We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very Venetian, right on the Grand Canal!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
San Cassiano Residenza d'Epoca Ca' Favretto
Ranked #92 of 386 Hotels in Venice
Certificate of Excellence
ft lauderdale
Level Contributor
45 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Very Venetian, right on the Grand Canal!”
Reviewed July 21, 2013

This place is so cool! This is the second time we stayed here. Last time it was 14 years ago, and it is even better. Beautiful old house , right on the Grand Canal. Comfortable, clean and totally authentic.
You can't beat the location... Santa Croce/San Polo is a beautiful area, quieter even at the peak tourist season with wonderful restaurants and vistas. Yet, a five minute walk to Rialto and another 5 minutes to San Marco (where the tens of thousands of tourists have displaced the pigeons)
All the guys in the staff are incredible polite and helpful.
Again, this is a gem!

Room Tip: Third floor (top floor) on the Grand Canal side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nino d d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,094 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    523
    412
    100
    39
    20
See reviews for
273
507
93
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (230)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed July 19, 2013

We were given a room on the second floor near the breakfast room. This is perfectly fine if you would like to be woken up at the crack of dawn by staff talking, phones ringing and plates & dishes being banged about, the room we had was 221 and it was right next to the kitchen ! The room itself was dark, dingy and very small with a tiny window looking over a small side canal, if you strained your neck leaning out you could just about see the Grand Canal. Breakfast was ok, nothing special. Easy to find from Vaparetto stop San Stae.

Room Tip: Any other floor but the second !!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paula R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
redondo beach
Level Contributor
204 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed July 18, 2013

THis place rocked. The service was great and the breakfast was good. They had the best cappuccino I have ever had there. The water taxis are expensive but what isnt in Europe or in Venice? For some reason in Venice alot of the places to eat do not except credit cards so ask before eating.

Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank lb33wonka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed July 17, 2013

This beautiful hotel located off the canal had me hooked from the first view from our water taxi. The staff was very helpful with directions, the rooms were comfortable, large, clean and quiet. The Rialto Bridge and St. Mark's square are all within walking distance. A water taxi to Murano Island was included in the stay which we enjoyed! The breakfast is served in room with a lovely view of the canal. Breakfast was fresh and hot with a lot of variety.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 0509Karen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport Beach, CA
Level Contributor
34 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed July 13, 2013

We loved this hotel - we stayed in a quad room and had a ton of space with a full bathroom and a normal shower, so we were happy with this (two teens and two adults, so we needed the space). Beds were comfy and the location was wonderful. We took the Vaporetto to get to the hotel from the train and it was a bit of a haul over a few bridges (bridges in Italy have stairs), but once there we had no problem getting around at all. We did end up taking a water taxi back to the train station - it was worth the extra money to not have to haul the bags over stairs again...Next time I travel to Italy I'm leaving the luggage at home and carrying a backpack - this was totally the ticket in Venice especially.

The hotel is close to Rialto bridge and it's easy to catch a Vaporetto from there to anywhere (get a pass on the Vaporetto for the entire time you are there). We did not have a canal-view room and probably should have splurged for that, as the hotel is right on the canal and it is beautiful. We ended up sitting on the patio watching things quite a bit. The breakfast at the hotel was awesome - we were on the same floor as the breakfast room, so that made it nice and convenient. You do have to haul luggage up and down stairs, but the staff are very helpful with this if you need them. Great staff overall. One very, very annoying feature was the internet - we got one hour free per day but that was only for one device at a time. In this day and age and for the high cost of this hotel, internet should be free and open. We have two teens and they wanted to check things before they went to bed each night - one hour of internet would have been fine if both of them could use it at the same time, but that was not the case - they give you a password that is good for only one person at a time and one has to log off for the other to log on. Extra internet access was relatively cheap, but that was not really the point - it was annoying enough to make the hotel seem like less of an awesome place!
We do highly recommend this hotel though - the location is great, the staff are wonderful and the rooms were very nicely decorated and perfect for us as a family of four. Venice is an awesome and magical place. Be sure to take the Vaporetto across to Murano and Burano - we really loved these islands as they were less crowded and filled with interesting things to see. Do watch out for pick-pockets in the crowded places, we were lucky but only because we had nothing accessible - we were "picked" a couple of times especially on the Vaporetto.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank newportmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palmetto, Florida
Level Contributor
49 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed July 10, 2013

Loved the location of this beautiful old place, we couldn't wait to get back to these quieter streets after visiting St. Mark's, which is still not far away. The Rialto bridge is a short 5 or so minute walk and the narrow streets are fun to navigate (thankful for the signs to both the bridge and the hotel!). The lobby is beautiful, the room was beautiful (we had a grand canal view) and also quite large. The windows swing wide open and you can even perch yourself up on the window ledge for a phenomenal view. Mini bar was a nice treat, and the downstairs canal patio is perfect for a drink in the evenings. Also great to have the dock for your airport transfer pickup on the way out. Can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Michelle K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Farnborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2013 via mobile

What a wonderful hotel. We booked this hotel on the back of reviews from others. We spen two nights here and we could not fault our stay.

Room: adequate, comfy bed with choice of hard or soft pillow; Sky TV with plenty of english channels; mini-bar; safe; plenty of sockets to charge your gadgets from and one UK style socket. Bathroom was clean. Lovely powerful shower with shaving socket.

Breakfast: based on first floor with balcony with a few chairs on it. You can eat on there. Continental breakfast with good selection ofmeats, fruit and cereals.

Bar & balcony: we spent a lot of time on the balcony which is on the Grande Canale. In the afternoon its in the shade and you can spend many hours sitting there with a beer watching the world go by. Bar prices are reasonable and they have very generous staff working there.

On the whole, I would definately come back and recommend to friends and family. It's a short 10 minute walk to Rialto bridge and 5 minute walk to bus stop that takes you down river or two buses an hour to the main airport. Its a 15 minute walk from train station too.

Additional info: you can leave your luggage here for the day for free and internet is good but carries a small charge.

Finally: Don't feed pigeons! They will not leave you alone (Sid the pigeon!!!).

Helpful?
1 Thank Paul N
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Venice hotels
Cannaregio
Foscari Palace
Foscari Palace
#90 of 386 in Venice
1,040 reviews
Hotel Canal Grande
#11 of 386 in Venice
1,908 reviews
Hotel L'Orologio
#16 of 386 in Venice
626 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Cannaregio
Ai Mori d'Oriente Hotel
Ai Mori d'Oriente Hotel
#26 of 386 in Venice
2,199 reviews
Santa Croce
Hotel Al Duca di Venezia
San Marco
Palazzo Paruta
Palazzo Paruta
#72 of 386 in Venice
845 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to San Cassiano Residenza d'Epoca Ca' Favretto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about San Cassiano Residenza d'Epoca Ca' Favretto

Property: San Cassiano Residenza d'Epoca Ca' Favretto
Address: Santa Croce 2232, 30135 Venice, Italy
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#57 Luxury Hotel in Venice
#82 Romantic Hotel in Venice
#102 Family Hotel in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — San Cassiano Residenza d'Epoca Ca' Favretto 4*
Number of rooms: 35
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Orbitz, Booking.com, ACCOR, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your San Cassiano Residenza d'Epoca Ca' Favretto reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
San Cassiano Residenza d`Epoca Ca` Favretto Hotel Venice
Hotel San Cassiano Venice
San Cassiano Ca Favretto Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing