We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“One of the World's best, for sure”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Westin Europa & Regina, Venice
Ranked #97 of 386 Hotels in Venice
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Markham, Canada
Level Contributor
199 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 170 helpful votes
“One of the World's best, for sure”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2012

Weather always has a lot to do with your experience, and understanding what is and isn't available, always has a big part about how much you enjoy your stay. For us, we researched this hotel thoroughly, and even sent a few e-mails to some tripadvisor members. First, I would say this place is not cheap, however, the prices are not out of line with other fine hotels in Venice.

We were two adults and two children. We booked two SINGLE rooms with the breakfast package included. I would highly recommend this for anyone. The Single room sleeps one adult and one child, and the breakfast package allows all members of the room to have an amazing breakfast sitting under the shade on the grand canal. The view is worth every cent you pay for the room. If you are here, I suggest you take your time to just soak in the rhythm of the grand canal in front of you.

I'm an SPG lifetime gold member, so we were upgraded to deluxe rooms. The rooms were quite large, had the bathrooms were well appointed. As always, the Westin beds are the best in the industry.

We took the advice of a tripadvisor member, and took a taxi from the airport to the hotel. This was fast and efficient, and compared to the huge line-ups for the Ali Laguna shuttle, very enjoyable.

Everyone talks about the proximity to St Mark's square. This is true, however, much of Venice is in walkable distance from the hotel. The temperatures in the summer can quite hot, and luckily there are loads of gelator places around to help cool you down.

I should mention the breakfast buffet does allow you to order anything not actually at the buffet. If you want eggs, they will make it for you. Our kids wanted pancakes, and they got them a few minutes later. For the price, nothing is too much to ask for.

We had dinner at this hotel one night. We were disappointed that we were charged the sitting fee of 12 euros per person. I would think that people staying at the hotel shouldn't have to pay this. In addition, SPG members are supposed to get a discount, but this wasn't applied. We didn't let this spoil our stay, as I no one except me got to see the bill.

The food was great, and staff was fine, the rooms were beautifl and comfortable, and the location was superb. We would have no hesitation coming back here again.

Room Tip: Get a room with a veiw or a balcony. Always try to get the breakfast included with your rate...you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank DBM24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,333 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,227
    636
    251
    130
    89
See reviews for
516
1,205
62
118
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (479)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, MA
Level Contributor
42 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2012 via mobile

The hotel is in a spectacular location with breathtaking views. The management and team are all gracious and truly provide exceptional service. The food, beverage, and restaurant atmosphere are all over the top outstanding. Everything about this property exceeded my expectations and truly made my experience in Venice the most memorable of any other destination that i have visited. PERFECTION. I'm so grateful for the experience. And it must be noted the most lovely, bright, no nonsense and extremely informative bartender - talent - so wonderfully shared knowledge of Venice and the property. Trust the review and Stay here.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ELO2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
europaregina, Manager at The Westin Europa & Regina, Venice, responded to this review, October 5, 2012
Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to write your amazing review. You made our day!
We look forward to welcoming you back to our property for another perfect stay!
With best regards
executive office
the westin europa & regina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warminster, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
139 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 29, 2012

We had been told great things about the Westin so we eagerly looked forward to our stay in Venice. I must preface this review by saying that, with the exception of the front desk, the entire staff was wonderful. Our concierge halped us get a trip out to Murano for a tour of the glass works. The lounge staff of Luanna and Marco were wonderful - the nicest people we met in Venice. The restaurant staff was coureous and accomodating.
Our major issue was with the room. Our travel agent told us she booked us a room with a balcony and when we arrived I opened the window looking at a wall about 8 feet away. We were told our room was in the newly renovated section of the hotel. We noticed when we got to our room that there was an unpleasant odor in the hallway and in the room. We opened the windows thinking it just needed an airing. Finally, my wife went to the front desk to comment and she was told that, "It is the smell of the hotel." and that the staff would be down to freshen up the room. Nothing helped. The smell was that of sewage. We were told we could be moved . I'm not sure if it was because we were traveleing alone and were not part of a large tour group, but the impression I got was that we were not taken seriously. It is our fault, as we are not complainers, that we put up with it and tried to make the best of it instead of creating a scene.
It put a damper on our vacation and, we have been home for a few days and our lugagge is still airing out and smelling of sewage.

Room Tip: Stay somewhere else unless you are willing to be persistent with the front desk.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank TonyJ85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 28, 2012

We had a wonderful stay thanks to Mr. Dalla Mura, the Front Desk Manager. Our corner room (#250) overlooked the Grand Canal and offered nonstop entertainment. The water shuttle to Lido is a plus. Proximity to San Marco is a mixed blessing-convenient but hard to avoid the hordes of tourists roaming the streets.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pandb2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 28, 2012 via mobile

This historic building is stunning. Location is perfect to most attractions and literally next San Marco sq. rooms are simple but very comfortable and very clean. Overall , I would highly recommend this hotel.

Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Dmoon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
44 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2012

Traveling with our teenage daughter, we reserved a room with a Grand Canal view and a roll away bed for 4 nights. The views from our balconies were breathtaking. We had two windows with Juliette balconies overlooking the Grand Canal. We loved the room's high ceilings but they felt a bit cavernous; lacking size appropriate artwork, bedding, and antiques. We greatly enjoyed finding seating within the hotels private balconies where we could have coffee outside, appreciate the view, and not be crowded at different times of the day. We also took advantage of the free vaporetto to the Lido rather than the ferry. The buffet breakfast included was very nice and had a good amount of choices but would be ridiculously expensive if not included in the rate. When paying over $1,000 a night one would expect to have wifi included, but no, only free in the lobby area, which seems ludicrous. I have been to Venice many times and know that I'm paying for a prime location and view. But, to sit on the Grand Canal watching the gondoliers, with a view of the Santa Maria della Salute and Doge Palace from a private terrace was worth the exorbitant price because I was here for a lengthy amount of time and my 5th trip here. Consider how much you will actually be in your room and/or the hotel to determine if it's worth it to you. I felt that the service and amenities were mediocre for the price, and it is truly the view and locale that makes this hotel special. One final point: this hotel seems to be a transition stop for many - and I do mean many - cruise ship tourists. Seeing them herded around while islands of luggage sit in wait kind of cheapens the ambiance.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank OregonSungirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
88 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 21, 2012

We stayed at this hotel in August this year, the arrival by speed boat was divine, perfect location. I have been thinking if I should review or not. Hotel is okay but a little lacking in charm, rooms need updating and feel overused. I love antiques but this did not live up to my expectations which were high. My issue with this Hotel is the staff, curt and not helpful and in some cases rude. Feel they are tired of tourists, well get another job as this Hotel is quite expensive, Maybe staff training on guest relations might help. Dinner at restaurant on canal was good and well served. Hotel very hard to find, Did not have grand canal room as booked out when we first tried 4 months ago. felt like a sausage factory. On my next visit would research something more charming, I left Venice disappointed and don't want this experience to cloud returning.

Room Tip: Would book early and get canal view, might help overlook hotels downsides
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank phoebe199
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Venice hotels
Castello
Hotel Danieli, A Luxury Collection Hotel
San Marco
Bauer Palazzo
Bauer Palazzo
#69 of 386 in Venice
4.5 of 5 bubbles 847 reviews
San Marco
Bauer Hotel
Bauer Hotel
#74 of 386 in Venice
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,508 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Marco
Baglioni Hotel Luna
Baglioni Hotel Luna
#47 of 386 in Venice
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,520 reviews
San Marco
The Gritti Palace, A Luxury Collection Hotel
Castello
Metropole Hotel
Metropole Hotel
#50 of 386 in Venice
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,195 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin Europa & Regina, Venice? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Europa & Regina, Venice

Property: The Westin Europa & Regina, Venice
Address: San Marco 2159, 30124 Venice, Italy
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > San Marco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Green Hotel in Venice
#44 Business Hotel in Venice
#60 Luxury Hotel in Venice
#69 Family Hotel in Venice
#89 Romantic Hotel in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Westin Europa & Regina, Venice 5*
Number of rooms: 185
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Superbly positioned on the Grand Canal with sweeping views of the city's most iconic landmarks, The Westin Europa and Regina places guests right in the heart of the city's artistic and theatre districts, in a discreet setting just off the fashionable Calle XXII Marzo and steps from Piazza San Marco. Our unmatched selection of rooftop terrace suites, Grand Canal rooms, restyled accommodations, and Grand Canal-side venues with nutrition-rich proposals are settings of relaxed indulgence where guests can be at their best. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Priceline, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Westin Europa & Regina, Venice reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Hotel Europa And Regina, Venice
Westin Venice
Westin Hotel Europa Regina Venice
Venice Westin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing