We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Westin Europa & Regina, Venice
Ranked #97 of 385 Hotels in Venice
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Virginia Beach, VA
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Lovely stay”
Reviewed July 6, 2012

My wife and I booked this hotel for 2 nights in mid-May using Starwood points. These were the last two remaining award nights during that time period so we felt fortunate that we were able to get these nights. We had read conflicting reviews for the hotel on TA, but, let me tell you, we were nothing but highly satisfied. Even though the hotel is part of a large chain, the hotel itself feels more like a boutique hotel...location is great (right adjacent to St. Mark's Square, but tucked away), service is friendly, from check-in to check-out, management is highly responsive, food is great, and room very comfortable.

When we checked in and went to our room, some locksmiths were there changing over the locks on the door. So, we were slightly inconvenienced by having to wait a few minutes to get settled into the room. When we mentioned this in passing to Attilio Dalla Mura, the front desk manager, he was highly apologetic and asked how he could make it right for us. He quite happily treated us to breakfasts for the 2 days of our stay! More than was even warranted.

So, all-in-all, we would strongly recommend this hotel...for the location and the accommodations, but most importantly for the way were treated by Attilio and his staff.

Room Tip: Room #539 was not on the canal, but had a very nice view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jodo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,410 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,265
    659
    260
    134
    92
See reviews for
530
1,247
63
119
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (494)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Encinitas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 5, 2012

Our stay was above and beyond our expectations! We were met at the airport by a driver who took us to our water taxi - all arranged by the hotel. Our room was ready upon arrival and the front desk clerk accompnaied us up to make sure all was in order. Our terrace overlooking the Grand Canal was huge and well appointed with both a table and chairs for cocktails, etc. and two large comfortable loung chairs for relaxing. Room service, which we used for ice and for breakfast one morning was exceptionally quick and gracious. My only regret is that our stay wasn't longer! Perfetto!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Pat D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laguna Niguel, California
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 4, 2012

We were there for our daughter's 14th birthday. We had ended a cruise in Venice and moved ashore to this hotel. We stayed there for four days. The restaurant was excellent. If there was air conditioning, I didn't notice it. One piece of advice; don't open the windows at night unless you like mosquitoes. It is on the Grand Canal and our room had a partial view. That was 8 years ago and it may not be as nice today. I have stayed in other hotels in Venice, all on the Grand Canal. This was quite nice although we stayed elsewhere the next trip.

Room Tip: Don't open the windows at night ! Canal view is very nice but expensive. The review is from a 20...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mtkennedy1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Level 6 Contributor
104 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed July 4, 2012

I am sitting in room 640 as I write this. I am pretty disappointed with this hotel. I had several emails with this hotel prior to arrival including telling them I would be early. (we are Starwood gold FYI). We got where at 2:30 and our room was not ready and wouldn't be for an hour!!!! We were taken to the bar and gAve us a free drink each (nice but we had been traveling for 30 hours and were dripping sweat so not happy). Venice is very !!!!!! hot now and there is no air, to speak of, in the lobby and none in the halls. The key we were given was the wrong one, so we had to wait in a 100 degree hall while they brought up a new key. I could tell the girl expected a tip (to bring me the correct key????? I don't think so). This room is barely cool and will not get any colder. I slept w/o covers last night. There is no coffee maker which we miss as finding American coffee is a joke!!! I will bet $10 they won't let me have late checkout tomorrow either!!!!

The good thing is the location. Five minute walk from the aliguna airport transfer drop and st marks.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fsulaw1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antwerp, Belgium
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed July 3, 2012

We returned to this hotel after 15 years and we were very disapointed.
15 years ago, while young and poor, we had there an amazing deal. it was shortly after they reopened and we had the most incredible room.
Coming back with friends to Venice after 15 years we naturally booked the same hotel.
The price for a room was €850 and we were looking forward to the same experience.
The room was a great let-down. narrow and unattractive halls led us to a regular size room with zero decorations. non of the rich wallpaper and art we expected.
while the lobby is impresive, the service is what you expect from a 2 star Italian establishment.
We will not be coming back!
Nor should any of you!

Room Tip: either pay for the suites or go to another hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JOE R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naples, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
237 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed July 1, 2012

This is not a very luxurious hotel despite the high prices. The single elevator isn't working. the entire hotel and rooms are very warm, air conditioning is not sufficient. Most rooms are small and dark. Location is not very convenient to most restaurants. You can certainly do better for much less money. Concierge is very rude, not helpful, and directs you to tourist restaurants for which he is obviously getting a kickback. Choose another.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Das4545
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Manager at The Westin Europa & Regina, Venice, responded to this review, July 2, 2012
Dear Guest,
Thank you for posting your review on Tripadvisor. We are very sorry you did not find the air conditioning sufficient: due to the very high and unforeseen temperature of this period, we are working on our air conditioning system in order to make our guests stay the most confortable as possible.
As far as the elevator is concerned, we are repairing it as we were waiting a part of the gear that just arrived.
Having said that, we would like to underline that most of our guests find our location great due to the fact that we are near S. Mark’ square and to the most famous venetian Restaurants and shops.
We really apologize if our Concierge team did not meet your expectations and we do really hope to welcome you back in order to revise your feeling with the Westin Europa & Regina.
With our best regards
executive office
the westin europa & regina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 1, 2012 via mobile

We have been in Italy for 10 days now and the Westin Europa and Regina has been our worst experiance for accommodations. The hotel staff are not happy and there seems to be a lot of confusion around here. When we arrived at 2:30 PM we were told that one of our two rooms was not yet cleaned. This was not a problem as we hadn't had lunch. We were assured that the room would be ready at 3. When we returned at 3:30 we were told again that the room was not ready. During my time at the front desk there appeared to be many customers unhappy about one thing or another. One woman was complaining that there was no toilet paper in her room. We decided to make the best of the situation and shower up in the one room we were given access to. When we went to the room there were linens and breakfast dishes containing sausage and eggs in the hallway outside of our room. Even though 90 minutes had passed since our arrival our luggage had not been placed in the room. I called to the lobby and it took another 30 minutes to locate our belongings. We finally got the second room around 4:30PM. The air conditioning was not working :)

This property is supposed to be on the higher end on the accommodation spectrum but something is wrong here. The staff lacks the ownership that I have experienced in Rome (Westin Excelsior), Florence (Bristol & Helvetia) , and Rapallo ( Excellsior Palace).

Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Paul F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Venice hotels
Castello
Hotel Danieli, A Luxury Collection Hotel
San Marco
Baglioni Hotel Luna
Baglioni Hotel Luna
#53 of 385 in Venice
1,586 reviews
San Marco
Bauer Palazzo
Bauer Palazzo
#70 of 385 in Venice
912 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Marco
The Gritti Palace, A Luxury Collection Hotel
San Marco
Bauer Hotel
Bauer Hotel
#76 of 385 in Venice
1,548 reviews
Castello
Metropole Hotel
Metropole Hotel
#52 of 385 in Venice
1,232 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin Europa & Regina, Venice? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Europa & Regina, Venice

Property: The Westin Europa & Regina, Venice
Address: San Marco 2159, 30124 Venice, Italy
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > San Marco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Green Hotel in Venice
#44 Business Hotel in Venice
#61 Luxury Hotel in Venice
#69 Family Hotel in Venice
#89 Romantic Hotel in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Westin Europa & Regina, Venice 5*
Number of rooms: 185
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Superbly positioned on the Grand Canal with sweeping views of the city's most iconic landmarks, The Westin Europa and Regina places guests right in the heart of the city's artistic and theatre districts, in a discreet setting just off the fashionable Calle XXII Marzo and steps from Piazza San Marco. Our unmatched selection of rooftop terrace suites, Grand Canal rooms, restyled accommodations, and Grand Canal-side venues with nutrition-rich proposals are settings of relaxed indulgence where guests can be at their best. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Westin Europa & Regina, Venice reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Hotel Europa And Regina, Venice
Westin Venice
Westin Hotel Europa Regina Venice
Venice Westin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing