We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“crabby staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Westin Europa & Regina, Venice
Ranked #96 of 386 Hotels in Venice
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
A TripAdvisor Member
“crabby staff”
Reviewed June 30, 2006

my wife and i were there for three days for our honeymoon. We found the staff to be uncooperative and very negative to us. When we tried to cash some american express travelers checks, the cashier said he couldn't cash them even though my wife signed them right in front of him. we asked to speak with the manager who was equally not helpful. upon our return to san francisco we filed a complaint to starwood who requested a response from the manager. we got a one sentence response saying there must have been a communications problem. the rooms were in need of updating and repair. not what we expected for $800 per day.

  • Stayed April 2004
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,331 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,227
    634
    251
    130
    89
See reviews for
515
1,204
62
118
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (478)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
29 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
Reviewed June 26, 2006

The Westin E&R is in a great location on the Grand Canal. It's not in the mayhem of San Marco but just a very short 3 minute walk to San Marco. We had a very nice room on the 6th floor in the Europa wing with a view of the canal. The king size bed was very comfortable and the turn down service was great. They left us slippers by our bed and mints every night. We left the window open and had no issues with bugs. The room was much larger than the other hotels that we stayed at in Italy save for the Marriott on Capri. The staff was friendly and helpful. The breakfast buffett is quite extensive but it's very pricey. I believe it was Euros 40/pp and we only did it our last day there because of an early flight out of Venice. We would definitely stay here again our next time in Venice.

Stayed May 2006
Helpful?
6 Thank Toadman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta
Level Contributor
24 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed June 14, 2006

Stayed 3 nites prior to Cruise in a partial canal view deluxe. Arrived early at 11:30 AM and they took us immediatley to the 5 th floor Europa..This hotel was booked!!. The room was about 20 by 25 feet ..extremely large with a foyer , bathroom marble from floor and walls with coffered ceiling ( very classy) Furnishing very nice . Two double windows with small ledge and great canal view. We did not dine at the Europa( went to the La Terrazza roof top at the Danieli, Cips Club at the Cipriani and Fiaschetteria Toscana) but had lunch first day. Came back after dinner each nite and had drinks and a cigar on the deck outside. The service was first class.....I highly recommend this hotel for the location, accomodations,view and the service !!!

  • Stayed May 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank paulsurf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leighton Buzzard, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed June 8, 2006

We stayed at this hotel last weekend and I have to say it was wonderful. We had a room on the 3rd floor overlooking the canal and it was breathtaking. I would recommend this hotel and the room that we had to anyone who wants luxury, view, and a huge comfortable bed.

  • Stayed June 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank RogerandDeborahHALE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
b oston
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed June 5, 2006

we stayed at the westin europa and regina for 2 days end of may. horrible experience!. When re arrived much exhaused from flying, we had reservations, (made way back in novemember) for 2 rooms. much to our dismay they told us that they only had 1 of the rooms. (and the hotel was booked). i understand things like that happen, but the manner in which we were treated was unacceptable! when we have had other problems in traveling with reservations (and we have), most "reputable" hotels will say something like, "why don't you go into the lounge, have a drink on us while we settle this matter". oh no, not the westin. they made us wait around for a hour or so, only to come back to say we can put you up in another hotel!!! (that meant moving all our luggage (AGAIN) onto the water taxi, and with NO UPGRADE FOR THE INCONVENIENCE!!! so after a shouting match (normally not our style, but VERY TIRED) and 2 hours later, we had our rooms.
which by the way were DEFINATELY not worth the money. this hotel's public rooms are very nice but our rooms were worn and dingy. not what you wouold expect from a westin property!!!

Be prepared to shell out LOTS of cash in venice. We never mind spending LOTS of money while on vacation, but in my opinion, venice is WAY overpriced for what you get.
We had 2 cokes and a snack on the terrace... it came out to about 15 euros for a coke!

oh and one final (sorry so long) the other room that our traveling friends had... it appears she got bug bites...... sorry guys, find another hotel....

Helpful?
8 Thank cdo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed May 27, 2006

We only stayed one night and they upgraded our room for no extra charge. They said it was their gift to us. We already got a tremendous deal on the room we booked (40%), so this was definitely an added bonus. The grand canal terrace dining was lovely. Prices are expensive, but it's San Marco in Venice, that's what you should expect. The food and drinks were really good and the staff was kind. The service is slow, but again that is expected in Italy. The location was convenient and I would recommend this hotel looking for an american hotel in venice. I would also suggest searching booking['']for a great deal.

  • Stayed May 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perpetually planning our next adventure
Level Contributor
81 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
Reviewed May 13, 2006

We took the Vaporetto from the station and checked into the Regina and Europa Hotel right by P.San Marco, mostly because we have Starwood membership and could stay there with points. The first room (in the Regina part) that they showed us was absolutely dreadful, and I mean DREADFUL.

The room was small, dark and dirty, with worn thready carpets, tired bedding and a dark and dingy bathroom, all accompanied by a strange odor. The view was non-existant. We definitely expected something much better from this purported member of the "luxury collection" of the Starwood chain. We immediately requested a new room, and they moved us to a renovated room in the Europa portion of the hotel. This made a huge difference.

This difference in room quality was made clear when we learned that this used to be two separate hotels until Westin purchased them and made them into one property. The rooms in Europa have been renovated, whereas the rooms in Regina have not, and they are clearly inferior. Our new room was a corner room, and though there still wasn’t much of a view, at least it was more spacious and more importantly, it was clean. The marble bathroom was also quite nice, though there were some obvious mold issues.

The only glitch was that the air-conditioner wasn’t working that first night, and we couldn’t really open the windows because of the mosquitoes. We called downstairs and they actually told us that the A/C wouldn’t be on until June, due to some technical difficulties. And then inexplicably, it started working on the second night. Overall, we found the staff rather condescending and minimally helpful. It was as though they were doing us a favor by letting us stay at their hotel. I have stayed at numerous luxury hotels in the past, and I have yet to encounter a more aloof and haughty concierge staff. However, the location cannot be any better. It's literally two minutes (with luggage) from the vaporetto station(Vallaresso), and it's located in a quiet courtyard.

The bar is nice, right on the Grand Canal, though the piano can be quite loud. The piano player/singer had an unfortunate habit of singing American songs badly, and I was sorely tempted to slip him a few Euros just to keep him quiet....

  • Stayed May 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank PeckCheck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Venice hotels
Castello
Hotel Danieli, A Luxury Collection Hotel
San Marco
Bauer Palazzo
Bauer Palazzo
#71 of 386 in Venice
847 reviews
San Marco
Bauer Hotel
Bauer Hotel
#73 of 386 in Venice
1,506 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Marco
Baglioni Hotel Luna
Baglioni Hotel Luna
#45 of 386 in Venice
1,517 reviews
San Marco
The Gritti Palace, A Luxury Collection Hotel
Castello
Metropole Hotel
Metropole Hotel
#50 of 386 in Venice
1,194 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin Europa & Regina, Venice? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Europa & Regina, Venice

Property: The Westin Europa & Regina, Venice
Address: San Marco 2159, 30124 Venice, Italy
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > San Marco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Green Hotel in Venice
#44 Business Hotel in Venice
#60 Luxury Hotel in Venice
#69 Family Hotel in Venice
#89 Romantic Hotel in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Westin Europa & Regina, Venice 5*
Number of rooms: 185
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Superbly positioned on the Grand Canal with sweeping views of the city's most iconic landmarks, The Westin Europa and Regina places guests right in the heart of the city's artistic and theatre districts, in a discreet setting just off the fashionable Calle XXII Marzo and steps from Piazza San Marco. Our unmatched selection of rooftop terrace suites, Grand Canal rooms, restyled accommodations, and Grand Canal-side venues with nutrition-rich proposals are settings of relaxed indulgence where guests can be at their best. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Jetsetter, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Westin Europa & Regina, Venice reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Hotel Europa And Regina, Venice
Westin Venice
Westin Hotel Europa Regina Venice
Venice Westin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing