5 mins walk through some pretty streets found our hotel amongst all the lovely shops and patisseries with its own docking station. St. Marks Sq is 5 mins in the other direction from the hotel so it's perfectly located for all the sites and for eating and drinking and shopping.

The staff couldn't do enough to make us feel welcome and the room was lovely. We'd stayed bed and breakfast so continental was provided and this was fine. Plenty of choice. The restaurant looked lovely for an evening meal although we chose to eat out.

After a day you begin to recognise the streets and find your way around but at first feels like a maze and we walked in circles for a while. It was lovely to wake up to the sound of church bells at 7 am and birds with no traffic noise. Only boats.

We will be returning to Venice and this hotel as next time a trip to Verona and the lakes are on the agenda. Make the time to visit Burano. About 40 mins on the water bus. Absolutely beautiful as is Murano. :)

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MichelleS703
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 24, 2013

Very nice hotel and perfectly located. Front desk and concierge were very helpful and had great dinner recommendations. Room was a little small compared to other hotels we stayed at during our trip to Italy but I wouldnt let that stop you from staying here (king bed and it was comfortable). Breakfast was good but the main advantage was the location. We could walk almost everywhere within 10-15 minutes. I'd stay there again

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank FahmiK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Venice hotels
San Marco
Hotel a La Commedia
Hotel a La Commedia
#28 of 385 in Venice
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,904 reviews
San Marco
NH Collection Venezia Palazzo Barocci
Castello
Hotel Colombina
Hotel Colombina
#48 of 385 in Venice
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,728 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Castello
Hotel Ai Cavalieri di Venezia
Castello
Aqua Palace Hotel
Aqua Palace Hotel
#38 of 385 in Venice
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,130 reviews
San Marco
Palace Bonvecchiati
Palace Bonvecchiati
#91 of 385 in Venice
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,277 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Starhotels Splendid Venice? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Starhotels Splendid Venice

Property: Starhotels Splendid Venice
Address: San Marco Mercerie, 760, 30124 Venice, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > San Marco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Business Hotel in Venice
#46 Luxury Hotel in Venice
#46 Romantic Hotel in Venice
#47 Family Hotel in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Starhotels Splendid Venice 4*
Number of rooms: 165
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Splendid Venice hotel is based in the historic centre of Venice, with the city's must-see sights and hidden treasures all within your reach. Just a short stroll or gondola ride will take you to Venice's most iconic sights: San Marco square and the Rialto Bridge. Like the city itself, our 165 rooms and suites are a mixture of styles, but all capture the essence of a romantic Venice holiday. Blending contemporary comforts with details that reflect classic Venetian character, each room has a light, elegant atmosphere, with many offering wonderful views over canals and the Venice skyline with its magnificent San Marco's bell tower in the horizon. Le Maschere at the Splendid Venice is one of the few restaurants near San Marco Square that is popular with Venetians and tourists alike. This authentic Venetian restaurant serves classic dishes with a modern twist. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Agoda, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity and Jetsetter so you can book your Starhotels Splendid Venice reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Starhotels Splendid Venice Hotel Venice
Starhotels Splendid Hotel Venice
Venice Starhotels Splendid Hotel
Starhotel Splendid Venice

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing