We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Starhotels Splendid Venice
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
View Hotel
  • Breakfast included
  • Free Internet
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Caneva(Venice)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Orion(Venice)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (2,850)
Filter reviews
2,850 results
Traveler rating
1,670
928
181
42
29
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,670
928
181
42
29
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsrialto bridgegreat locationcanal viewwater taxideluxe roomst marks squarerooftop barsmall canalhotel restaurantsan marcomarble bathroomwatch the gondolascentral locationpastriesloved this hotelwould highly recommend this hotelbreakfast was included
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
1,060 - 1,065 of 2,850 reviews
Reviewed February 19, 2013

We stayed for 2 nights 16th Feb. Booked a standard double room through Travel republic and paid £222. I had trawled through many hotels looking for something with great reviews and a more contemporary style than the usual venetian hotel. Upon arrival we were upgraded to a suite by the welcoming staff and shown to the room. It was spotlessly clean and luxurious but not the style shown in the photographs (more traditionally styled, one part of the hotel has not been refurbished). Although it was perfectly nice I telephoned the reception to advise that I prefered a more contemporary room and they immediately sent someone to show us another room. This was much more to our liking and was beautifully decorated. I am not sure what type of room it was but we had a balcony with furniture overlooking a side canal (albeit a long way down), tea & coffee facilities, superbly comfortable bed and luxurious bathroom. We were more than pleased for the price we paid. You really feel that the staff do their very best to please their guests, nothing was too much trouble.
This hotel has a fabulous location, step outside the door onto your first little bridge and start to explore. There are hundreds of shops, restaurants,sights and sounds to discover. It is a wonderful area to just get lost in. It is truly 2 mins walk to the vaporetto stop at Rialto Bridge ( although on arriving it did take us a while to navigate around all the little alleyways and streets to find it but that was a great start to our holiday! ) Would recommend using the water bus as it is cheap, the private water taxis are beautiful but very pricey! (approx 90 Euros from the hotel to the bus station as opposed to 7 euros on the vaporetto). St Marks Square is only 5 mins max, just a stroll through one or two beautiful little streets. We had heard that the restaurants in Venice are expensive and food not good, from talking to other people this seemed to be somewhat true. However, there are many many little food shops where you can grab a pizza slice or similar for lunch and many little cafes in small squares where you can easily have a cappucino for around 3 euros. Also we ate at The Hard Rock cafe which is situated just off St Marks Square in a small basin area where there is a gondola service and all the gondoliers gather. You can eat upstairs on a balcony looking out over the water and watch all the activity. A main course meal for 2 and a bottle of wine was 60 euros. We never tend to eat in hotels apart from breakfast which was fine, a lovely setting and the usual buffet offerings, fresh coffee served to your table, not a machine and I enjoyed lovely cappucinos. The bar/lounge area was lovely but we didn't have a drink in there. We had a gondola ride from just outside the hotel (paid 60 Euros for 20 mins). In short we had a superb time in a fantastic city and a wonderful hotel right in the middle of everything. I am extremely fussy about accomodation and I couldn't fault this place. Would definitely return and would highly recommend to anyone.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank walkerspad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 18, 2013

We stayed here for two days over the valentines weekend and was really really pleased with this hotel, it has a great central location! Just a few mins walk from Rialto bridge!
We were upgraded and the room was amazing, we had a massive bathroom and what I would call a real Venetian feel to the decor, it's also very clean. We had great view overlooking a canal which was great to open the blinds to in the morning, The staff in arrival were very nice and check in was easy, we spent ( probably to much time!) in the bar downstairs where we had reasonably priced wine served by marco who if you asked could point you in the right direction to sightseeing and places to eat.
The breakfast was not brilliant it's got fresh juices but really sloppy scrambled eggs and almost raw bacon! But I was happy to eat the cheese and salami on offer the room it's self is brilliant and very nice to eat in.
We had dinner also on one of the evenings and you would never think its just a hotel, in fact it's rated no47 on here out of hundreds!
Although not "cheap" we had two courses, wine, and coffee for 143 euros so not mental either,I would highly recommend this hotel.

I loved Venice and although the gondolas are a massive rip off (40 euros PER PERSON) for about 15/20 mins its got to be done. It's really easy to get lost here we looked for a restaurant that had been recommended and after an hour waking about in circles we gave up, but its such a lovely place to visit.
There are some great places to eat on the water and not badly priced although go for pizza my husband had veal and it obviously wasn't there speciallity! I'm not sure what meat it was! Word to the wise they charge 1.50euros to use public bathrooms anywhere so best to use it while your having coffee,
There is a coffee shop right by Rialto bridge ( small one) don't go it's 6 euros for a coffee! You can get it much cheaper over the otherside!

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank luganolp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 18, 2013

We stayed here in January for 2 nights. The breakfast was quite good and the staff were very friendly. The restaurant down stairs was lovely, great food and wine and great service. The rooms are nice, although quite cosy!! The sound proofing between the rooms is non existent! We could hear all sorts from our neighbours room!

I would stay here again but I would request a room where perhaps I could hear other guests!

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank liviburden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 17, 2013

We stayed here for three nights in the middle of February and chose this hotel based on TA reviews. We were not disappointed at all. Firstly the hotel is a great location, about ten minutes from Rialto Bridge, which was good as this was where we got off the Alilaguna boat from the airport. Inside the hotel it is very modern, check a breeze and we were provided with a useful map. We stayed in a deluxe room with a canal view which was lovely, The room was a large size with tea and coffee making facilities, mini bar (paid), TV, marbled bathroom with bath and shower and toiletries. The large bed was very comfortable, just as well after a day sightseeing in Venice. The breakfast provided was plentiful with enough variety for most people. Overall a great hotel and in a great location. Would have no doubt recommending or returning to next time.

Room Tip: Book a room with a canal view and you wont be disappointed.
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Simon H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 4, 2013

Recently returned from 4 night stay in Venice. Perfect time of the year for a visit, helped by the standard of hotel and the glorious sunshine we had for 2 days! We were upgraded to superior room with view over canal. Spotlessly clean with a particular attention to detail. The hotel sits halfway between Rialto Bridge and San Marco, five minutes either way if that. Just make sure you know which streets to follow, if you have arrived on waterbus and don't leave it to chance. It is very easy to get lost! Ate in the restaurant first night, food and service were excellent. Mainly locals in eating.
Would certainly return to this hotel again and hope to try some other Starhotels in Italy, if they are all as good as this one!

Room Tip: Ask for canal view but do bear in mind, Venice is a working city and you may waken up with the sounds of the city!
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ferrygirl55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews