We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Got more than we thought” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of San Cassiano Residenza d'Epoca Ca' Favretto

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
San Cassiano Residenza d'Epoca Ca' Favretto
Ranked #89 of 386 Hotels in Venice
Certificate of Excellence
Acworth, Georgia
Level Contributor
57 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Got more than we thought”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 10, 2014

When we booked we were told there were no canal view rooms available and although ours did not have a direct view of the Grand Canal we could still see it and directly below our window was a smaller canal. Lovely hotel. We had a quad, the room had 1 full/queen bed and 2 twin beds. The room was plenty big for all 4 beds with plenty of room to spare. We were on the 3rd floor and there is no elevator fortunately for us we had packed light. The breakfast that came with our stay was great: hot and cold beverages, scrambled eggs, bacon, yogurt, cereal, breads and pastries, and various fruits. The room breakfast was served in was beautiful and looked over the Grand Canal. We would definately stay here again. We did have to pay for wifi which worked fine. We took a water taxi from the airport directly to this hotel's dock and are so glad we did, finding your way around Venice is tricky and it would have been very frustrating trying to find this hotel after a long overnight sleepless flight.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Cheri-inAcworth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,070 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    509
    408
    95
    38
    20
See reviews for
266
496
92
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (227)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hanoi, Vietnam
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 6, 2014 via mobile

Very small rooms. Extremely hard beds and average staff. There seems to be too few tables at breakfast for the number if guests and the charges for the internet are ridiculous. Why the internet is considered chargeable any more at all is beyond me. Even their hotel desktop is not connected unless you pay. Average at best. Some staff are extremely helpful.

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Rmjmarlow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HOTELSANCASSIANO, Direttore at San Cassiano Residenza d'Epoca Ca' Favretto, responded to this review, June 9, 2014
Dear Guest,
we are sorry about your incomplete satisfaction but we'd like to point some things out:
Our Hotel is a 14 century historical Palace and some rooms could have a limited size than other cities.
We have brand new orthopedic mattresses that could be a little harder than other ones but they are very good to support the back.
About the Wi-Fi, we're sorry that this is that fundamental to make such a negative review but we believe that Internet is important but secondary and that's why we ask for a little charge for this service.

We hope you understand our points of view.

Best Regards
Giovanni
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windsor, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 4, 2014

Just returned from a wonderful 3 days in Venice. This hotel is absolutely lovely, full of character and charm, with very helpful staff and a reasonably priced mini bar. We were lucky enough to be upgraded to a canal facing room -great to sip on a prosecco whilst watching the boats go by at sunset. When booking a hotel in Venice it is worth remembering these buildings were built many years before all the mod cons and you will usually have to walk up stairs and have smaller rooms than in a modern hotel, so you need to manage expectations.

This hotel is located in a quiet street, where it is a very easy walk to access Rialto and St Mark's Sq. There are plenty of restaurants close by and the nearest vaparetto stops are Santa Stae or Rialto Mercardo, both approx five minute walk from the hotel. Definitely buy a vaporetto travelcard for the duration of your stay as this will give you access to go to all the stops in Venice and also onto Lido, Murano and Burano.

If you are coming late at night or have a lot of luggage I would recommend booking a shared water taxi (Venice Link) as these will take you straight to the hotel's pontoon rather than having to navigate the streets and bridges from the vaparetto stop.

Would definitely return and looking to plan our next visit.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DevonGal76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 31, 2014 via mobile

This hotel is in a good location, close to the train station and touristic places. The complimentary breakfast is pretty good and the bathrooms have been upgraded, the staff is average.
On the negative side, it has hard beds, there is no elevators, it has been the smallest hotel room in which I have ever been, and the carpet has been in need of replacement for quite a long time.

Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Havanaguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HOTELSANCASSIANO, Direttore at San Cassiano Residenza d'Epoca Ca' Favretto, responded to this review, June 9, 2014
Dear Guest,

thank you for the review.

Just some clarifications to your comments:
Most of our new mattresses are orthopedic and sometimes they could be a little harder than the other ones but they're good to support the back.
Our Hotel is 700 years old historical Palace and we cannot build any elevator.
It is obvious that the single rooms are not the biggest rooms we have...for particular needs, we suggest to book a double for single use.
The carpets, like the tapestries we have, are historical and they could look old but that's the charm of them.

Thanks again for being our guest.
Best Regards
Giovanni
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MILFORD,CT
Level Contributor
28 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 24, 2014

The San Cassiano is my favorite place to stay when in Venice. It is centrally located, yet in a quiet neighborhood very convenient to the train station, the Rialto Bridge and many other attractions! It is reasonably priced by Venetian standards, and the staff could not be more helpful, whether it is making reservations for dinner or suggesting how to spend your day in Venice.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BILWAZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
92 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 21, 2014

I could not have asked for a better hotel stay in Venice. In fact, the highlight of our stay was our canal view room. The furnishings were old school palatial Venetian, and I was spoiled by the view. What a treat to just sit at the window and watch all the activity below. Keeping the windows open allowed for a nice breeze and there were no issues with noise from the canal.

The staff were all friendly and extremely helpful. Breakfast offerings catered to a wide variety of tastes.

Another plus was the location. The hotel is located just far enough away from the touristy areas but close enough for an easy walk. Also, there is a vaporetto stop right nearby the hotel, too.

Room Tip: Treat yourself to a canal view room. It's worth it!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KristiMD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hendersonville, North Carolina, USA
Level Contributor
39 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 19, 2014

Spent 2 weeks here during Carnival. Hotel staff were pleasant. Room was small but adequate and to be expected for a single in Europe. There is no elevator (not a complaint, just FYI). The bed was much harder than I am use to and was difficult to sleep on.

Room Tip: If booking a single room, request the one on the lower floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Utsala
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Venice hotels
Cannaregio
Foscari Palace
Foscari Palace
#85 of 386 in Venice
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,029 reviews
Santa Croce
Hotel Canal Grande
Hotel Canal Grande
#11 of 386 in Venice
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,885 reviews
Hotel L'Orologio
#16 of 386 in Venice
5.0 of 5 bubbles 612 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Cannaregio
Ai Mori d'Oriente Hotel
Ai Mori d'Oriente Hotel
#26 of 386 in Venice
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,162 reviews
Santa Croce
Hotel Al Duca di Venezia
Santa Croce
Hotel Carlton on the Grand Canal
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to San Cassiano Residenza d'Epoca Ca' Favretto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about San Cassiano Residenza d'Epoca Ca' Favretto

Property: San Cassiano Residenza d'Epoca Ca' Favretto
Address: Santa Croce 2232, 30135 Venice, Italy
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > San Polo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#56 Luxury Hotel in Venice
#82 Romantic Hotel in Venice
#102 Family Hotel in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — San Cassiano Residenza d'Epoca Ca' Favretto 4*
Number of rooms: 35
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, ACCOR, Agoda and Travelocity so you can book your San Cassiano Residenza d'Epoca Ca' Favretto reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
San Cassiano Residenza d`Epoca Ca` Favretto Hotel Venice
Hotel San Cassiano Venice
San Cassiano Ca Favretto Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing