We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Location, Lovely Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Starhotels Splendid Venice
Ranked #68 of 385 Hotels in Venice
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 26, 2012

19 of us stayed for 1 night. The hotel is clean and the rooms spacious. We used the bar and had a lovely breakfast. Good value for money and well located. Friendly service.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 2aspen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,694)
There are newer reviews for Starhotels Splendid Venice
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,181 - 1,187 of 2,694 reviews

Reviewed March 25, 2012

My wife and I stayed at Starhotels Splendid Venice for four nights. We arrived from the airport by water taxi. The hotel is very well situated near San Marco Square and the Rialto Bridge. The interior lobby is very stylish and comfortable. Our check-in was smooth, but took about 10-15 minutes because a two other couples arrived at the same time and there were only two staff members at the front desk. Our room was on the interior, overlooking the restaurant. It was nice, spacious, and clean. Bed was large and comfortable and the pillows / sheets were new. We only ate at the restaurant for breakfast, but the food was good and the staff very friendly. Although we didn't have dinner there, we frequently heard the live piano player from our room which was really nice. The downstairs bar is pretty cool. We really liked the ambience.

My only complaint was that the front desk tended to be stretched at times. They were always friendly, but would get backed up on a regular basis. Also, there is no dedicated concierge. The front staff can help you with directions and restaurant recommendations, but will have trouble with more complicated concierge stuff.

Overall, we really liked the hotel. Stylish, comfortable, clean, and a good value. We will be staying here in the future and would highly recommend it to others.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CCinPrinceton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 24, 2012

It was the most romantic place I ever could imagine. The hotel is full of beautiful details, style, design, everything is excellent! You just feel very relaxing there, what else do we need for romantic weekend? And ... very comfortable pillows :)

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Yulia T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 22, 2012

This hotel is much more than 5 stars considering the location that he is in Venice, the size of the room for family (one small living room, one room with two beds for the kids and one room with a double bed for us).
The location is between the Rialto bridge and the San Marco Piazza (5 min for each attraction).
Beside of that an amazing restaurant and a service outstanding.
The kids loved their exclusive room with a TV just for them.
For sure this is the best hotel that we stayed during our whole vacation in Italy (Rome, Florence and Venice).

Stayed: April 2011
Thank Corbellini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 20, 2012

We arrived at the hotel by a private water taxi €120 there and €110 on the way back - certainly a great way to arrive at the hotel even if a little pricey.
Lovely hotel in a great location, perfectly central to everywhere.
Check in was easy after a small wait in the queue, reception staff were OK, I can't say I felt a warm welcome but too be honest I didn't expect one and its not a 5* hotel. I know previous reviews have been negative about the reception staff but not sure what people do expect?
Room was small but suited our needs, only use the room to sleep and shower! Our room over looked the atrium so at times was very noisey.
Breakfast - was very simple and basic not sure how often it gets very busy at this hotel but had to wait one morning for 20 minutes to get seated - I should imagine in high season this happening every morning.
Lovely bar and get barman (Marco) very friendly and helpful.
Having said that I would return to this hotel, perfect location and suited our needs for our long weekend.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pudgina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 19, 2012

Stayed here 3 times, a great location,very modern rooms & very good restaurant. Rooms vary greatly in size. Best rooms are in front of hotel facing canal. Very modern marble bathrooms, good beds, on demand English speaking movies on TV..free wi-fi in lobby. Do not open windows because mosquitos get in rooms. Air conditioning good. Only transportation to hotel from airport or train station is private boat & very expensive. Better to take vaporetto to Rialto Bridge and walk a few blocks, but get a map because it can be very confusing. One small bridge with a few stairs on each side to cross.

Room Tip: Rates less mid week & change very often on Internet. Best deal there.Keep checking. Can change...
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nancy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
splendidvenice2011, Direttore at Starhotels Splendid Venice, responded to this reviewResponded March 20, 2012

Dear Nancy,
first of all thank you so much for your short but nice comment.. and of course for coming back to the Starhotels Splendid Venice. It will be a great pleasure to know you personally, please let me know when you are coming back, as expert who lives in Venice from many years I'll be happy to share with you a special segret against mosquitos...
Best regards,
Salvatore Pisani
General Manger

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 19, 2012

This is a comfortable, stylish, recently refurbished 4 star hotel. The location on a quiet canal midway between the Rialto bridge & St Marks square makes it an ideal choice if sightseeing in Venice.It has pleasant lounges & dining area in the central glazed atrium is a nice spot for breakfast.Breakfast was included in the room rate and comprised a reasonable selection of hot and continental items.We did not have dinner during our stay there being a lot of resaurants in easy walking distance.All in all a good value choice in an expensive city..

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wanderer59-11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
splendidvenice2011, Direttore at Starhotels Splendid Venice, responded to this reviewResponded March 20, 2012

Dear Wondererer59-11,
thank you so much for taking the time to leave few words about yur recent stay.
We are happy you have enjoyed your stay finding our Hotel very confortable.
We sincerely hope to welcome you back soon at the Starhotels Splendid Vencie and remain,
Best regards,
Salvatore Pisani
General Manger

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Venice hotels
San Marco
Hotel a La Commedia
Hotel a La Commedia
#31 of 385 in Venice
2,045 reviews
San Marco
NH Collection Venezia Palazzo Barocci
San Marco
Hotel Colombina
Hotel Colombina
#50 of 385 in Venice
1,860 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Marco
Hotel Saturnia & International
Castello
Hotel Ai Cavalieri di Venezia
San Marco
Palace Bonvecchiati
Palace Bonvecchiati
#101 of 385 in Venice
1,366 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Starhotels Splendid Venice? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Starhotels Splendid Venice

Address: San Marco Mercerie, 760, 30124 Venice, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > San Marco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Business Hotel in Venice
#46 Romantic Hotel in Venice
#47 Luxury Hotel in Venice
#47 Family Hotel in Venice
Price Range: $207 - $1,445 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Starhotels Splendid Venice 4*
Number of rooms: 165
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Splendid Venice hotel is based in the historic centre of Venice, with the city's must-see sights and hidden treasures all within your reach. Just a short stroll or gondola ride will take you to Venice's most iconic sights: San Marco square and the Rialto Bridge. Like the city itself, our 165 rooms and suites are a mixture of styles, but all capture the essence of a romantic Venice holiday. Blending contemporary comforts with details that reflect classic Venetian character, each room has a light, elegant atmosphere, with many offering wonderful views over canals and the Venice skyline with its magnificent San Marco's bell tower in the horizon. Le Maschere at the Splendid Venice is one of the few restaurants near San Marco Square that is popular with Venetians and tourists alike. This authentic Venetian restaurant serves classic dishes with a modern twist. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Starhotels Splendid Venice reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Starhotels Splendid Venice Hotel Venice
Starhotels Splendid Hotel Venice
Venice Starhotels Splendid Hotel
Starhotel Splendid Venice

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing