We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“An unexpected pleasure” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Starhotels Splendid Venice

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Starhotels Splendid Venice
Ranked #67 of 386 Hotels in Venice
Certificate of Excellence
Connecticut
Level Contributor
32 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“An unexpected pleasure”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 6, 2013 via mobile

Stayed at the hotel in May, 2013, with my mother, my husband and my child (8). We took two rooms and the hotel put us right next to each other. Rooms were quite large (superior rooms) by European standards and immaculately clean. Great lighting and nice marble baths too. The hotel is quite modern in style and appears to be mostly filled with Americans, Brits, and Germans. Staff us charming and made excellent recommendations for dinner. Location is ideal, just 3 min from St. mark's square but down a quiet alley/canal. I'd return.

Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Hotel_Princess55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,417 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,387
    809
    158
    39
    24
See reviews for
437
1,442
42
99
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (328)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 6, 2013

My husband and I have just returned from a fabulous 3 night stay at the Splendid Venice Hotel. We searched many hotels and were not disappointed by the Splendid. We arrived at the private landing stage by water taxi from Marco Polo Airport and would highly recommend this method of transport for a once in a life time experience. The hotel boasts an envious location nearby Rialto Bridge in one direction and St Marks Square in the other yet it sits in a quaint canal where you can often see gondalas passing quitely by. The hotel bedroom was spotlessly clean and luxurious.We dined twice in the hotels beautiful restaurant "Le Maschere" where we had fabulous venetian food, wine and the staff were very friendly and welcoming. No wonder this is one of the best restaurants in Venice. Overall a fantastic stay in romantic Venice, hopefully we will be back!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Karen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eastern PA
Level Contributor
98 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 5, 2013

Located between St. Mark Square and the Rialto Bridge, this was the perfect location. They also have their own water taxi dock which was a godsend when we first arrived from the airport with our luggage.

Rooms are nicelt furnished/decorated and modern, large bathrooms, plenty of amenities.

Having breakfast as part of our plan was an easy way to start are day, as the choices included hot items, cereals, juices, fruits, breads, and more.

The included one hour gondola rowing lesson was a pleasant surprise as well.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MommiAnna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 3, 2013

My family and I stayed at Starhotels Splendid for 2 nights, and we were very happy to have chosen such a hotel. The hotel is centrally located that it only takes 5 minutes by foot to Rialto and 2 minutes to San Marco. Moreover, the hotel has its own private docking station allowing us to arrive directly to the hotel via a private water taxi from the airport. We were pleasantly surprised with the suites as they were very spacious and well appointed. The Front House Manager Diana, was very accommodating and the rest of the staff very efficient. The breakfast buffet was very good and well managed. The public areas were very clean and conducive for relaxing and entertaining guests. We could not ask for a better hotel to stay in Venice. We are definitely coming back.

Sincerely,

Juan Miguel Arcenas

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Juan Miguel A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
60 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 2, 2013

Even after extensive googling beforehand, it took us nearly an hour to find this starting from the Rialto Vaporetto stop (about 600 metres). Tip...from the Rialto simply follow signs for San Marco, and reverse if starting from St M!

The hotel itself was very good, charming and efficient service, very good breakfast buffet, including hot items, bar and lounge was expensive...drink out is my advice. Our room overlooking the canal landing stage was excellent, very scenic, and given the location surprisingly quiet until about 0800 hrs. Location of this hotel is very central, with many eating/drinking opportunities nearby. for the less touristy places (relative term!) head past the Rialto towards the north, within 10 minutes it's a lot quieter and probably much better value.

Room Tip: There are only 2 rooms with balconies overlooking the canal, ask! you may be lucky. Balconies are sm...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Teflonted
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 30, 2013

I have been to Venice numerous times and have had many unfortunate hotel stays. The Splendid was highly recommended by a friend and I was thrilled to have taken her advice.
The location was perfect, the staff very accommodating, the prices reasonable. The rooms and public areas clean, contemporary and extremely well done. It will certainly be the first of many stays there

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cdg0918
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 26, 2013

My wife and I stayed at Starhotels Splendid Venice in 2012 May, and the whole stay was awesome! The service was great, the food was great and the best part was its location. I found the restaurant in the hotel as definitely one of the best restaurants in Venice. There was one lady at the front desk who was extremely helpful whenever we wanted any sort of directions or recommendations. Unfortunately I do not remember the name of that lady now.

Would love to stay here again if we visit Venezia in future :)

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JatinK958
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Venice hotels
San Marco
Hotel a La Commedia
Hotel a La Commedia
#28 of 386 in Venice
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,868 reviews
San Marco
NH Collection Venezia Palazzo Barocci
Castello
Hotel Ai Cavalieri di Venezia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Marco
Palace Bonvecchiati
Palace Bonvecchiati
#91 of 386 in Venice
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,249 reviews
Castello
Hotel Colombina
Hotel Colombina
#53 of 386 in Venice
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,674 reviews
Castello
Aqua Palace Hotel
Aqua Palace Hotel
#35 of 386 in Venice
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,102 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Starhotels Splendid Venice? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Starhotels Splendid Venice

Property: Starhotels Splendid Venice
Address: San Marco Mercerie, 760, 30124 Venice, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > San Marco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Business Hotel in Venice
#46 Romantic Hotel in Venice
#47 Family Hotel in Venice
#47 Luxury Hotel in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Starhotels Splendid Venice 4*
Number of rooms: 165
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Splendid Venice hotel is based in the historic centre of Venice, with the city's must-see sights and hidden treasures all within your reach. Just a short stroll or gondola ride will take you to Venice's most iconic sights: San Marco square and the Rialto Bridge. Like the city itself, our 165 rooms and suites are a mixture of styles, but all capture the essence of a romantic Venice holiday. Blending contemporary comforts with details that reflect classic Venetian character, each room has a light, elegant atmosphere, with many offering wonderful views over canals and the Venice skyline with its magnificent San Marco's bell tower in the horizon. Le Maschere at the Splendid Venice is one of the few restaurants near San Marco Square that is popular with Venetians and tourists alike. This authentic Venetian restaurant serves classic dishes with a modern twist. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your Starhotels Splendid Venice reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Starhotels Splendid Venice Hotel Venice
Starhotels Splendid Hotel Venice
Venice Starhotels Splendid Hotel
Starhotel Splendid Venice

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing