We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable and classic”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Starhotels Splendid Venice
Ranked #67 of 384 Hotels in Venice
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 15, 2013

When searching for a hotel in Venice I kept finding hotels with red velvet and dark venetian styles. This was a bright and classic find just a few steps from St. Mark's square. Great value, lovely decor and the best location. We would open our windows to the canal to listen to gondolier drivers singing and the church bells ringing. Breakfast was included and adequate...baked apples, fruit, cereal and pastries got us ready for our long day of sightseeing in this amazing city. The staff was cheerful and proffesional and the facility was immaculate. The lounge and common areas were sylish with a nod to venetian style without the bordello of blood red rooms. If you prefer bright and calssic decor I say book this hotel with confidence. The location is truly the bestin Venice.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mikeyf1975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,699)
There are newer reviews for Starhotels Splendid Venice
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

965 - 971 of 2,700 reviews

Reviewed March 14, 2013

Spent 4 days in Venice, the hotel was halfway between San Marco Square and the Rialto Bridge. Excellent location, easy to get to everything. We had a room that looked out over a small canal and a private walled courtyard. Every morning we would throw open the shutters and listen to the bells of St Mark's. The hotel room was very well appointed with a marble bathroom c/w bidet. The hotel had an excellent hot buffet breakfast (complimentary) every morning and an excellent sitting area beside a gondola dock, where you could watch the gondolas and listen to the occasional gondoliers sing. Very close to the hotel was a small, reasonably priced, very romantic trattoria that was eye level with the passing gondolas with a small bridge afew feet from the open window, also the best service and food I think I have ever eaten. Back to the hotel, free internet in the lobby made keeping in contact with family and friends very easy.

Room Tip: request a room with a view of the canal
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Glen120
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 14, 2013

The location was splendid. Located in between San Marco square and Rialta bridge. Gondola service outside the entrance. (Beware, the running cost of gondola service is 80Euro.) Recommend getting the daily water taxi ticket for the length of your stay. Rooms were modern and nicely furnished. No shower curtain/partition which can get drafty. (It is like this in most hotels in Italy though) Friendly staff and great restaurant/breakfast buffet.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank QueenofBravo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 14, 2013

I have just spent a weekend in Venice and spent three nights at the Splendid Hotel. The staff are fantastic and I would like to give a special thanks to Marco the barman. The hotel itself is in a perfect location - just moments away fro St Marks Square. It is clean, comfortable and you are made to feel incredibly welcome. Wouldnt hesitate for a moment to recommend

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nnl01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 12, 2013

Spent a weekend in Splendid Venice. This was the first time we stayed at this hotel. It's easy to find and very central - a short walk to all the main attractions in Venice. We had a warm welcome and were pleasantly surprised to find we were upgraded from the room we had booked. Our room was exquisite overlooking a quiet canal, lovely decor, with all the amenities one would want - very quiet too. Breakfast was good and service was excellent. Will not even consider another hotel next time - will just book this one.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SPITZ356
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 9, 2013

We started our honeymoon here. Unfortunately we had to wait for our room after a horrible flight. However they did upgrade us, our patio overlooked st marks sq. great location. Beautiful city. They assisted, in English, where to go and what not to miss
Would return

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michaelaack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 9, 2013

My husband and I stayed here for 3 nights 5 March to 8 March and could not fault anything! Everyone very friendly and helpful. Fabulous location, being just a few minutes walk in opposite directions to either St Marks or Rialto Bridge - oh, and also, ladies, on the most exclusive shopping walkway in Venice!

Our room was very well decorated in neutrals with wooden floors and a marble bathroom to die for with luscious toiletries! A nice touch was a dressing room with ample hooks and hangers + safety deposit box. Coffee/Tea making facilities in the room and a well stocked mini bar. A lovely retreat to put your feet up after a day's exploring to chill out before walking out for Dinner. The Lounge and Bar areas are relaxing too and you can sit and watch the gondolas float by until dark.

Masses of Restaurants and Bars around and about within a very short walk, one just 10 steps across the first bridge we would recommend - we didn't have dinner at the restaurant as seemed a little formal, we preferred to discover more intimate authentic trattorias and enjoy their set menu choices for around 15euros.

Breakfast was excellent with scrambled eggs, bacon, every ham and cheese + breads and cereals. All in all a great choice and highly recommended.

Room Tip: Our room was absolutely fine for us over looking the central covered courtyard.
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kitkatsunshine06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Venice hotels
San Marco
Hotel a La Commedia
Hotel a La Commedia
#30 of 384 in Venice
2,049 reviews
San Marco
NH Collection Venezia Palazzo Barocci
San Marco
Hotel Colombina
Hotel Colombina
#50 of 384 in Venice
1,864 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Marco
Hotel Saturnia & International
Castello
Hotel Ai Cavalieri di Venezia
San Marco
Palace Bonvecchiati
Palace Bonvecchiati
#100 of 384 in Venice
1,367 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Starhotels Splendid Venice? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Starhotels Splendid Venice

Address: San Marco Mercerie, 760, 30124 Venice, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > San Marco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Business Hotel in Venice
#46 Romantic Hotel in Venice
#46 Luxury Hotel in Venice
#47 Family Hotel in Venice
Price Range: $173 - $1,287 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Starhotels Splendid Venice 4*
Number of rooms: 165
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Splendid Venice hotel is based in the historic centre of Venice, with the city's must-see sights and hidden treasures all within your reach. Just a short stroll or gondola ride will take you to Venice's most iconic sights: San Marco square and the Rialto Bridge. Like the city itself, our 165 rooms and suites are a mixture of styles, but all capture the essence of a romantic Venice holiday. Blending contemporary comforts with details that reflect classic Venetian character, each room has a light, elegant atmosphere, with many offering wonderful views over canals and the Venice skyline with its magnificent San Marco's bell tower in the horizon. Le Maschere at the Splendid Venice is one of the few restaurants near San Marco Square that is popular with Venetians and tourists alike. This authentic Venetian restaurant serves classic dishes with a modern twist. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Starhotels Splendid Venice reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Starhotels Splendid Venice Hotel Venice
Starhotels Splendid Hotel Venice
Venice Starhotels Splendid Hotel
Starhotel Splendid Venice

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing