We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
San Cassiano Residenza d'Epoca Ca' Favretto
Ranked #94 of 385 Hotels in Venice
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 23, 2012

We stayed at the lovely San Cassiano with our 2 teenage children in January in room 103 facing the magnificent Grand Canal. We found the room to be perfect it was furnished in true venetian style with Murano chandalier rich red walls and drapes nothing seemed worn out. The location was ideal we walked everywhere and caught the ferry from nearby St Stae. The breakfast was very nice, and the staff were lovely and very helpful. We will recommend it to our friends and will return ourselves to stay one day.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Anne R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,181)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

693 - 699 of 1,181 reviews

Reviewed February 23, 2012

We had room 103, which overlooks the grand canal, which is of course very nice. Other than that, the room is a bit worn out - so to speak. Basically you pay for the view - and it is not cheap. I cannot really understand the 4 stars - 3 stars is more appropriate. we liked the location - away from the busy part of Venice, but still close enough to get central within a short walk. The major upset was the smell of sewage in the bathroom. When we told the staff they did not look too surprised, and the bathroom was promptly "deodorized" by the time we got back in the late afternoon (it did not go away though). This is dissaponting given the rather stiff price for the room - and little apology was given as we left the hotel. A bit dissapointing.

Room Tip: It makes a difference to get a room facing the canal. It is nice! But you probably save a lot of mon...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank arniea68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 14, 2012

Did I miss something? The good - the internet service (paid service), drapes, and the hand blown light fixtures. The Bad - the hotel is difficult to get to if you have luggage, the breakfast was edible (yogurt dispensed from a machine and horrible juices), but the least desirable of all the hotels on my trip, the tv is difficult to use, the bathroom is approximately 4 1/2 - 6 ft including a bathtub, toilet, bidet, and sink. Once you enter it is full. The bedroom is the smallest I have ever had for a hotel (or even a bed and breakfast). Staff was less than helpful. Not having a concierge, staff provides suggestions, however the restaurants which were selected were not up to par. The Disgusting - I pulled back the comforter and found a pubic hair on a made bed. Then I pulled back the pillow and found two more.

Room Tip: Canal rooms are bigger.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank LoLoMature
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HOTELSANCASSIANO, Direttore at San Cassiano Residenza d'Epoca Ca' Favretto, responded to this reviewResponded February 21, 2012

Dear travel_jenius, we respect everyone's opinion about our Hotel and accept with pleasure suggestions and criticisms when that occurs but since you got to our Hotel, you immediately showed a negative attitude.
You wanted to pay less than what you reserved just claiming "today you're selling rooms for 60 Euro"...you're forgetting that when a contract is made, nothing can be changed and that's it...
Sorry if Venice is a unique and different place without cars and sometimes it's a little tricky to find our way around through the alleys and canals but all you need is a map and some directions(available at our official website with a downloadable map).

We usually have very positive comments about breakfast but we accept your point and will try to improve the quality of it more and more...the room we gave you is a standard double room that we usually give to couples...it was just you and again you complain...ok, we accept that as well..

You're saying that our staff was less than helpful and the restaurant suggestions were bad...maybe your expectations are different or higher than normal standards...in that case you should have told us what your needs were...the recommended restaurants are all in travel guides and usually have very good reviews

We agree that it's disgusting to see some pubic hairs on the bed sheet..but the thing is that we changed that sheet that same morning you arrived and it's pretty strange that those pubic hairs appeared magicly on your bed.

As far as we remember, the other members of your small party were pretty happy and grateful with the service...isn't that making you think you probably went a little too far?

Thanks anyway for your review and for visiting our Hotel...everything helps!

Best Regards
Giovanni Manao
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 1, 2012

We spent three nights here in January. We were upgraded to a Grand Canal view which was great.The whole stay here was great and we would thoroughly recommend this hotel and staff and would visit again .

Room Tip: Ask for Grand Canal view ,stunning!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank timbo1959
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 28, 2012

My wife n I stayed January 2012, along with my parents in another room. The hotel staff were friend upon arrival and throughout our 4 night stay. The boat from the airport is only 1 block away ouer 2 bridges making a short 5 min walk max. Would stay in same hotel anytime i return to Venice. Great choice at breakfast, cereal, cold foods, hot foods etc.
Only downfall in no lifts but the staff a very helpfull for those who may find stairs a little hard.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank garynvaishali
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 25, 2012

Provided the perfect base for a long weekend away. Travelling as a group (13 of us in total) meant that we needed somewhere which was central enough to suit the needs of everyone... the San Cassiano didn't disappoint.

Positives:
- Great Location.
- Calm, relaxed atmosphere.
- Excellent service from the staff - particularly in the bar.
- Fairly large rooms which are clean and comfortable.
- Lovely views of the Grand Canal.

Negatives:
- Breakfast. Everything comes out of a machine, including the orange juice and yoghurt. Bacon, eggs and sausages are provided but I wouldn't recommend.
- Steep stairs, especially if you're on the 3rd floor. This didn't affect me as I'm young and fighting fit... but if you're of an older or unhealthy generation they're likely to kill you off.

Overall, well worth a visit.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Matt B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 15, 2012

On arriving here we were treated well given a canal room free of charge because we were on our honeymoon, the room traditional Venetian style with a lovely chandelier. Breakfast was well looked after and always topped up and a vast choice as well. Only a few mins walk from Rialto and there is always some thing around to see.

Overall a great experience and I look forward to coming here again and telling all my friends and family about it.

  • Stayed: January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank brazakool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Venice hotels
Cannaregio
Ai Mori d'Oriente Hotel
Ai Mori d'Oriente Hotel
#35 of 385 in Venice
2,472 reviews
San Marco
Duodo Palace Hotel
Duodo Palace Hotel
#75 of 385 in Venice
1,558 reviews
San Marco
Hotel Gorizia A La Valigia
Hotel Gorizia A La Valigia
#132 of 385 in Venice
836 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Marco
Hotel Saturnia & International
San Marco
Hotel Rialto
Hotel Rialto
#119 of 385 in Venice
2,226 reviews
Castello
Hotel Casa Verardo - Residenza D'Epoca
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to San Cassiano Residenza d'Epoca Ca' Favretto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about San Cassiano Residenza d'Epoca Ca' Favretto

Address: Santa Croce 2232, 30135 Venice, Italy
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#61 Luxury Hotel in Venice
#81 Romantic Hotel in Venice
#101 Family Hotel in Venice
Price Range: $82 - $465 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — San Cassiano Residenza d'Epoca Ca' Favretto 4*
Number of rooms: 35
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Orbitz, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your San Cassiano Residenza d'Epoca Ca' Favretto reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
San Cassiano Residenza d`Epoca Ca` Favretto Hotel Venice
Hotel San Cassiano Venice
San Cassiano Ca Favretto Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing