We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hotel and location.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Starhotels Splendid Venice
Ranked #65 of 387 Hotels in Venice
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 1, 2013

This is an excellent hotel with very helpful staff. Definitely recommend. Perfect position, very convenient if you want to pop back or your sense of direction is not very good as it is easy to find. You don't have to walk through the alleyway to get to it as previously mentioned. The hotel is on the main walk through from St. Mark's square to the Rialto Bridge, and yes probably easiest first time from the Square. You walk under the clock tower to the end, turn right, almost immediately on your left is an alleyway - don't go down there. A couple of metres further along turn left. A Cartier jewellers will then be on your right. Walk to the end and the very last door on your left is the hotel reception. Easy. If you want to go onto the Rialto Bridge, just continue up the steps, turn right, then left over the canal. It is then sign posted, but you have a couple of options either carry straight on or turn right again to a little square with snack bars, a few stalls and the Disney shop! Then left and continue straight onto the Bridge.
We did arrive by water taxi to the hotels landing stage which was great, and as it was our first time in Venice we thought it would be a lovely treat. And it was, although it is expensive you don't have the problem then of finding your hotel with cases.
But beware, we were doing a tour of the Grand Canal and popped into a snack bar near the station and paid a 6 euro bill with a 20 euro note. The lady assistant spoke to us in English but she only gave us change of 10 euros. When we queried it she suddenly could not speak English and denied we gave her a 20 note! I know this is a classic scam but did not expect it here, and the position of the snack bar close to the station I bet she catches many new arrivals out. So take care, and try and use as near the correct money as you can.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LinWickford_Essex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,769)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

987 - 993 of 2,769 reviews

Reviewed March 31, 2013 via mobile

Perfect location near Rialto Bridge and St Marks Square. Hotel amazing. Staff friendly and helpful. Had a beautiful room overlooking the canal. Would stay here again if I were to return to Venice.
Would recommend the water bus from San Marco airport to Rialto as it only costs 15 euros each as opposed to 120 euros for a water taxi.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Louise S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 30, 2013

We stayed 3 nights. Bed was made each day with fresh linen and turned down each night. Didn't realise until final evening we should have had dressing gowns until they appeared on last night. Choice of pillows.
Every thing about the hotel was excellent. Staff were always very pleasant.
Pity about the poor directions to the hotel on the website. Did consider taking a water taxi from Marco polo as we have done before , but seems that most of them won't take you to this hotels landing stage, just to the rialto. We took the alilaguna which was well timed for our arrival. To find the water transfer (which to us was not well signposted) make sure as you exit the main doors from the airport building to turn sharp left and walk some 50m to the covered way which leads you directly to the water taxi/Alilaguna docks. These are about 10 minute walk away.
Directions on the hotel website are poor. Unfortunately the google earth locator pointer does not point at the hotel site, but to another building across the adjoining canal.
Best way we found to locate it was to approach the hotel from St Marks sq walking under the clock tower as far as you could along that lane in a straight line. Then turn right and almost immediately (about ten m along) there there is a small alley to your left (not right as the hotel website which looks a bit dark and univiting) but to reassure you look down and inlaid on the floor is a sign 'Splendid' . Walk along this alley turning first left then right and the hotel reception is at the end on your right.
Our Superior room on the 3rd floor was small but imaculate (probably recently refurbished) with very pleasant marble ensuite and powerfull shower. According to the fire plan our room was the smallest on the third floor and looked out onto the covered courtyard where breakfast was served. This was not a problem.
Having said all that we would happily return, breakfasts were very pleasant and certaily better than other italian hotels we have visited.

Room Tip: This was thier lowest cost room and we were very pleased.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank StevePatNorfolk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 27, 2013

The location is 5mins walk from Rialto or St Marks Square. Restaurant was good for dinner, pricey, but so is everything in Venice. The buffet breakfast was fine. Room was very clean and modern, we had a standard room which was better than we expected. White marble bathroom was good size and well fitted. Beds very comfortable. Comfy bar / lounge area, all staff we spoke to were very friendly and helpful.
If we go to Venice again we would stay here without hesitation.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SteveMc121960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 27, 2013

This hotel was a perfectly located venue for our city break to Venice.
Walking distance to and from a water taxi station and San Marco, it was a clean, quiet and comfortable hotel.
The lobby area was a busy hive with other residents providing a nice atmosphere.
The room was comfortable, but the duvet and pillows were too soft/light.
The staff were always helpful and friendly.
Although, I wouldn't trust their 'recommended' restaurants. These were not great.

Room Tip: Choose a room that is not street facing as the rooms can carry much of the outdoor noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sairah79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 26, 2013

This is a great hotel!
In terms of location, you simply cannot beat it, 5mins from the Rialto Bridge and 5mins to St Marks Square.
Rooms are lovely, very nicely decorated and good size as well, compared with other hotels I've stayed in Italy.
Would really recommend getting a taxi transfer from the airport as the hotel has the boat landing which makes getting from the airport to the hotel unbelievably easy and it is really the best way to arrive in Venice! Staff are all very friendly and helpful, nothing is too much trouble.
Overall a great place and I would thoroughly recommend it!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pippa P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 24, 2013

Finding anything in Venice can be a challenge, but our experience in this labyrinth of a city was worlds easier with the Splendid as our starting point. Located along an easily distinguishable route between St. Mark's and the Rialto, we found our way out and back quickly.

But the Splendid had more going for it than just location: our Superior room, while small, was well appointed, quiet, and comfortable. We had no view to speak of, but from what I hear, that's pretty common in Venice. The staff was friendly — in fact, I corresponded with a gentleman named Georgio before we booked to ensure we could get a room with a queen bed rather than two singles. He said we could, and the Splendid delivered.

The Splendid isn't cheap, but it's a solid choice.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sweetbippy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Venice hotels
San Marco
NH Collection Venezia Palazzo Barocci
San Marco
Palace Bonvecchiati
Palace Bonvecchiati
#97 of 387 in Venice
1,415 reviews
Castello
Hotel Ai Cavalieri di Venezia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Castello
Hotel Savoia & Jolanda
Hotel Savoia & Jolanda
#80 of 387 in Venice
1,920 reviews
San Marco
Hotel Colombina
Hotel Colombina
#47 of 387 in Venice
1,935 reviews
Santa Croce
Hotel Papadopoli Venezia MGallery by Sofitel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Starhotels Splendid Venice? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Starhotels Splendid Venice

Address: San Marco Mercerie, 760, 30124 Venice, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > San Marco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Business Hotel in Venice
#31 Family Hotel in Venice
#43 Luxury Hotel in Venice
#46 Romantic Hotel in Venice
Price Range: $169 - $632 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Starhotels Splendid Venice 4*
Number of rooms: 165
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Splendid Venice hotel is based in the historic centre of Venice, with the city's must-see sights and hidden treasures all within your reach. Just a short stroll or gondola ride will take you to Venice's most iconic sights: San Marco square and the Rialto Bridge. Like the city itself, our 165 rooms and suites are a mixture of styles, but all capture the essence of a romantic Venice holiday. Blending contemporary comforts with details that reflect classic Venetian character, each room has a light, elegant atmosphere, with many offering wonderful views over canals and the Venice skyline with its magnificent San Marco's bell tower in the horizon. Le Maschere at the Splendid Venice is one of the few restaurants near San Marco Square that is popular with Venetians and tourists alike. This authentic Venetian restaurant serves classic dishes with a modern twist. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TravelClick, Hotels.com, Agoda, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Starhotels Splendid Venice reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Starhotels Splendid Venice Hotel Venice
Starhotels Splendid Hotel Venice
Venice Starhotels Splendid Hotel
Starhotel Splendid Venice

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing