We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It doesn't get better than this.....”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
San Cassiano Residenza d'Epoca Ca' Favretto
Ranked #92 of 386 Hotels in Venice
Certificate of Excellence
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“It doesn't get better than this.....”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 6, 2012

It was my first trip to Venice and after much research (thank you fellow Trip Advisor Reviewers) I settled on the San Cassiano for a four night break at the end of September. I was travelling with a friend and we opted for single rooms and were located on the third floor overlooking a bustling side canal. The rooms were small, but perfectly adequate with a comfortable bed and pillows, a modern en suite bathroom, effective air conditioning and a wonderful, if somewhat dim, Murano glass chandelier.
The staff were without exception friendly, helpful, and courteous. We arrived by water taxi late afternoon and our bags were carried up the steep stairs to our adjoining rooms without even having to ask. The breakfast in the mornings was exceptionally good: the typical continental breakfast fare was complemented by a hot food bar which included scrambled eggs, bacon and little sausages. There was a wide choice of teas and excellent coffee as well as an assortment of breads, jams, pastries and yoghurts and an efficient toaster. The breakfast room was a little narrow, and the terrace overlooking the Grand Canal only had space for two tables, but all the guests were very accommodating and there was never a problem finding a table or transporting food and drink from the server area to your chosen table.
The hotel bar was well stocked and you could also order tea or coffee here – whilst it was not always manned, the staff were happy to multitask and if you asked at reception your drink order would soon arrive.
The high point of our stay at the San Cassiano (we gave up trying to remember the full name of this lovely hotel) must be the terrace overlooking the Grand Canal. After a busy day walking the streets and alleyways of this amazing city it was wonderful to return to the hotel early evening and sit nursing a Spritz, Bellini or tea/coffee on the terrace and watch the canal “traffic” before setting out to find our dinning place of choice for the night. As my friend pointed out: where else in the world would you think you had struck lucky to have a hotel with a drinks terrace overlooking the city’s main thoroughfare. It should also be mentioned that, should the canal side terrace be full, there is a delightful small sheltered courtyard with tables and chairs at the hotel’s land-side entrance.
The hotel itself is quite small and in a quiet but very convenient area of Venice. It is very old (originally built in the 14th century as a home to some important Venetian nobleman and transformed into a hotel in the 1950s) and quite beautiful with stunning furnishings an eclectic mix of wall hung paintings and fabulous “drapes”. And the bonus is that this charming hotel is no more than a few minutes’ walk to the Rialto Market (where you can take a reasonably priced traghetto, an unadorned gondola, to the other side of the canal), the Rialto Bridge is a few minutes further on and the journey to St Mark’s Square – on foot – took no more than 15 minutes. There are also some excellent restaurants within a couple of minutes’ walk of the hotel. Whilst we ventured to the tourist area around the Rialto for our first meal (the Alla Madonna) our second night we tried NoNo’s and then the truly excellent Osteria Antic Giardinetto and the equally wonderful Vecio Fritolin da Irina all of which I would recommend without hesitation and all of which are within a stone’s throw of the San Cassiano.
If I ever return to Venice, which I hope I shall, I shall break my usual rule of not staying in the same place twice and will definitely stop at the San Cassiano as I cannot imagine that there is another establishment in Venice would could better the ambiance and location of this wonderful hotel.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Bootsoid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,095 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    524
    412
    100
    39
    20
See reviews for
274
507
93
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (230)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 4, 2012

The staff are so efficient & friendly at this hotel, they really make you feel welcome. Excellent breakfasts, and near some lovely areas round the back where you can get away from the crowds. Ca Pesaro, which you pass to get to the hotel, is really worth a visit for its art exhibitions.
This was our second visit after 10 years (anniversary) & can't wait to get back sooner.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sonia e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olympic Peninsula, Washington, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 3, 2012

and we got it! Our group of 8 truly enjoyed this hotel and the staff. Our cruise ended in Venice, and we were able to stay here 4 nights before our flight home. When I made the reservation, I was looking for a place that would give my family an authentic Venician experience, yet have all the modern comforts we desired. We are so happy to have found San Cassiano Ca' Favretto. Right on the Grande Canal with a little bar downstairs where we could sit on the front deck, sip a glass of wine and watch the bustling activities of daily life go by. Our rooms were romantically charming. The (grown) kids felt like they were in a palace. The hotel is filled with artwork, venetian glass, and spectacular Murano chandeliers. Every morning there was a self-serve buffet (all-inclusive) in the 2nd floor dining room, which was more than adequate to get our day started.
At the front desk, Atie, Giovanni and Simon assisted us with all our requests, from finding restaurants nearby to ordering gondola rides, calling for vaporettos for the airport and a trip to Murano.
Even though there wasn't a lift, it did not matter as Merlino and Ernesto catered to us as bellhops, bartenders and even helped repair a broken piece of luggage! The staff could not have been nicer or more helpful...they made the end of our 3 week trip even more memorable and special. My family will always remember San Cassiano Residenza d'Epoca Ca' Favretto.

Room Tip: My husband and I had a room on the Grande Canal....and loved it. The other 3 couples had rooms with...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Karen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lawrence, Kansas
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 2, 2012

My partner and I just finished a 3 night stay at this hotel with another couple at the end of September 2012. We had double rooms with the Grand Canal views. The rooms were very nicely sized compared to other rooms we've had in Venice. There was a very functional seating area in addition to the double bed and a day bed. The room itself was comfortable and nicely decorated. The two windows overlooking the Grand Canal were nice, and I found myself getting up at night just to enjoy the view. The bed was rather hard and the pillows were fairly flat, but they were functional. There was a nice chandelier in the room, which I presume was Murano glass. The bathroom was overall average in my impression; there was a tub/shower combination with a single pedestal sink. The breakfast was very nice and included hot items. The best part of the breakfast was going early to get one of the two tables on the outdoor balcony overlooking the Grand Canal; it doesn't get much better than sipping coffee and having breakfast outside by the Grand Canal! One of our other favorite experiences was sitting on the front deck/dock and enjoying pre-dinner cocktails. Eduardo, the man who seemed to be the bellhop and bartender was the clear gem among the staff. He was funny, charming, and very welcoming. He made our evening cocktails on the dock wonderful! He mixes a very good Campari spritz, too! In the future, we hope to return to this hotel for a longer stay.

Room Tip: The doubles with Grand Canal view are spacious and the view is wonderful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 28, 2012

I stayed at this hotel with friends for two nights in September. We took the public boat from the airport which drops you at the San Stae boat stop, about 5 minutes walk from the hotel. If you can follow a map its easy to find (dont take any notice of people on here who say otherwise) and arriving this way was absolutely the BEST introduction to Venice I can think of. The alleyways and bridges are fantastic and the hotel entrance is set in a delightful little courtyard. We came and went from all different directions and at all times of the day and night over the course of our stay and never had any difficulties finding the hotel. Santa Croce is the best district of Venice; quiet, but close enough to all the touristy stuff. If I had stayed at one of the hotels near St Marks I would have had a very different, and far less favourable impression of Venice. The staff at this hotel were helpful and courteous thoughout. The only drawback is that there isn't a lift, but the stairs were fantastic exercise and there is a luggage room downstairs so you dont have to lug all your purchases up to your room. I will definately return to this hotel.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ClaudiaCloud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ballymena
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 26, 2012

Fantastic location for visiting Venice - 2 nights en route to joining cruise ship to the Greek Isles . 4 of us so used a private water taxi from the airport, what an experience and what a way to arrive at this great hotel! Staff were very good and helpful and the porter took our bags to the rooms which were overlooking the Grand Canal. Hotel was lovely with lots of character and old world charm. Rooms were spacious and air-conditioned. Breakfast was very good and the breakfast room had a small balcony overlooking the Grand Canal. Hotel had a small terrace at the "landing stage" where we enjoyed a few beers! Very good restaurant, really good value within a 5 min walk. Rialto Bridge was about a 10 min walk away and St Marks Square about 15-20 mins. Experienced a mediterranean storm on Monday evening - spectacular!

Room Tip: First night at the beginning of the trip - had rooms on the first floor overlooking the Grand Canal...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PartygirlsBallymena
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshire
Level Contributor
66 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2012

A lovely old palazzo on the grand canal, perfectly placed for walking around the rialto bridge part of Venice and 5 minutes from the vaporetto stop. Friendly staff, many preserved features within the hotel, and a small terrace overlooking the grand canal. Drinks on the terrace (coffee and wine) were reasonable and breakfast was good. We had a room for 4 people (our 2 teenage children each had a single bed) which was spacious enough. Overall excellent value for money.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank harold59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Venice hotels
Cannaregio
Foscari Palace
Foscari Palace
#93 of 386 in Venice
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,040 reviews
Hotel Canal Grande
#11 of 386 in Venice
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,912 reviews
Hotel L'Orologio
#15 of 386 in Venice
5.0 of 5 bubbles 626 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Cannaregio
Ai Mori d'Oriente Hotel
Ai Mori d'Oriente Hotel
#26 of 386 in Venice
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,201 reviews
San Marco
Palazzo Paruta
Palazzo Paruta
#71 of 386 in Venice
4.5 of 5 bubbles 849 reviews
Santa Croce
Hotel Al Duca di Venezia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to San Cassiano Residenza d'Epoca Ca' Favretto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about San Cassiano Residenza d'Epoca Ca' Favretto

Property: San Cassiano Residenza d'Epoca Ca' Favretto
Address: Santa Croce 2232, 30135 Venice, Italy
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#57 Luxury Hotel in Venice
#82 Romantic Hotel in Venice
#102 Family Hotel in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — San Cassiano Residenza d'Epoca Ca' Favretto 4*
Number of rooms: 35
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity, ACCOR, Priceline, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your San Cassiano Residenza d'Epoca Ca' Favretto reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
San Cassiano Residenza d`Epoca Ca` Favretto Hotel Venice
Hotel San Cassiano Venice
San Cassiano Ca Favretto Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing