We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First visit to Venice”
Review of Hotel Gardena

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Hotel Gardena
Ranked #172 of 385 Hotels in Venice
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
144 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“First visit to Venice”
Reviewed April 22, 2013

This hotel turned out to be a perfect choice for a couple of fist time visitors to Venice. As previously stated, only a few minutes walk from the bus station but far enough (other side of Grand Canal) so it’s not in view. This is important because the last thing you want to do after a flight is mess about learning water bus routes etc. The other option is water taxi bookable at airport for E110!! Bus is e6 or e8 per person.
The Gardena Hotel is excellent – just off Grand Canal on a smaller canal & we were very fortunate to have a lovely first floor room with views of both canals. Room was spotlessly clean with separate shower room & loo/basin/bidet room. A bonus is a fridge for your water & wine.
On arrival I asked Carlo where I could buy a map & he was very helpful in not only providing a basic map but suggested a circular walking route taking in Rialto, St Marks & Academia. We did this route on our first day & it was fantastic as it took in many key sights but also gave us an idea of how much of central Venice we could cover in a short space of time. It’s much smaller than I thought & although armed to the teeth with TripAdvisor info, this initial walk around showed that although we were based on the edge of St Croce, you can walk to St Marks in about 25 minutes.
Breakfast was excellent, sometimes served by Diana who also looks after room cleaning – she was always happy & friendly with us – lovely lady. Choices of juices, cereals, bread, ham, cheese, yogurts, eggs, pastries etc etc. Dining room is very elegant.
During our stay it was my wife’s birthday & it was a lovely surprise to find a bottle of complementary prosecco & a birthday note in our room on returning from our day out.
Certainly one of my favourite short breaks enhanced immensely by our choice of this hotel as a base. Salute Hotel Gardena

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 0ff_Line
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

420 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    150
    167
    64
    22
    17
See reviews for
64
237
14
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
St. John's, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed April 10, 2013

March 2013 - Gardena Hotel was the first hotel we saw from the walking bridge into Venice. Exterior and lobby looked nice so we asked to see a room. They gave us a choice and we picked the basic room because we planned to spend very little time in the room. Basic it was indeed. Very tiny bathroom and carpet was rather worn. We only paid Euro 86,00 including a nice breakfast in a pretty breakfast room with an attentive server. Reception service was pleasant but not memorable. Lets face it, if you want a memorable room in Venice, you have to pay much more. So all in all it was a good experience.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank S C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 3, 2013

We spent 4 nights at the Hotel Gardena booked through Monarch. It was an interesting experience due to the hotel downstairs being very opulent, all mirrors, Murano Glass,chandeliers and plate glass windows where the hotel reception was situated. The breakfast room was very swish and elegantly painted. Upstairs was a little different. We stayed in No. 11 so we cannot comment on other rooms. No. 11 was very small, just enough room to walk around the bed and nothing more. The bathroom was small but adequate. The view out of the only window looked straight out onto a wall and nothing else.The room service ie. bedding, towels etc. was changed every day by some very jovial ladies and was very good.Breakfast was included in our deal and was very continental in the lovely breakfast room. Note: There is no bar, or restaurant facilities in the hotel, such a shame, they are missing out. Altogether we enjoyed our stay at the Gardena due to some very good restaurants in and around Santa Croce. One more thing, the hotel receptionist got us a great half price deal on a gondola on the Friday lunchtime.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hamgood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maidstone, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 23, 2013

3 of us ladies travelled to Italy for a week. Starting in Venice, we found this lovely hotel just a stones throw away from the bustle. We stayed for 3 nights and loved it. Breakfast was great.. Staff polite and very helpful.. Hotel was clean and the 'villa' in the garden was beautiful ( well that was our saying for the room located in the courtyard!) I am going to take my husband here later this year without hesitation.. Thank you Gardena for making our stay perfect :-)

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AndreaKRagsdell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redhill, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 10, 2013

I booked this hotel through Voyage Prive for my husbands birthday. We stayed here 3 days.
I have to say I was pleasantly surprised. The room was massive, clean with a lovely view. I absolutely loved the bathroom. The breakfast we really enjoyed so much choice! No fried breakfast but come on! you are in Italy, not England! I was not missing it at all! The ladies serving the breakfast were very lovely. The person on the reception was ok too not horrible as I read in previous reviews.
The location is excellent, near the train and bus station and only 25-30 minutes walk to the centre. We paid for a 36hours vaporetto ticket but to tell you the truth if you like walking its a waste of money. Unless of course you want to take a trip to one of the islands. I took a map with me to get around but after 5 min of struggling with it I put it away. I loved "getting lost" in the tiny streets. The best way to enjoy Venice.
The only thing about Venice is that is way too expensive oh yeah and lack of public toilets!
Definately would stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Zakline
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 11, 2013 via mobile

The hotel has everything we needed and expected. Employees were very nice and helpful. Nice warm room always expecting us after a very cold day walking the city. Free wifi available (just ask for password at the reception). Loved the location 30 minutes walk from the center (maybe less... we got lost sometimes) and very close to Piazzale Roma, the most accessible place but public transportation wich makes it very easy to travel back to the hotel when you are tired at the end of the day and at the other side of the city.

Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Rui C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucks
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed December 6, 2012

Stayed here in the middle of November, just after the floods, and the weather was beautiful. Hotel is very conveniently located to catch boats down the Grand Canal or out via the lagoon. You can easily walk from here to St. Mark's Square in less than 30 minutes - first time it's a case of finding one's way but that's all part of the fun of Venice - discovering numerous little canals and neighbourhoods. We did a package through Voyage Prive which was a great deal and we were upgraded to a superior room. Good size and a big bathroom. Very comfortable bed and clean. Breakfast in the morning was the usual basic continental - cereals, rolls, cheese and ham - which was fine. Would use this hotel again.

Room Tip: Superior rooms were a good size.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fearnley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Venice hotels
Santa Croce
Hotel Carlton Capri
Hotel Carlton Capri
#170 of 385 in Venice
646 reviews
Santa Croce
Santa Chiara Hotel
Santa Chiara Hotel
#105 of 385 in Venice
413 reviews
Santa Croce
Hotel ai due Fanali
Hotel ai due Fanali
#187 of 385 in Venice
239 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Dorsoduro / Accademia
Arlecchino Hotel
Arlecchino Hotel
#83 of 385 in Venice
1,040 reviews
Santa Croce
Albergo Marin
Albergo Marin
#110 of 385 in Venice
833 reviews
Santa Croce
Hotel Carlton on the Grand Canal
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Gardena? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Gardena

Property: Hotel Gardena
Address: Santa Croce 239, 30135 Venice, Italy
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > Santa Croce
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#116 Family Hotel in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Gardena 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Agoda, Expedia, ACCOR, Ctrip TA, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Gardena reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gardena Hotel Venice

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing