We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value accommodation”
Review of Arlecchino Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Arlecchino Hotel
Ranked #88 of 384 Hotels in Venice
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 6, 2014

This is the second time we've stayed in the Arlecchino and it was every bit as good as the first. The location of the hotel at the top of the Grand Canal makes it very accessible to and from the bus station and for getting a seat on the vaparettos as it's the beginning of the line. The hotel is quirky with slightly old fashioned furnishings but clean and quiet. The staff on Reception were brilliant, welcoming and informative and the breakfast room team were organised and the food was fresh. There was a problem on the first morning we were there when we had to queue down the stairs as the breakfast room is quite small but otherwise a good stay.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Polly D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,089)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

429 - 435 of 1,089 reviews

Reviewed May 5, 2014

Hotel Arlecchino was great. The room was spaciaous for all 4 of us. The hostess who greeted us every morning was kind and very helpful. Always greeting with a big smile. Near train station so you do not need walk forever with luggage. Would stay here again in a heart beat!

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank carol m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 1, 2014

Our hotels so far this trip have been a study in contrasts, and none more than this hotel. With the other two, we got mainly things that were nice, coupled with things that were mild annoyances. With this hotel, we were blown away by how nice it was in almost every possible respect, coupled with really just a couple things that made it impossible to give it the 5 stars it really should by rights be getting.

The excellent:
Obviously, we were mainly interested in it due to its location in relation to the train station, and it did not disappoint: it is about a 5 minute walk from the train station for people who are carrying heavy suitcases, including only 4 bridges (and only one of those particularly large).
It turns out, however, that its location far away from any major tourist attractions is also a positive rather than a negative - I hadn't considered it, but there are a lot more better and more affordable food choices across the full range from nice sit-downy places to cheap grab-a-sandwich places in this area than probably any other. Literally right next door is one of the best bakeries we've eaten in Italy thus far (and one of the most affordable, unusual for Venice), and we've sampled a lot of bakeries.
The lobby is super fancy. The room also looks pretty nice - it definitely doesn't *look* like a budget hotel (which is good, because it isn't one. But I was slightly worried we were paying mostly for location. We were not.) It is also way bigger than I expected, given it's Venice - we had *plenty* of space in our room to stretch out. It's not a mansion, but it was far more space than I anticipated (it's about a regular sized hotel room).
We didn't pay extra for a canal view, which I am completely fine with now: our room looked out onto a very nice view of some gardens, and as such, is also extremely quiet. I definitely enjoyed the quiet at least as much as the view.
Unlike the other two hotels, our AC was totally turned on, which is good, because it wouldn't have otherwise gotten very much ventilation. But we had AC, so good enough!
The complimentary breakfast is AMAZING. It's "continental", i.e. you pay extra for hot food, but the cold food you got was serious quality, unlike most places where you get some prepackaged pastries, low-quality juice from a dispenser, and maybe some crummy knockoff cereal. Here, you do get pastries (they look fresh), some cereal (also looks fresh), juice from a dispenser that was fairly high quality as far as that goes, but also, notably, a decent selection of fairly delicious meats and cheeses.
The front desk is staffed by very helpful people who are happy to get you anything you might want, and who also all seem to speak English fluently.

The quite disappointing:
For all that, you would expect a really nice bed, too, right? I certainly did. What I got instead was the worst bed I've slept in in a hotel in my life. How can such a nice hotel have such rock-hard, tiny, squeeky beds? After a while of not sleeping well, I realized I could put one of the blankets under me so it would stop feeling as much like I was sleeping on a piece of wood, and that did help a lot (this is how I know the front desk was so happy to be helpful, when I requested, and quickly received, extra bedding for that purpose).

Other, much smaller complaints included that the wifi is rather slow (though only sporadically unusably slow; mostly just kinda slow); the bathroom is tiny (the toilet is basically *under* the sink); specifically the shower is unusable as a shower because the ceiling is so low, as well as a complete lack of any shower curtain (but it is a nice bathtub!); and you can't leave the window open for long or you'll get mosquitos. But the bed was really the main complaint - if it were a nice bed, I would have been totally happy with the hotel even given the slightly ludicrous amount we paid for the room.

Room Tip: B4 is really quiet and has a nice view of gardens, but you have to carry luggage up a bunch of stair...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Adam F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 1, 2014

our third time at this hotel --location is great near water taxi and right beside Piazzale Roma--over one bridge --so great if have luggage--Staff were great and breakfast plentiful --lots of restuarants close by

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Red20142013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 1, 2014

we booked this Hotel after reading reviews on this and other sites, and contacted the Hotel by e-mail.The staff were extremely helpful, Irina, Francesco and Marco, and when we met them we were not disappointed. The Hotel is classed as 3 star, and is extremely clean and with items we have not seen in 4 star accommodation. The rooms are small but have everything you need, breakfast is continental style, but with an adequate choice, the position of the Hotel is excellent, right on the edge of a busy Canal and adjacent to Pizzale Roma. We had a great time and if we return we shall certainly stay here.

Room Tip: Obviously a room in the main building preferably with a Canal View.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank michael-j-marchant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 29, 2014 via mobile

Great location as only a 8 minute walk to train station. Very helpful staff. The lady (Irina was her name I think) even tracked down a gym for us so that we could get a workout in! Beautiful view off our balcony and the rooms were tastefully decorated. Very happy!!

Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank Balmersk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 26, 2014

Just back from Venice today after spending 3 nights in the hotel. I would certainly stay here again and would not hesitate to recommend the hotel. The location is ideal 2 minutes walk after getting off the bus from the airport. Breakfast was good and very fresh. Room although compact was clean. We had a corner room with views onto the canals from both windows. Hopefully be back.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Willie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Venice hotels
Dorsoduro / Accademia
HOTEL OLIMPIA Venice
HOTEL OLIMPIA Venice
#32 of 384 in Venice
2,193 reviews
San Marco
Hotel Colombina
Hotel Colombina
#52 of 384 in Venice
1,879 reviews
Castello
Hotel Al Piave
Hotel Al Piave
#62 of 384 in Venice
916 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Santa Croce
Albergo Marin
Albergo Marin
#108 of 384 in Venice
844 reviews
Novotel Venezia Mestre
#158 of 384 in Venice
2,147 reviews
Hotel Antiche Figure
#10 of 384 in Venice
3,783 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Arlecchino Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arlecchino Hotel

Address: Santa Croce 390 | Fondamenta delle Burchielle, 30135 Venice, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > Dorsoduro / Accademia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#81 Family Hotel in Venice
#94 Romantic Hotel in Venice
Price Range: $95 - $316 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Arlecchino Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The position of Arlecchino hotel make it easy access via car/aeroplane/train or even cruise ship.hotel arlecchino is unique for the fact that it is extremely close to Piazzale roma, the entrance of Venice, making any transport of luggage,trouble free, also easy car parking,pre -arranged , if necessary by the management. Piazzale roma is also the shuttle stop for cruiseship and Venice airports. The bedrooms are all decorated in a typical venetian style with er,air conditioninig private bath, hairdryer telephone , satellite tv...THE Breakfast room has windows facing into one of the typical canal. If you book throught our official site you'll get the best rates and you can and buy your breakfast at the promotional price of 1 Euro! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Expedia, Agoda, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Hotwire and getaroom.com so you can book your Arlecchino Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arlecchino Hotel Venice

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing